[2.0.17] Table BBCode

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in here. No new MODs will be accepted into the MOD Database for phpBB2
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.

Rating:

Excellent!
23
50%
Very Good
8
17%
Good
11
24%
Fair
2
4%
Poor
2
4%
 
Total votes: 46

SlapShot434
Registered User
Posts: 364
Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 2:43 am

Re: Help image...

Post by SlapShot434 » Sat Oct 08, 2005 7:27 pm

malias wrote: Thanks for this great mod.
Question
In the instructions for those who don't have the "Multi bbcode Mod" you see in the code where the Question Mark image is added beside the TABLE button

Code: Select all

<td><span class="genmed"> 
			  <input type="button" class="button" accesskey="g" name="addbbcode18" value="Table" style="width: 40px" onClick="bbstyle(18)" onMouseOver="helpline('g')" />
			  </span></td>
			<td>
			  <a href="{U_BBCODE_G_FAQ}" target="_blank"><img align="top" src="templates/subSilver/images/icon_tablebbcode.gif" border=0 /></a></td>
# 
However, in the instructions for those who have the "Multi bbcode Mod" the is nowhere you can find the code to insert the Question Mark image beside the TABLE button

Any specific reason why it's not there?
Thanks
Malias


Since the Multi BBCode MOD inserts the buttons dynamicly, theres no simple way for me to add the image, so i did away with it. In the next version that I release, I've already created a text link to the BBCode FAQ in an easy-to-find spot, so finding it wont be a problem.
PLEASE NOTE: I have left the coding community and no longer provide support for any coding I may have contributed to in the past. I apologize for the inconvenience and fully welcome anyone perfecting my code for the betterment of this community.

RickyNesio
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 12:58 am

Post by RickyNesio » Sat Oct 08, 2005 11:56 pm

NightriderXP wrote:
RickyNesio wrote:now i only have this error

"Critical Error

FIND FAILED: In file [templates/subSilver/bbcode.tpl] could not find:

<!-- BEGIN b_open -->

MOD script line #374 :: FAQ :: Report"

thanks

Can you provide a text link for your bbcode.tpl file so that I can look at what you have? I do have this line in my subSilver bbcode.tpl file, so I can't really tell you what to change this line to in your MOD file. You could probably use anything from your bbcode.tpl file for this FIND statement since it is adding instead of replacing code...

:?:


ohhh men plaeasy sorry, i postit wrong in the wrong forum i have the html bbcode mod, was my mistake to postit here, please moderator feel free to deleted my post, thank to all who answered (my english betray me this time)
:(

Nachtwolf
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2005 7:10 pm
Contact:

Post by Nachtwolf » Thu Oct 27, 2005 7:24 pm

hmm i got a little problem with this mod when i use the AdInfinitum-Template by Mike Lothar (got it at the german phpBB-Page)

everything works fine as long as i (or my users ;) ) use Firefox .. but as soon as i try to take a look at the table in IE i can't see a single word from the part of the post where the table is set up .. (limited to that post .. every other post and even the signature is working fine, everything before the starting tag [table] is fine too ..)

if you want to take a look at it: Forum well it's a german board but i guess most of you still will be able to take a look ;)

the problem seems to be easier to reproduce when using the

Code: Select all

-tag but every tag in before starting (or even better after closing) the table will work pretty well to get bad behavior ... :) if you need any of the template files to help me plz feel free to ask .. every help is appreciated ;)

greetings Wolfi ;)

C2
Registered User
Posts: 76
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 10:58 pm

Post by C2 » Mon Dec 05, 2005 1:11 am

Sorry if this has been mentioned already.

for certian templates, I'm using Aeolus, you may need to remove the lines

Code: Select all

$faq[] = array("--", "Other matters");
$faq[] = array("--", "<a name=\"tables\"></a>Making Tables");
from the lang_bbcode.php file or the BBCode faq gets re-arranged incorrectly.

You can replace it with something like this

Code: Select all

$faq[] = array("--", "Making Tables");
and it looks ok.

great mod, by the way. :P
Working in 2.0.18 with many other mods perfectly!

SlapShot434
Registered User
Posts: 364
Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 2:43 am

Post by SlapShot434 » Mon Dec 05, 2005 4:18 pm

Other matters? Im afraid you may have installed that line of code incorrectly. The table faq lines should come BEFORE that text, not after it.
PLEASE NOTE: I have left the coding community and no longer provide support for any coding I may have contributed to in the past. I apologize for the inconvenience and fully welcome anyone perfecting my code for the betterment of this community.

raymonkondos
Registered User
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 11:40 pm

one column bigger than the other

Post by raymonkondos » Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:11 pm

Hello,
I applied the mod, and I got one column always bigger than the other. By resizing the window of the browser (IE), the smaller column get squeezed and the text is wrapped, while the bigger one remains intact.
Any idea what is happening?

Image

SlapShot434
Registered User
Posts: 364
Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 2:43 am

Post by SlapShot434 » Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:42 pm

Could you please post the code in that table, as well as the information about your site (phpbb version, mod version, style, browser, etc)
PLEASE NOTE: I have left the coding community and no longer provide support for any coding I may have contributed to in the past. I apologize for the inconvenience and fully welcome anyone perfecting my code for the betterment of this community.

raymonkondos
Registered User
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 11:40 pm

Post by raymonkondos » Wed Jan 18, 2006 12:15 am

SlapShot434 wrote: Could you please post the code in that table, as well as the information about your site (phpbb version, mod version, style, browser, etc)


Thanks for quick reply SlapShot,
phpbb version: 2.0.19
Browsers affected: IE6, Firefox 1.5, Opera 7.54 (yes the three browsers show the same thing).
Template: SubSilver (did not test it on other templates yet)
Mod version: 1.3.1 (latest)

The code I used:

Code: Select all

[table][col]I said, " The path is steep." 
He said, " I'm at your side." 
I said, "But I am weak." 
He said, "For you I died." 

I said, "Dark valleys come." 
He said, "I'll guide you through." 
I said, "But I'm not brave." 
He said, "I'll walk with you." 

I said, "Be a light to me, 
And give me strength as I go on." 
He said, "I'm more. I'm love, 
You'll never walk alone." 
[col]"That's why peaceful solutions are always the best solutions," he added during an interview. Some oil industry analysts see a possibility that Iran, which amassed some $40 billion in oil export revenues last year, could afford to deliberately withdraw all or part of its 2.4 million barrels per day from the world market. 

The United States and the EU want Iran referred to the United Nations Security Council for possible sanctions over a nuclear program they suspect is aimed at developing weapons rather than fuel for power stations. Iran denies the charge. 

On Tuesday, Iran urged the EU to resume talks on the nuclear dispute. 

[/table]
Note I tried other codes also like

Code: Select all

[table][row]text[col]text[/table]

SlapShot434
Registered User
Posts: 364
Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 2:43 am

Post by SlapShot434 » Thu Jan 19, 2006 12:05 am

The problem with the first code is that [row] has not been used. It is a required tag for proper conversion. Try it with the full text and see if that helps.

Code: Select all

[table][row]I said, " The path is steep."
He said, " I'm at your side."
I said, "But I am weak."
He said, "For you I died."

I said, "Dark valleys come."
He said, "I'll guide you through."
I said, "But I'm not brave."
He said, "I'll walk with you."

I said, "Be a light to me,
And give me strength as I go on."
He said, "I'm more. I'm love,
You'll never walk alone."
[col]"That's why peaceful solutions are always the best solutions," he added during an interview. Some oil industry analysts see a possibility that Iran, which amassed some $40 billion in oil export revenues last year, could afford to deliberately withdraw all or part of its 2.4 million barrels per day from the world market.

The United States and the EU want Iran referred to the United Nations Security Council for possible sanctions over a nuclear program they suspect is aimed at developing weapons rather than fuel for power stations. Iran denies the charge.

On Tuesday, Iran urged the EU to resume talks on the nuclear dispute.

[/table]
PLEASE NOTE: I have left the coding community and no longer provide support for any coding I may have contributed to in the past. I apologize for the inconvenience and fully welcome anyone perfecting my code for the betterment of this community.

raymonkondos
Registered User
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 11:40 pm

Post by raymonkondos » Fri Jan 20, 2006 2:19 am

Hello slapshot,
I already tried using the row as I said in previous post but did not work either.

I found very strange thing. It happens only with peotry, i.e. lines with short breaks and quotations. Do you think this could be linked to the problem.
Anyway, the is the html produced in the forum (view source):

Code: Select all

<table align="top" cellpadding="2" cellspacing="0" class="postbody" border="1" bgcolor="#FFFFFF"></td></tr><tr><td>I said, " The path is steep." 
<br />He said, " I'm at your side." 
<br />I said, "But I am weak." 
<br />He said, "For you I died." 
<br />
<br />I said, "Dark valleys come." 
<br />He said, "I'll guide you through." 
<br />I said, "But I'm not brave." 
<br />He said, "I'll walk with you." 
<br />
<br />I said, "Be a light to me, 
<br />And give me strength as I go on." 
<br />He said, "I'm more. I'm love, 
<br />You'll never walk alone." 
<br /></td><td>"That's why peaceful solutions are always the best solutions," he added during an interview. Some oil industry analysts see a possibility that Iran, which amassed some $40 billion in oil export revenues last year, could afford to deliberately withdraw all or part of its 2.4 million barrels per day from the world market. 
<br />
<br />The United States and the EU want Iran referred to the United Nations Security Council for possible sanctions over a nuclear program they suspect is aimed at developing weapons rather than fuel for power stations. Iran denies the charge. 
<br />
<br />On Tuesday, Iran urged the EU to resume talks on the nuclear dispute. 
<br />
<br /></td></tr></table>
I have no idea what does the </td></tr> do after the <table> tag, but removing them does not solve the problem

SlapShot434
Registered User
Posts: 364
Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 2:43 am

Post by SlapShot434 » Fri Jan 20, 2006 4:18 am

try using a <div id="size"> with a forced word wrap in the css (I'm in a rush right now so i cant provide you with an example). If you know what I mean, se if it works, otherwise I'll get you the actual code when i get a chance.
PLEASE NOTE: I have left the coding community and no longer provide support for any coding I may have contributed to in the past. I apologize for the inconvenience and fully welcome anyone perfecting my code for the betterment of this community.

raymonkondos
Registered User
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 11:40 pm

Post by raymonkondos » Sat Jan 21, 2006 12:37 am

SlapShot434 wrote: try using a <div id="size"> with a forced word wrap in the css (I'm in a rush right now so i cant provide you with an example). If you know what I mean, se if it works, otherwise I'll get you the actual code when i get a chance.


SlapShot,
Thanks fo responding. OK, I will have to wait for you :oops: when you have the chance.

SlapShot434
Registered User
Posts: 364
Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 2:43 am

Post by SlapShot434 » Sun Jan 22, 2006 4:50 pm

just to see if its not a css problem, try setting the width feild to 50% on both columns.
PLEASE NOTE: I have left the coding community and no longer provide support for any coding I may have contributed to in the past. I apologize for the inconvenience and fully welcome anyone perfecting my code for the betterment of this community.

raymonkondos
Registered User
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 11:40 pm

Post by raymonkondos » Tue Jan 24, 2006 9:24 am

SlapShot434 wrote: just to see if its not a css problem, try setting the width feild to 50% on both columns.

When I set the width to 50%, it worked fine (as it is supposed to).
Of course, it would be much better to have columns fit to the size of the text, rather than that much space.

But SlapShot, I now tend to believe this has nothing to do with the mod.
Please try yourself to copy the code I put before, open Dreamweaver (or any other program) and see the results (of only the table), you will find it the results as the capture that I took.
It is weird, as I never came across problems designing my site before.

SlapShot434
Registered User
Posts: 364
Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 2:43 am

Post by SlapShot434 » Wed Jan 25, 2006 2:54 am

I'm having the same problem as you on my sites. This is very interesting, it seems to be applying a word wrap to the first column, but not to the second. I cant explain this... ill have to do some debugging and get back to you.
PLEASE NOTE: I have left the coding community and no longer provide support for any coding I may have contributed to in the past. I apologize for the inconvenience and fully welcome anyone perfecting my code for the betterment of this community.

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Releases”