Why does RC-4 do this and no other previous releases ?

This is an archive of the phpBB 2.0.x support forum. Support for phpBB2 has now ended.
Forum rules
Following phpBB2's EoL, this forum is now archived for reference purposes only.
Please see the following announcement for more information: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1385785
Locked
eb kevin
Registered User
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2001 6:00 am
Location: las vegas
Contact:

Why does RC-4 do this and no other previous releases ?

Post by eb kevin » Fri Mar 29, 2002 4:50 am

Say I post a topic and I have 60sec spam control. So user has to press back arrow and wait to hit submit on the Topic. When I press back on the browser, all the text from the Subject/Message body fields become totally blank.

Any Fix? Is this how it's gonna be now? ANyone?

Thanks

SamG
Former Team Member
Posts: 3221
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2001 6:35 pm
Location: Beautiful Northwest Lower Michigan
Name: Sam Graf

Post by SamG » Fri Mar 29, 2002 4:52 am

I think that's a result of changes made to cache controls because of login problems for some users ...
We should talk less, and say more.

eb kevin
Registered User
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2001 6:00 am
Location: las vegas
Contact:

Post by eb kevin » Fri Mar 29, 2002 4:55 am

It sucks !

MagiCat
Registered User
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2001 5:51 pm
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Contact:

Post by MagiCat » Fri Mar 29, 2002 5:00 am

eb kevin wrote: It sucks !


Agreed, I'm getting tons of complaints from users on my board.

SamG
Former Team Member
Posts: 3221
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2001 6:35 pm
Location: Beautiful Northwest Lower Michigan
Name: Sam Graf

Post by SamG » Fri Mar 29, 2002 5:12 am

Well, you can "fix" it ... somewhere around here are instructions, I think ... look up recent posts on "cache" ...
We should talk less, and say more.

eb kevin
Registered User
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2001 6:00 am
Location: las vegas
Contact:

Post by eb kevin » Fri Mar 29, 2002 5:39 am

I found it. Thanks!

joe-user2
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 05, 2002 5:54 am

how about a link to the fix??

Post by joe-user2 » Fri Mar 29, 2002 5:51 am

Be considerate to others.

Bear
Registered User
Posts: 2586
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2001 7:50 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Contact:

Post by Bear » Fri Mar 29, 2002 8:53 am

eb kevin wrote: I found it. Thanks!


Do tell!
Bear
Got a thing for fashion? So do we at the Fashion Spot.
Let us give you the Royal Treatment at Les Tribunes Royales.

User avatar
rmang
Registered User
Posts: 285
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2001 10:33 pm

Post by rmang » Fri Mar 29, 2002 2:31 pm


Matthijs
Former Team Member
Posts: 1031
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2001 4:27 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Matthijs » Fri Mar 29, 2002 3:38 pm

This should be fixed in the latest CVS, the code used there is (this will also make AOL users able to use the board):

Code: Select all

if ( $HTTP_SERVER_VARS['REQUEST_METHOD'] == 'POST' )
{
        header ('Cache-Control: private, must-revalidate, max-age=25');
}
else
{
        header ('Cache-Control: private, no-cache, must-revalidate, pre-check=2, post-check=2, max-age=25');
        header ('Pragma: no-cache');
        header ('Expires: ' . gmdate('D, d M Y H:i:s', time()) . ' GMT');
}
header ('Last-Modified: ' . gmdate('D, d M Y H:i:s') . ' GMT');
phpBB Converter Team Member
Developer of the vBulletin 2.x.x -> phpBB 2.0.x Converter
See Matthijs.net for more info

User avatar
rmang
Registered User
Posts: 285
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2001 10:33 pm

Post by rmang » Fri Mar 29, 2002 3:43 pm

The CVS code only allows caching of the search results page, but not the rest of the forums/posts page with the use of the back button. CVS addresses pages that use the POST method only. RC-2/3 previously allowed local caching of forums/posts, albeit incorrectly for those with proxies.

CVS does address the disappearance of text entered in a POST method though if the back button is used. :)

Rob M.

Locked

Return to “2.0.x Support Forum”