Page 1 of 9

Ranks summarize

Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2003 1:56 am
by Extensions Robot
Modification name: Ranks summarize
Author: Ptirhiik
Modification description: This mod is designed to display a page will all the ranks available on your board, including special ranks with the list of active users, standard ranks with the number of active users.

Disclaimer: This MOD has not been Validated by the MOD Team. The MOD has been tested for functionality only. For more information see this topic. However, the author has proven to be trustworthy.
Modification version: 2.0.0
Tested on phpBB version: See below

Download file: mod-ranks_summarize.zip
File size: 9314 Bytes

Modification overview page: View


Selected tags:
  1. category
    1. Add-Ons
  2. phpbb
    1. 2.0.6
    2. 2.0.22
Support for this modification needs to be asked within this topic. The phpBB Team is not responsible or required to give anyone support for this modification. By installing this MOD, you acknowledge that the phpBB Support Team or phpBB MODifications Team may not be able to provide support.

This MOD has only been tested by the phpBB MOD Team with the phpBB version listed in the topic. It may not work in any other versions of phpBB.

Posted: Mon Dec 15, 2003 7:12 pm
by Nuttzy99
Again, this MOD was not thoroughly validated, but we are make a one-time exception.

-Nuttzy :cool:

Posted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 10:46 am
by The Pelican
Does anyone have a link to an example of this? :)

Posted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 11:14 am
by Ptirhiik
A demo board is settled at http://rpgnet.clanmckeen.com/demo :)

Posted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 11:57 am
by The Pelican
You mean this: http://rpgnet.clanmckeen.com/demo/ranks.php ?
What is the "unknown" thingie at the beginning of every rank?

Posted: Mon Dec 22, 2003 12:00 pm
by Ptirhiik
The Profile Control Panel comes with a gender-ization of the ranks, meaning a different title for male, female and unknow for each rank. As the mod is present on the demo board, ranks sumarize detects it and display the gender available for each. A board without the PCP will see only the title.

Posted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 12:17 pm
by miwitch
Hi, I am a newbie in this... I had just installed this MOD and followed wat the Note had said.
But i got this error when opening the index page:

phpBB : Critical Error

Could not open subSilver template config file

DEBUG MODE

Line : 332
File : /home/mahou-m/public_html/forum/includes/functions.php

So what do i do now?? Please help Thanx you~

Posted: Tue Dec 23, 2003 12:34 pm
by miwitch
I tried to redo the whole MOD. now it works... =) *phew~*

Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 4:22 am
by jdaveusmc
How do I get this mod to show more than 10 users in a particular rank?

Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 9:08 am
by Ptirhiik
You will find at the top of the ranks.php some constants with their explanations to customize the display :).

Posted: Mon Jan 05, 2004 11:37 am
by jdaveusmc
Ptirhiik,
I was so blind, I just passed right by those constants. Thanks so much!

Posted: Thu Jan 08, 2004 8:50 pm
by Sneakypete
im just wondering but when you click on ranks, you get at the top

such and such index -> Ranks

how come Ranks is not a link to the ranks page - and yes i know that your on the ranks page, but in keeping with the rest of the site, as mine anyway the forums all have a link tho themselves. I like it because it just makes it the same colour, font underlined ect. ive looked through the ranks.php file but am totally lost...


:EDIT:

Sorted this one myself.

in ranks_body.tpl

change

<td align="left" valign="middle" width="100%"><span class="nav"><a href="{U_INDEX}" class="nav">{L_INDEX}</a>
-> {L_RANKS}</span></td>

into

<td align="left" valign="middle" width="100%"><span class="nav"><a href="{U_INDEX}" class="nav">{L_INDEX}</a>
-> <a href="{U_VIEW_RANKS}" class="nav">{L_RANKS}</a></span></td>

first thing ive ever done. and it works =)

Posted: Sun Jan 11, 2004 8:08 am
by beggers
One note of caution: This mod can put a big load on your server (particularly on a board with a lot of members). I decided not to add this ranks program because my server load jumped to 20-30 after hitting refresh a bunch of times. I have close to 5,000 members on the board I was testing.

Lately I've been testing a lot of new mods prior to actual release by repeatedly hitting "refresh" and checking the server load. I've become overly cautious about this because some spammers/hackers used this trick to effectively shut down a large site I used to publish.

Posted: Sun Jan 11, 2004 9:31 am
by Ptirhiik
It depends the number of ranks you use (how many specials, how many standard), and how you tune the mod with the constants at its top. Correctly tuned, this mod will require less cpu or request than reading a topic page.

Posted: Sun Jan 11, 2004 9:50 am
by Sneakypete
i can believe it, if you allow it to show all 5000 members, i can imagine the load, but limit the number of members to 10 / 20 and its getting less information than a big forum.