[2.0.19] Forum Icon with ACP Control

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in here. No new MODs will be accepted into the MOD Database for phpBB2
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
Post Reply

Rating:

Excellent!
36
60%
Very Good
14
23%
Good
6
10%
Fair
2
3%
Poor
2
3%
 
Total votes: 60

Extensions Robot
Extensions Robot
Extensions Robot
Posts: 28021
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2003 7:36 am

[2.0.19] Forum Icon with ACP Control

Post by Extensions Robot » Sat Nov 15, 2003 3:49 pm

MOD Name: Forum Icon with ACP Control
Author: ycl6
MOD Description: This mod allow admin to give each forum an icon in the ACP. Icons will show on index, viewforum and viewtopic


MOD Version: 1.1.0 (Updated 12/31/05)

Download File: Forum_Icon_V1.1.0.zip
mods overview page: View
File Size: 164342 Bytes

Security Score: 0

Support for this MOD needs to be asked within this topic. The phpBB Teams are not responsible or required to give anyone support for this MOD. By installing this MOD, the phpBB Support Team or phpBB MODifications Team may not be able to provide support.

This MOD has only been tested by the phpBB MOD Team with the phpBB version in the topic title. It may not work in any other versions of phpBB.
Last edited by Extensions Robot on Mon Apr 30, 2007 12:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
(this is a non-active account manager for the phpBB Extension Customisations Team)

wGEric
Former Team Member
Posts: 8805
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 3:01 am
Location: Friday
Name: Eric Faerber
Contact:

Post by wGEric » Wed Nov 26, 2003 5:47 pm

MOD Validated/Released
Eric

ycl6
Translator
Posts: 5696
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 10:35 am
Location: Taiwan
Contact:

Post by ycl6 » Fri Nov 28, 2003 9:47 am

Someone has sent me an PM about where to add the image
Maybe it's not apparent to WHERE it should be (although I though it shouldn't be difficult)

Anyway, after installing this mod, you can go to your ACP -> Forum Management
You can add an image to a forum by go into Adding Forums (for new forum) or Editing Forums (for existing forum)
There will now be an additional field for forum image path input.
Have that set up then the image are ready to show

Good Luck to all.

~Mac

User avatar
morpheus2matrix
Former Team Member
Posts: 9171
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 7:31 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by morpheus2matrix » Fri Nov 28, 2003 4:00 pm

A good addition to this MOD should be to have a list box with all the icon possible for a forum, instead of entering the path of the file :)
Former phpBB MOD-Team Member -

Forgive my bad English :(

No support by PM/Email - Thanks - You can thanks me here :) - Pay me for installing MOD's :lol:

ycl6
Translator
Posts: 5696
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 10:35 am
Location: Taiwan
Contact:

Post by ycl6 » Fri Nov 28, 2003 4:41 pm

yes morpheus2matrix, this has been suggested before. I'm still working on this MOD. The next version should be the final release of this MOD

~Mac
Last edited by ycl6 on Sat Nov 29, 2003 3:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
morpheus2matrix
Former Team Member
Posts: 9171
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 7:31 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by morpheus2matrix » Fri Nov 28, 2003 6:31 pm

That's a good news :wink:

Good luck :)
Former phpBB MOD-Team Member -

Forgive my bad English :(

No support by PM/Email - Thanks - You can thanks me here :) - Pay me for installing MOD's :lol:

Schwpz
Registered User
Posts: 335
Joined: Wed May 07, 2003 1:33 pm
Location: Planet Zot
Contact:

Post by Schwpz » Sat Dec 13, 2003 1:06 am

ycl6 wrote: Someone has sent me an PM about where to add the image
Maybe it's not apparent to WHERE it should be (although I though it shouldn't be difficult)

Anyway, after installing this mod, you can go to your ACP -> Forum Management
You can add an image to a forum by go into Adding Forums (for new forum) or Editing Forums (for existing forum)
There will now be an additional field for forum image path input.
Have that set up then the image are ready to show

Good Luck to all.

~Mac


I presume it's because you have to enter the adresse withouth the http://www.etc. first, like I did on my firsts try. ^^

Nice mod by the way! :D
..:: PlanetZot.com - Your ultimate source for animation! ^^

wtfm
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 11:11 am

Post by wtfm » Sun Dec 14, 2003 11:22 am

Silly ?

I was wondering before I do this if I am correct or not in my asumption
The instructions say this
# Remember to change the table prefix used on your database
ALTER TABLE `phpbb2_forums` ADD `forum_icon` VARCHAR( 255 ) default NULL;


I don't have a phpbb2_forums table so I am thinking it is just phpbb_forums correct?

Also I didn't see anything else on it so I assume the remeber statement is rhetorical?

So I assume again I can just run the querry:

Code: Select all

ALTER TABLE `phpbb_forums` ADD `forum_icon` VARCHAR( 255 ) default NULL;
on phpmyadmin and that will do the trick?

thx

User avatar
morpheus2matrix
Former Team Member
Posts: 9171
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 7:31 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by morpheus2matrix » Sun Dec 14, 2003 1:25 pm

wtfm wrote: So I assume again I can just run the querry:

Code: Select all

ALTER TABLE `phpbb_forums` ADD `forum_icon` VARCHAR( 255 ) default NULL;
on phpmyadmin and that will do the trick?


yes, i think it will do the goal
Former phpBB MOD-Team Member -

Forgive my bad English :(

No support by PM/Email - Thanks - You can thanks me here :) - Pay me for installing MOD's :lol:

ycl6
Translator
Posts: 5696
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 10:35 am
Location: Taiwan
Contact:

Post by ycl6 » Sun Dec 14, 2003 5:17 pm

Depend on the table prefix you've used for your phpBB forum, change accordingly :wink:

~Mac

wtfm
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2003 11:11 am

Post by wtfm » Sun Dec 14, 2003 6:22 pm

Ok, thanks,
Wanted to ask the question before I made a "simple grief causing mistake" :)

mgurain
Registered User
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 5:28 pm
Location: Al-Qatif - Al-Jarodiah

Post by mgurain » Mon Dec 15, 2003 10:12 am

Hi,,

a nice MOD ycl6 ,,

but is it working on 2.0.5 ? :wink:

thanks,,

User avatar
morpheus2matrix
Former Team Member
Posts: 9171
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 7:31 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by morpheus2matrix » Mon Dec 15, 2003 1:01 pm

yes, i think it will be ok :wink:
Former phpBB MOD-Team Member -

Forgive my bad English :(

No support by PM/Email - Thanks - You can thanks me here :) - Pay me for installing MOD's :lol:

ycl6
Translator
Posts: 5696
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 10:35 am
Location: Taiwan
Contact:

Post by ycl6 » Tue Dec 16, 2003 9:42 am

I knew it works on 2.0.4 & 2.0.6 becoz I've test on these two version, but have not try it on 2.0.5.

I don't think there is too much difference between the three version in the code you need to look for.

~Mac

mgurain
Registered User
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 5:28 pm
Location: Al-Qatif - Al-Jarodiah

Post by mgurain » Tue Dec 16, 2003 2:11 pm

Hi,,

I managed to install it,,

thank you,,

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Releases”