Cant connet to database..

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
User avatar
natedog
Registered User
Posts: 53
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 7:25 am

Cant connet to database..

Post by natedog »

phpBB : Critical Error

Could not connect to the database



I'm running MYSQL on my computer for my webserver....

I dont know what my database name is or anything like that....


Can anyone help me?
User avatar
zeroK
Former Team Member
Posts: 20964
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2002 7:36 pm
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Contact:

Post by zeroK »

you have to create a database after the installation of mysql. but first you have to do some other things ;)

1) http://www.mysql.com/doc/en/Default_privileges.html
2) http://www.mysql.com/doc/en/Tutorial.html
Image My weblog | gamerslog.com | No support via PM or ICQ or email - If you don't know a term or a program mentioned in a post -> Google is your friend
76trombones
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 2:05 pm

Database name

Post by 76trombones »

you could try the following

servername LOCALHOST

database name YOURDOMAIN_COM

user YOUR SERVER USERNAME

password YOUR SERVER PASSWORD

This was on Linux/Apache

Hope this helps
User avatar
Mr. Me
Registered User
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2002 5:39 pm
Location: Right here - phpBB
Contact:

Post by Mr. Me »

servername: localhost
database name: yourname_uk_db
server name: your server name
password: your password

thats what the turorial says... but... it gives me the same error. :cry:
Need any help with anything? Well I am offering help! :)

PM Me! Or... e-mail me! (ian@thegemzone.com) (I AM GOOD AT MODS NOW!)

Visit my Forum
User avatar
zeroK
Former Team Member
Posts: 20964
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2002 7:36 pm
Location: Klagenfurt / Austria
Contact:

Post by zeroK »

Mr. Me wrote: servername: localhost
database name: yourname_uk_db
server name: your server name
password: your password

thats what the turorial says... but... it gives me the same error. :cry:


uhm, that's for tripod.
Image My weblog | gamerslog.com | No support via PM or ICQ or email - If you don't know a term or a program mentioned in a post -> Google is your friend
User avatar
ErDrRon
Registered User
Posts: 2156
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2002 7:18 pm
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Post by ErDrRon »

Mr. Me wrote: servername: localhost
database name: yourname_uk_db
server name: your server name
password: your password

thats what the turorial says... but... it gives me the same error. :cry:


Mr. Me,

Let's pretend your username on Lycos is Superman and your password is kryptonite. You would connect with the following information exactly:

Server Hostname: localhost
Database name: Superman_uk_db
Username: Superman
Password: kryptonite

These items ARE case-sensitive!! Any clearer? Again, this only works for Lycos.co.uk.

Cheers!
Ron
:D
ErDrRon (Yes, I really am an ER Doc) ;-)

Author of the Admin Voting, Retroactive Signature and Edit Post Date MODs. [Unofficial MODs, of course]
Visit my phpBB Support Forum with over 90 installed MODs.
Get inexpensive yet great webhosting at PokedYou.com.
Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”