Page 6 of 33

Posted: Tue Jul 20, 2004 2:54 am
by cifroes
Anyone can confirm this works in phpbb 2.0.10?

Posted: Wed Jul 21, 2004 9:25 pm
by fredtgreco
I'm running php 2.0.10 and after the install I get the following error:

Code: Select all

Template->make_filename(): Error - file does not exist
Anyone know what could be going on here?

Posted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 8:01 am
by stu15
fredtgreco wrote: I'm running php 2.0.10 and after the install I get the following error:

Code: Select all

Template->make_filename(): Error - file does not exist
Anyone know what could be going on here?


Yep, you have not uploaded the tpl file to the template folder.

Posted: Sun Aug 15, 2004 8:06 am
by stu15
I hope some one can help me here

Sorry about the silly question :oops:

I have installed this mod, but how do you use it? Is there meant to be a button somewhere that allows you to merge threads? If so where do I find it? Under the Administration Panel or Moderators Panel where??? As I cant find any way to merge threads!!

Please help me ASAP!

Posted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 1:20 am
by akslee
I am having the same error message when I press the merge button.

The error mesage is

Template->make_filename(): Error - file does not exist

Posted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 1:24 am
by akslee
I am having the same error message when I press the merge button.

The error mesage is

Template->make_filename(): Error - file does not exist

Posted: Tue Aug 24, 2004 4:52 am
by akslee
I solved the issue. It turns out I missed uploading this file

merge_body.tpl

Now works.

Posted: Sat Sep 04, 2004 9:46 pm
by Driver
OK I just tried installing this on .10 and I'm not even getting a broken red X, nothing, zip, can't even tell the mod is there. I followed the instructions but I'm not a programmer, not even Java or Perl, maybe some syntax is off? Help?

Posted: Sat Sep 04, 2004 11:46 pm
by Ptirhiik
Look at bottom left while viewing the posts of the topic. You can also call it directly ( http://your_board_url.com/merge.php ).

Posted: Sun Sep 05, 2004 2:32 am
by Driver
Thanks, the direct link worked and wouldn't you know it... following that when going to a single post the row of images including the >< button shows there. Go figure.

The documentation could be a little better on installing it (from a newbie point of view) and how it works is completely ignored in the Read Me.. All thing I'm sure can be worked on before it goes up from beta. :) Hopefully the 2.2 release will have this as a basic feature. I find it odd that splitting is there but not merging. Oh well. Thanks for the assist.

Posted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 4:03 pm
by rv6eric
I really need the functionality offered by the Simply Merge mod. From everything I have read, it sounds like a great mod.

I have reviewed the installation instructions and I don't think I would have a problem installing it. However, I use a different template (Hestia) on my board. I believe I would be able to edit my templates' config file (hestia.cfg) without any problems but I don't know if I am up to editing merge_body.tpl, merge_select_body.tpl, and topics_list_box.tpl (the *.tpl files that come with this mod).

Is it possible to use those files unedited with my template? I realize it might not look pretty but since it would only be seen by myself and my two moderators we could probably live with a funny looking screen in order to get the merge thread capabililty.

Posted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 4:30 pm
by Ptirhiik
This is not particulary linked to this mod, but a more generic matter. Yes, you can edit the 3 tpls. Check in ie viewforum_body.tpl which classes (class="??") are used for header, rows, texts etc..., compare with a subSilver viewforum_body.tpl to see the similar usage classes, then update in the added tpl this classes : this should do 90% of the work (if no, change your template IMHO, and take a closer to subSilver :))

Posted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 9:11 pm
by rv6eric
Thank you for getting back to me! Your response will be very useful to me if I decide to attempt to modify the template that I am using.

However, you missed my real question. I was not asking if I could edit the 3 tpl files. Quite the opposite...I want to know if you think I can use the tpl files provided with your mod as is (unmodified) with my template? As I stated in my earlier message, I recognize the fact that it might not look pretty. I would modify my cfg file but I would NOT modify your tpl files. Do you think this would work?

Posted: Thu Sep 23, 2004 11:34 pm
by Ptirhiik
It depends how far from subSilver CSS is your template CSS. If it uses the same names of class (eg row1, gen, etc.), it should be ok. If not, you may encounter white on white text, those kind of thinks. It is quite difficult to say without seeing your CSS :).

Posted: Tue Sep 28, 2004 10:35 pm
by kq76
cifroes wrote: Anyone can confirm this works in phpbb 2.0.10?


It appears to for me.