Default Styles

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Get2sammyb
Registered User
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 5:36 pm
Location: Midlands
Contact:

Post by Get2sammyb » Thu Jan 02, 2003 7:12 pm

cubers.co.uk/forum/phpBB2/
Image

juliekate
Registered User
Posts: 779
Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 5:32 pm
Location: Philadelphia
Contact:

Post by juliekate » Thu Jan 02, 2003 7:25 pm

If both templates aren't working try uploading the admin_board.php in the root/admin directory.

Specifically you're looking to make sure this is there:

Code: Select all

"L_CONFIGURATION_TITLE" => $lang[General_config],
"L_CONFIGURATION_EXPLAIN" => $lang[Config_explain],

Get2sammyb
Registered User
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 5:36 pm
Location: Midlands
Contact:

Post by Get2sammyb » Thu Jan 02, 2003 7:34 pm

where am I loooking for thbat?
Image

User avatar
Techie-Micheal
Security Consultant
Posts: 19511
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2001 12:11 am
Location: In your servers

Post by Techie-Micheal » Thu Jan 02, 2003 7:34 pm

Ummm. You might want to upgrade. :P
Proven Offensive Security Expertise. OSCP - GXPN

juliekate
Registered User
Posts: 779
Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 5:32 pm
Location: Philadelphia
Contact:

Post by juliekate » Thu Jan 02, 2003 7:36 pm

juliekate wrote: If both templates aren't working try uploading the admin_board.php in the root/admin directory.


there

root/admin/admin_board.php

Get2sammyb
Registered User
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 5:36 pm
Location: Midlands
Contact:

Post by Get2sammyb » Thu Jan 02, 2003 7:41 pm

If the file is uploaded surely the URL is there, so I can just get to it
Image

Get2sammyb
Registered User
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 5:36 pm
Location: Midlands
Contact:

Post by Get2sammyb » Thu Jan 02, 2003 7:47 pm

Slow down Julie KAte. I need this sorted, I need to change a root for my forum cookies (long explanation) and I need access to the configuration. Please explain what you mean.
Image

Get2sammyb
Registered User
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 5:36 pm
Location: Midlands
Contact:

Post by Get2sammyb » Thu Jan 02, 2003 8:00 pm

HELP ME PLEASE!!! WHY DON'T I HAVE A CONFIG LINK? Boo Hoo!
Image

juliekate
Registered User
Posts: 779
Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 5:32 pm
Location: Philadelphia
Contact:

Post by juliekate » Thu Jan 02, 2003 8:06 pm

Okay first of all, relax. Your urgent critical problem is not our urgent critical problem.

Second, don't multipost, I know the admins here frown on that! Edit instead, everyone gets warm gushy feelings from that kind of consideration.

Third, if you're going to be a board admin you have to take responsibility for your own education and not rely on this free service to teach you.

Moving along...

Diagnosis

If you're having this problem in both templates, it is safe to say there is a problem with the root board config and NOT the templates.

In your root folder, be it "phpBB2" or "forums" or whatever you call it, there is a folder called admin. Open the file called admin_board.php in Notepad or EditPlus or something that doesn't format your text (like Word).

Click on search and look for those two lines of code I typed out for you. I want you to paste the 4 lines above the L_CONFIGURATION lines and 4 lines below it.

When you paste it, put that in code tags like this:

Code: Select all

 [code]blablablah
[/code]

And we'll go from there. Relax. There's a way to fix it, we just have to find the problem.

User avatar
Techie-Micheal
Security Consultant
Posts: 19511
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2001 12:11 am
Location: In your servers

Post by Techie-Micheal » Thu Jan 02, 2003 8:12 pm

Thank you juliekate. :) I couldn't have said it better myself. :P
Get2sammyb: you really need to upgrade. Who knows, it might even fix your problem.
Proven Offensive Security Expertise. OSCP - GXPN

Get2sammyb
Registered User
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 5:36 pm
Location: Midlands
Contact:

Post by Get2sammyb » Thu Jan 02, 2003 8:17 pm

juliekate wrote: Okay first of all, relax. Your urgent critical problem is not our urgent critical problem.

Second, don't multipost, I know the admins here frown on that! Edit instead, everyone gets warm gushy feelings from that kind of consideration.

Third, if you're going to be a board admin you have to take responsibility for your own education and not rely on this free service to teach you.

Moving along...

Diagnosis

If you're having this problem in both templates, it is safe to say there is a problem with the root board config and NOT the templates.

In your root folder, be it "phpBB2" or "forums" or whatever you call it, there is a folder called admin. Open the file called admin_board.php in Notepad or EditPlus or something that doesn't format your text (like Word).

Click on search and look for those two lines of code I typed out for you. I want you to paste the 4 lines above the L_CONFIGURATION lines and 4 lines below it.

When you paste it, put that in code tags like this:

Code: Select all

 [code]blablablah
[/code]

And we'll go from there. Relax. There's a way to fix it, we just have to find the problem.


Ok I found those 2 lines of text. Now what to do with them?
Image

juliekate
Registered User
Posts: 779
Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 5:32 pm
Location: Philadelphia
Contact:

Post by juliekate » Thu Jan 02, 2003 8:19 pm

Okay, I've now repeated myself twice. You have quoted the instructions that will answer your question.

Read, please!!

Get2sammyb
Registered User
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 5:36 pm
Location: Midlands
Contact:

Post by Get2sammyb » Thu Jan 02, 2003 8:22 pm

But they don't make sense. Sorry I appreciate it but what is the 4 lines below etc. bit mean?

EDIT

I have to go offline. My host claims to have fixed the problem but I am not sure. I will be looking into it when I come online tomorrow.
Image

juliekate
Registered User
Posts: 779
Joined: Sun May 05, 2002 5:32 pm
Location: Philadelphia
Contact:

Post by juliekate » Thu Jan 02, 2003 8:25 pm

You have found those two lines.

Highlight from the $template command above those lines, to 4 lines below those lines. I want a chunk of text to look at.

When you paste them into a message, put the tag CODE in brackets BEFORE the text, and /CODE in brackets AFTER the last bit of text.

It should look like this:

Code: Select all

[code]your 10 lines of code or so
[/code]

Get2sammyb
Registered User
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 5:36 pm
Location: Midlands
Contact:

Post by Get2sammyb » Fri Jan 03, 2003 11:40 am

Right ok then here we go. Ta for helping me and being patient by the way.

Code: Select all

[code]$template->assign_vars(array(
	"S_CONFIG_ACTION" => append_sid("admin_board.$phpEx"),

	"L_YES" => $lang['Yes'],
	"L_NO" => $lang['No'],
	"L_CONFIGURATION_TITLE" => $lang['General_Config'],
	"L_CONFIGURATION_EXPLAIN" => $lang['Config_explain'],
	"L_GENERAL_SETTINGS" => $lang['General_settings'],
	"L_SERVER_NAME" => $lang['Server_name'], 
	"L_SERVER_NAME_EXPLAIN" => $lang['Server_name_explain'], 
	"L_SERVER_PORT" => $lang['Server_port'], 
[/code]
Image

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”