Page 1 of 35

[2.0.19] Forum Icon with ACP Control

Posted: Sat Nov 15, 2003 3:49 pm
by Extensions Robot
MOD Name: Forum Icon with ACP Control
Author: ycl6
MOD Description: This mod allow admin to give each forum an icon in the ACP. Icons will show on index, viewforum and viewtopic


MOD Version: 1.1.0 (Updated 12/31/05)

Download File: Forum_Icon_V1.1.0.zip
mods overview page: View
File Size: 164342 Bytes

Security Score: 0

Support for this MOD needs to be asked within this topic. The phpBB Teams are not responsible or required to give anyone support for this MOD. By installing this MOD, the phpBB Support Team or phpBB MODifications Team may not be able to provide support.

This MOD has only been tested by the phpBB MOD Team with the phpBB version in the topic title. It may not work in any other versions of phpBB.

Posted: Wed Nov 26, 2003 5:47 pm
by wGEric
MOD Validated/Released

Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2003 9:47 am
by ycl6
Someone has sent me an PM about where to add the image
Maybe it's not apparent to WHERE it should be (although I though it shouldn't be difficult)

Anyway, after installing this mod, you can go to your ACP -> Forum Management
You can add an image to a forum by go into Adding Forums (for new forum) or Editing Forums (for existing forum)
There will now be an additional field for forum image path input.
Have that set up then the image are ready to show

Good Luck to all.

~Mac

Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2003 4:00 pm
by morpheus2matrix
A good addition to this MOD should be to have a list box with all the icon possible for a forum, instead of entering the path of the file :)

Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2003 4:41 pm
by ycl6
yes morpheus2matrix, this has been suggested before. I'm still working on this MOD. The next version should be the final release of this MOD

~Mac

Posted: Fri Nov 28, 2003 6:31 pm
by morpheus2matrix
That's a good news :wink:

Good luck :)

Posted: Sat Dec 13, 2003 1:06 am
by Schwpz
ycl6 wrote: Someone has sent me an PM about where to add the image
Maybe it's not apparent to WHERE it should be (although I though it shouldn't be difficult)

Anyway, after installing this mod, you can go to your ACP -> Forum Management
You can add an image to a forum by go into Adding Forums (for new forum) or Editing Forums (for existing forum)
There will now be an additional field for forum image path input.
Have that set up then the image are ready to show

Good Luck to all.

~Mac


I presume it's because you have to enter the adresse withouth the http://www.etc. first, like I did on my firsts try. ^^

Nice mod by the way! :D

Posted: Sun Dec 14, 2003 11:22 am
by wtfm
Silly ?

I was wondering before I do this if I am correct or not in my asumption
The instructions say this
# Remember to change the table prefix used on your database
ALTER TABLE `phpbb2_forums` ADD `forum_icon` VARCHAR( 255 ) default NULL;


I don't have a phpbb2_forums table so I am thinking it is just phpbb_forums correct?

Also I didn't see anything else on it so I assume the remeber statement is rhetorical?

So I assume again I can just run the querry:

Code: Select all

ALTER TABLE `phpbb_forums` ADD `forum_icon` VARCHAR( 255 ) default NULL;
on phpmyadmin and that will do the trick?

thx

Posted: Sun Dec 14, 2003 1:25 pm
by morpheus2matrix
wtfm wrote: So I assume again I can just run the querry:

Code: Select all

ALTER TABLE `phpbb_forums` ADD `forum_icon` VARCHAR( 255 ) default NULL;
on phpmyadmin and that will do the trick?


yes, i think it will do the goal

Posted: Sun Dec 14, 2003 5:17 pm
by ycl6
Depend on the table prefix you've used for your phpBB forum, change accordingly :wink:

~Mac

Posted: Sun Dec 14, 2003 6:22 pm
by wtfm
Ok, thanks,
Wanted to ask the question before I made a "simple grief causing mistake" :)

Posted: Mon Dec 15, 2003 10:12 am
by mgurain
Hi,,

a nice MOD ycl6 ,,

but is it working on 2.0.5 ? :wink:

thanks,,

Posted: Mon Dec 15, 2003 1:01 pm
by morpheus2matrix
yes, i think it will be ok :wink:

Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2003 9:42 am
by ycl6
I knew it works on 2.0.4 & 2.0.6 becoz I've test on these two version, but have not try it on 2.0.5.

I don't think there is too much difference between the three version in the code you need to look for.

~Mac

Posted: Tue Dec 16, 2003 2:11 pm
by mgurain
Hi,,

I managed to install it,,

thank you,,