gzip not working on alternate URL

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
Darth Wong
Registered User
Posts: 2398
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2002 5:20 am
Location: Toronto, Canada
Contact:

gzip not working on alternate URL

Post by Darth Wong » Thu Feb 06, 2003 8:53 pm

Hi, I've got a board which can be accessed through two URL's: one of which uses SSL. Anyway, it works fine, and I used the Lycos hack to disable auto-redirection to the "proper" URL so that people can use either one.

However, I've discovered when they're using the "backdoor" URL instead of the one defined as the domain name in the configuration, gzip is NOT enabled. Version 2.0.3 didn't do this; do you have any idea why this is happening?
Not a three-foot tall green gnome in real-life: My home page.
My wretched hive of scum and villainy: http://bbs.stardestroyer.net/

FX
Registered User
Posts: 254
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2002 9:29 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by FX » Thu Feb 06, 2003 9:00 pm

Install phpbb 2.0.4 and test it.

Darth Wong
Registered User
Posts: 2398
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2002 5:20 am
Location: Toronto, Canada
Contact:

Post by Darth Wong » Thu Feb 06, 2003 9:13 pm

I am using 2.0.4. That's the point; it didn't do this on 2.0.3. I noticed a HUGE spike in bandwidth after upgrading to 2.0.4 and tracked it down to the fact that the second URL isn't using GZIP even though the first one is.
Not a three-foot tall green gnome in real-life: My home page.
My wretched hive of scum and villainy: http://bbs.stardestroyer.net/

FX
Registered User
Posts: 254
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2002 9:29 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by FX » Fri Feb 07, 2003 8:18 pm

It's strange it's possible to send the 2 url please.

Darth Wong
Registered User
Posts: 2398
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2002 5:20 am
Location: Toronto, Canada
Contact:

Post by Darth Wong » Tue Feb 11, 2003 4:26 pm

FX wrote: It's strange it's possible to send the 2 url please.

The first url is http://bbs.stardestroyer.net

The second url is http://pup.phpwebhosting.com/~mrwong (it exists so people can access the board with SSL if they want, and I had to use the Lycos redirect hack to make it accept this URL instead of forcibly redirecting people to the first URL).

When you try the two URL's at http://leknor.com/code/gziped.php, you will discover that the first one is GZIPped and the second one is not. My bandwidth has doubled since installing 2.0.4, since this problem did not exist with 2.0.3.
Not a three-foot tall green gnome in real-life: My home page.
My wretched hive of scum and villainy: http://bbs.stardestroyer.net/

FX
Registered User
Posts: 254
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2002 9:29 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by FX » Tue Feb 11, 2003 7:36 pm

I have a litle idea of this problem.

To start you're installation did you have use the url

http://bbs.stardestroyer.net or http://pup.phpwebhosting.com/~mrwong.

Because it's probably the origin of this problem the url for phpbb is not the same or php (on your server) bug.

I don't have another idea sorry. :oops:

To correct this change the redirection fo the url 1 or 2 to the url

1 if you chnage the url 2
2 if you change the url 1

Darth Wong
Registered User
Posts: 2398
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2002 5:20 am
Location: Toronto, Canada
Contact:

Post by Darth Wong » Tue Feb 18, 2003 6:48 am

No, it's a mystery. The software is configured exactly the same way it was under version 2.0.3, only it's not using GZIP any more for url 2. It's only using it for url 1 (which is the one configured in the admin panel).

My bandwidth has doubled since upgrading. Can anyone on the support team offer any clues as to why it wouldn't be using GZIP on the second URL? I'm guessing it has something to do with the Lycos redirection hack I used to allow the use of two URL's, but I don't see why it would affect the use of GZIP.
Not a three-foot tall green gnome in real-life: My home page.
My wretched hive of scum and villainy: http://bbs.stardestroyer.net/

FX
Registered User
Posts: 254
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2002 9:29 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by FX » Tue Feb 18, 2003 10:55 am

I don't have a solution sorry :cry:

Darth Wong
Registered User
Posts: 2398
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2002 5:20 am
Location: Toronto, Canada
Contact:

Post by Darth Wong » Sun Feb 23, 2003 10:46 am

OK, it turns out that I'm just a big dork.

It seems that the Leknor script doesn't allow mod_rewrite to fix a missing trailing slash, the way a regular web browser does. When I entered the second URL, I wasn't using the trailing slash, so it was coming up with an error page rather than the phpBB2 page. When I added the trailing flash, it came up as gzipped, just the way it's supposed to.

It would appear that the big spike in traffic was simply due to a coincidental traffic increase rather than any change in phpBB2 itself; I only noticed now that my record number of users online coincides with that same time period.

So, sorry for wasting time with this non-problem :oops:
Not a three-foot tall green gnome in real-life: My home page.
My wretched hive of scum and villainy: http://bbs.stardestroyer.net/

FX
Registered User
Posts: 254
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2002 9:29 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by FX » Sun Feb 23, 2003 12:30 pm

No problem. :wink:

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”