Using remote MySql database

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
dotman
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 1:46 am

Using remote MySql database

Post by dotman »

Hi,

A friend is changing hosts, but wants to keep using the database from his old host. How would I update the config file to reflect this and is this possible. Other than moving the forum files to the new host and updating the config for the remote DB, Is there anything else he should be concerned about? Thanks for any guidance.
User avatar
stevemaury
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51669
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:21 am
Location: The U.P.
Name: Steve
Contact:

Re: Using remote MySql database

Post by stevemaury »

Very few hosts will allow remote access. So first check that. And what is the current value in config.php for $dbhost? Because if it is 'localhost' you would need a valid URL for the server.
For REALLY good and VERY inexpensive hosting CLICK HERE

I can stop all your spam. I can upgrade or update your Board. PM or email me. (Paid support)
abusedemailaddress
Registered User
Posts: 161
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2006 7:18 am

Re: Using remote MySql database

Post by abusedemailaddress »

And be prepared for some massive bandwidth charges, because remotely accessing an SQL database will use a lot of bandwidth.
The abuse will continue until morale improves!
Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”