Page 21 of 24

Re: [SUPPORT] vBulletin 3.0.x to phpBB

Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 11:17 am
by fergy
Hello.
Can this convert vBulletin 3.6.5 to let's say phpBB3 ? I know that question is stupid because phpBB3 is in beta, but I just want to know is maybe possible.
Thank You

Re: [SUPPORT] vBulletin 3.0.x to phpBB

Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 9:13 am
by Raimon
With this convertor not, this is only based on vBulletin 3.0.x to phpBB 2.0.x , i think when phpBB3 become RC1 there will be a convertor available.

Re: [SUPPORT] vBulletin 3.0.x to phpBB

Posted: Mon May 21, 2007 11:24 pm
by pedro84
I got problem.

MY conf.php is:

Code: Select all

$vb3_prefix = "vb3_";
All tables in database from vBulletin has prefix, but when I try to convert them I got

Code: Select all

Tables not found. Check the table prefix in conf.php
Please check that you copied the vb3_2phpBB directory in your phpBB root directory
So...I converted it, but I got problems...
1. I got database exported from vBulletin on 21th May. The last post was on 21th May. But after converting it, there's no this post.
2. I got the same strange thing with Private Messages, there are inly messages to 13 of March.


So...I check my vBulletin database.

For example Private Massages, In vBulletin database exist 4198 messages, but when I convert them to phpBB2 /using vb3_2phpBB converter/ I get:

Code: Select all

Number of Private Messages to convert : 2622 .
The same problem is with posts. Converter converts my database, but not all. Don't know why. Has anyone any idea?

Re: [SUPPORT] vBulletin 3.0.x to phpBB

Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 1:48 pm
by citibob
I had problems with passwords. I used versions:
vb3_2phpbb: 0.0.4a
phpBB: 2.0.22
vBulletin: 3.5.4

The user accounts got transferred, but passwords no longer worked; everyone has to go through the password reset procedure. Looking into the database, it looks like the vBulletin-enrypted password was just copied over into the phpBB encrypted password field. Do they use different encryptions? If so, is there a way to convert the encryption properly? Or should I tell my users they need to all go through the password change procedure?

Re: [SUPPORT] vBulletin 3.0.x to phpBB

Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 1:56 pm
by D¡cky
If you read the convertor instructions, I believe it is explained how to get the passwords to work. There should be a logn.mod file with the convertor containing instructions what file to modify.

Re: [SUPPORT] vBulletin 3.0.x to phpBB

Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 6:05 pm
by MaGoS
Hello , i tried to use the converter but in the index page of vb3_2phpbb in first step it sends me in the install of phpbb you know install/install.php!What i must do?if i will have to install i am putting which db??this which i have restored?or i am doing something wrong?? Thanx :)

Re: [SUPPORT] vBulletin 3.0.x to phpBB

Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 7:12 pm
by D¡cky
Two things:
phpBB has to be installed.
The phpBB tables and the vBulletin tables have to be in the same database.

You hve two options:
1) Install phpBB using your present vBulletin database.
2) Install phpBB using a new database and export & import the vBulletin tables into the new phpBB database.

Re: [SUPPORT] vBulletin 3.0.x to phpBB

Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2007 8:43 pm
by MaGoS
thanx its working :D

Language Problem

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2007 1:37 am
by RedMole
Hi,
i am little speak english sorry.. i have a language problem.

Image

when i converted the vBulletin 3.6.6 to phpbb 2.0.22, turkish characters to see ???? (ğ, ü, ı, ş, ö)

How to solve problem?

Re: [SUPPORT] vBulletin 3.0.x to phpBB

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2007 3:37 am
by D¡cky
The convertor does not change the characters during the conversion. The character encoding gets changed when you export and import the databases. Make sure that the backup file is saved in UTF-8(w/o BOM) and if you are using bigdump to import the backup file, set that to import using UTF-8.

Re: [SUPPORT] vBulletin 3.0.x to phpBB

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 9:03 am
by Malke
I get this error when converting, after it's converted about 150 000 posts:

HTTP/1.1 502 Gateway Error Server: Microsoft-IIS/5.0 Date: Tue, 19 Jun 2007 09:04:31 GMT Connection: close Content-Length: 186 Content-Type: text/html
CGI Timeout
The specified CGI application exceeded the allowed time for processing. The server has deleted the process.

I have more than half left. Is it possible to make it stop after X number of posts, and just click "next" to continue?

This is my brothers box. It's windows based and I can have him make the nessesary edits if possible.

Thanks.

Re: [SUPPORT] vBulletin 3.0.x to phpBB

Posted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 6:08 pm
by Balint
Hi!

I also have massive problems with the convertor and already raised the max execution time to 500, the memory limit to 128M and the number of processed lines from 5000 to 1000. With the fairly large board I'm trying to convert (345.000 posts, 11.000 members, 400MB database) I even get timeout messages with these "enhancements". I would recommend a recursive approach like bigdump or mysqldumper does the job.


Greets,
Bálint

Re: [SUPPORT] vBulletin 3.0.x to phpBB

Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 7:45 pm
by anniecuk
i have just moved over to phpbb, everything went well apart from the bbcode tags.

I think it is because maybe vb uses

Code: Select all

 were as phpbb uses [code]

Any help guys ??

Re: [SUPPORT] vBulletin 3.0.x to phpBB

Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 10:19 pm
by the.helper
thanks very much but my data base name is

islamic_vb

and when i try to press the link of 1 - MySQL Connection Test

in phpBB2/vb3_2phpbb/conv_test.php?language=english

it tels me that Tables not found. Check the table prefix in conf.php

and i edite config file true

the perfix id _vb

need help please

Re: [SUPPORT] vBulletin 3.0.x to phpBB

Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 10:41 pm
by D¡cky
the.helper,
There is a bug in the convertor where the message will come up that it can't find the tables when they are actually there. If you are absolutely sure that you have entered the correct table prefix, try converting the user's table. If you have entered the correct prefix, the table will be converted and you can continue on with the rest of the conversion.