Running two forums for the same Database?

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
speedway
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 2:02 pm
Location: UK

Running two forums for the same Database?

Post by speedway »

Is it possible to have the same forum located in two different directories on the same server using the same database?

Thanks Phil
itst
Registered User
Posts: 76
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2002 3:12 am

Post by itst »

Yes, it is :D

But you will experience that the cookies will only work for one of the locations. In the other location phpBB will append the Session ID to the URL.
Emperor Ming
Registered User
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2003 1:44 pm
Location: Mongo
Contact:

Post by Emperor Ming »

I have a similar question. Is it possible to have a 2.0.3 forum and a 2.0.4 forum running off of the same DB/tables? The reason I ask is I have a v3 up right now and since I don't want to take that down while I update to v4 I want to have both running off of the same tables but in different folders. Then once I get the v4 up and running I can replace the v3. Any suggestions?
Brent's Humor Co. Online
sar·casm (sär´k?z'em) n.
1. A cutting, often ironic remark intended to wound.
2. A form of wit that is marked by the use of sarcastic language and is intended to make its victim the butt of contempt or ridicule.
Grumpy
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2002 4:54 pm

Post by Grumpy »

Emperor Ming wrote: I have a similar question. Is it possible to have a 2.0.3 forum and a 2.0.4 forum running off of the same DB/tables? The reason I ask is I have a v3 up right now and since I don't want to take that down while I update to v4 I want to have both running off of the same tables but in different folders. Then once I get the v4 up and running I can replace the v3. Any suggestions?


This is what I wanted to do since I have a heavly modified 2.0.3, I wanted to install 2.0.4 in a different directory and use the sam DB until I have 2.0.4 modified. I look forward to some input from all you specialists.
Webmaster: Club 3G Arizona
Webmaster: Automaniac.com
Lokrin_
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2003 4:18 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

2 locations 1 database

Post by Lokrin_ »

I also want to know because I am doing the same but for a different reason.

I currently have my forum at domain.com/phpbb and want to move it to phpbb.domain.com. the problem is that I can't get it to work right when I move it. So, I want to keep it where it is and reinstall or move a copy of it to the subdomain and get that working right and then delete the first one. But I want to make sure that they are both working at the same time and that I don't lose any posts while working on it.
Lokrin Discussion Group
http://lokrin.net
Grumpy
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2002 4:54 pm

Post by Grumpy »

Bump...

Anyone... Anyone???
Webmaster: Club 3G Arizona
Webmaster: Automaniac.com
Bradman
Registered User
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Nov 11, 2002 6:39 am
Location: Ledyard, CT
Contact:

hmm

Post by Bradman »

I still consider myself to be new at this, so keep that in mind.
Here's what I did, if I remember everything. I have a working 2.0.3 and a working 2.0.4 using separate databases. You can use the same database if you change the name of one of them. (from phpbb_ to something like forum_) I started with 2.0.3 and added some mods. I didn't want to lose anything by upgrading to 2.0.4, so I copied the whole directory. (so I have a phpbb2 dir (original) and a forum dir (copy) ) Using phpmyadmin, I dumped the database into a file. 30 users, 700 posts, about a meg. I put this in my editor and did a find and replace to change the tables from phpbb_ to forum_, and whatever other little tidbits I could find. I then edited the config.php of the copied forum to reflect the changed database name. Using the changed .sql file, I created the database on the server. Sql query from file I think it was. Bingo, I now had 2 fully functional exact copies. I tried editing my mods into the 2.0.4 files, but i got errors cause some of the mods weren't compatable. So I did a full file upgrade to 2.0.4 (modless) in the copied forum. Running the update files updated the copied database to 2.0.4 specs. Now I'm in the process of installing my mods one at a time to see which ones work and which ones don't. But both forums work fine and seperately. I also changed the cookie file names and so far haven't seen any errors or problems with logging in. When I'm done installing the mods into 2.0.4, I can get rid of the original 2.0.3 without effecting the 2.0.4. I hope some of this made a little sense... I'm horrible at explaining stuff.
Orange-Crush
Registered User
Posts: 278
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2002 2:15 am
Location: Henry County, GA
Contact:

Re: Running two forums for the same Database?

Post by Orange-Crush »

speedway wrote: Is it possible to have the same forum located in two different directories on the same server using the same database?

Thanks Phil


Many discussions on this. Please read the Awesome [Tutorial] Multiple Boards, 1 User Database by Matthijs
Not a member of the Search Police, go ahead, ask your question...
Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”