Why is phpBB free?

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Kim_Lemon

Why is phpBB free?

Post by Kim_Lemon » Sat Mar 23, 2002 6:24 pm

Why do you guys offer such an amazing forum all for free? :)

I actually want to donate some money, is it possible?
Last edited by Kim_Lemon on Sat Mar 23, 2002 8:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Black Fluffy Lion
Former Team Member

Post by Black Fluffy Lion » Sat Mar 23, 2002 6:28 pm

http://phpbb.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/vie ... ght=donate

I think they would prefer you to donate to a charity rather than give them money.

hsim

Post by hsim » Sat Mar 23, 2002 6:29 pm

email me: hsim at gmx.li

z00om

Post by z00om » Sun Mar 24, 2002 12:08 am

Why?
I'm not a developer, but I think I can help...

Because.

Thats why :)

Knowledge should be free!

Viva Open-Source! ;)

Kim_Lemon

Post by Kim_Lemon » Sun Mar 24, 2002 12:36 am

z00om wrote: Why?
I'm not a developer, but I think I can help...

Because.

Thats why :)

hm, alright. If I scripted something huge, like this board, I would take it as a serious job, and a serious job pays.

Matthijs
Former Team Member

Post by Matthijs » Sun Mar 24, 2002 12:54 am

Well.. you can bet every one of the devs takes the job of coding this board very serious. But you're wrong that a serious job should be paid.
In Open Software development, there are a lot of serious projects, many even bigger than this one, for which the devs never receive a penny.
This is the beauty of OSS: a dozen very talented programmers working on a piece of free software, encouraged and helped by a vast community of users/contributers. I think these projects often result in far better software than commercial projects.