blank screen upon running install/install.php

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
gruppobasilea
Registered User
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 12:59 am

blank screen upon running install/install.php

Post by gruppobasilea »

i got loads of errors before, all could be solved by re-uploading the relevant files.

now when im running install/install.php i'm getting a blank screen. 8O what the heck is going on?
GE Hosting.com
Registered User
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2002 4:43 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by GE Hosting.com »

Few things to go over...

Are you sure PHP is installed on the webserver?

Do you know how to run phpinfo.php? If so, Do and post a link, Could help.

Hve you made sure to maintain the phpBB directory structure when you uploaded all the files?

Did you make sure to upload all graphics files in binary mode and the rest of the files in ASCII mode?


You might try re-uploading the install.php file and running it again.
Chris Gaube
Hosting . GE Hosting.com . Sales@GEHosting.com
Solutions . GE Solutions.net . Sales@GESolutions.net

- Internet Solutions That Can Be Tailored To Your Needs
gruppobasilea
Registered User
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 12:59 am

Post by gruppobasilea »

GE Hosting.com wrote: Few things to go over...

Are you sure PHP is installed on the webserver?


yes
Do you know how to run phpinfo.php? If so, Do and post a link, Could help.


what's phpinfo.php? should it be included in the download? it isn't in mine.
Hve you made sure to maintain the phpBB directory structure when you uploaded all the files?


absolutely positive about that.
Did you make sure to upload all graphics files in binary mode and the rest of the files in ASCII mode?


hmmm... not sure about that. i used ws_ftp pro and couldn't find a command to switch between binary and ascii mode. where is it?
You might try re-uploading the install.php file and running it again.


i tried that several times, i either got parse errors on install.php on different lines or a blank screen...



thanks for your help though, much appreciated.
gruppobasilea
Registered User
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 12:59 am

Post by gruppobasilea »

GE Hosting.com wrote: Did you make sure to upload all graphics files in binary mode and the rest of the files in ASCII mode?


alright, i found it and am now trying to upload it all again...
gruppobasilea
Registered User
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2002 12:59 am

Post by gruppobasilea »

okay, the blank screen problem has been solved.
Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”