Auto-Refresh Forum

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in here. No new MODs will be accepted into the MOD Database for phpBB2
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.

Rating:

Excellent!
6
55%
Very Good
5
45%
Good
0
No votes
Fair
0
No votes
Poor
0
No votes
 
Total votes: 11

Noonster
Registered User
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2005 9:45 pm
Location: East Yorkshire, UK
Contact:

Post by Noonster » Fri Apr 08, 2005 1:32 pm

rossmcclymont wrote: I gave it a quick try but it didn't work. :(

I'll have a look into in for you though. :D


Thanks :D
- I really would like to get it working.... so your help is much appreciated.

Cheers
Darren

User avatar
Gremlinn
Registered User
Posts: 2133
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 12:13 am
Location: Rochester, NY
Name: Nathan

Post by Gremlinn » Fri Apr 08, 2005 5:14 pm

Any progress on getting User Control in?

rossmcclymont
Registered User
Posts: 459
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 1:58 pm

Post by rossmcclymont » Fri Apr 08, 2005 5:21 pm

Nope, got to study before I go back on Monday - I'll try and get it done next week. :D

lhffan
Registered User
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 8:29 pm
Contact:

Post by lhffan » Mon May 09, 2005 8:38 pm

Lord Raiden wrote: Hey, I've got a request for an addition to this mod. Is there some way we can make this mod user level configurable? IE the user has the choice to enable this refresh feature in their profile so that it only refreshes for them and not everyone? I ask this because I got some moans and groans from some of the other members when they heard about this, but some were estatic about it. So rather than p*** off half my members I'd rather be able to delegate some control of this down to each individual instead. That way those who want this can turn it on in their profile and those that don't want it can leave it switched off.

Is this possible or is that going to be too much work?


That is a req from me, perhaps so users can choose to enable it by them selfves

rossmcclymont
Registered User
Posts: 459
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 1:58 pm

Post by rossmcclymont » Mon May 09, 2005 8:48 pm

Sorry I've not got round to this yet.

I'm giving my forum a facelift, and I'm still in the process of doing other stuff too which should help it get a bit more credibility...

Plus I've got exams at the end of the month that I really need to start studying for soon! :lol:

I'll try and get round to it whenever I can. :D

Feel free to subscribe to this topic and I'll post up when I've got something. And if any more requests come in, I'm watching the topic too, so I'll get round to it whenever I can.

Apologies. :)

michaeldcoates
Registered User
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 8:16 pm

Post by michaeldcoates » Mon May 16, 2005 2:42 pm

i have a question about this mod - i have implemented it and can see the option in my general config tab in admin panel but whenever i enter a number and submit i check to see it's there and there is no number at all. is this normal?

rossmcclymont
Registered User
Posts: 459
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 1:58 pm

Post by rossmcclymont » Mon May 16, 2005 2:45 pm

Try making the changes for admin_board.php and board_config_body.tpl again.

If that doesn't work, then it may be a conflict with another MOD...

If making the changes again doesn't work, try editing it through the database. :D

michaeldcoates
Registered User
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 8:16 pm

Post by michaeldcoates » Mon May 16, 2005 2:51 pm

rossmcclymont wrote: Try making the changes for admin_board.php and board_config_body.tpl again.

If that doesn't work, then it may be a conflict with another MOD...

If making the changes again doesn't work, try editing it through the database. :D


i'll try but i know realise where my problem is

SQL
INSERT INTO `phpbb_config` VALUES ('refresh_time', '60');

where do i put this? i haven't a clue!
sorry for wasting your time :oops:

rossmcclymont
Registered User
Posts: 459
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 1:58 pm

Post by rossmcclymont » Mon May 16, 2005 2:54 pm

If you log into phpMyAdmin (if you have it) - select the table your database is running from and then select the 'SQL' tab along the top in the right frame.

Then, just simply paste that line of code into that and press 'Go'.

That should work, but I'd recommend backing up your database before doing anything with it.

Take it from me - you need to take proper backups - I've just lost about 200 posts on my forum because I backed up the wrong database! :lol:

michaeldcoates
Registered User
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 8:16 pm

Post by michaeldcoates » Mon May 16, 2005 2:59 pm

rossmcclymont wrote: If you log into phpMyAdmin (if you have it) - select the table your database is running from and then select the 'SQL' tab along the top in the right frame.

Then, just simply paste that line of code into that and press 'Go'.

That should work, but I'd recommend backing up your database before doing anything with it.

Take it from me - you need to take proper backups - I've just lost about 200 posts on my forum because I backed up the wrong database! :lol:


where can i find phpmyadmin? is it in my hosts control panel or the forum admin panel?

rossmcclymont
Registered User
Posts: 459
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 1:58 pm

Post by rossmcclymont » Mon May 16, 2005 3:03 pm

Host's panel.

If you've got cPanel, find the 'MySQL Databases' section, and then click on phpMyAdmin at the bottom of that page...

michaeldcoates
Registered User
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 8:16 pm

Post by michaeldcoates » Mon May 16, 2005 3:20 pm

rossmcclymont wrote: Host's panel.

If you've got cPanel, find the 'MySQL Databases' section, and then click on phpMyAdmin at the bottom of that page...


got it sorted - awesome man, thanks for your help - much appreciated!

rossmcclymont
Registered User
Posts: 459
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 1:58 pm

Post by rossmcclymont » Mon May 16, 2005 3:21 pm

No probs. I just wish somebody could help me with my post loss... :lol:

michaeldcoates
Registered User
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Apr 02, 2005 8:16 pm

Post by michaeldcoates » Mon May 16, 2005 3:22 pm

rossmcclymont wrote: No probs. I just wish somebody could help me with my post loss... :lol:


if i weren't such a stupid newbie i would man!

rossmcclymont
Registered User
Posts: 459
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 1:58 pm

Post by rossmcclymont » Mon May 16, 2005 3:24 pm

I don't think anyone can help me now... it's just my stupidity that led to that happening. :(

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Releases”