Page 30 of 40

Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 2:42 pm
by ABXGuy
NightriderXP wrote: If you restore your backups and reapply the update using EasyMOD, I would bet you the ranch that you won't have this problem again...


Thanks for the tip.... I think... :wink:

If I had the time to live and breath phpBB and this site I would know more about the what and how to update. I guess I need to go search this site for EasyMOD to find out what it is and how to use it.

Care to point me in the right direction?

Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 2:47 pm
by asinshesq
ABXGuy wrote: ...If I had the time to live and breath phpBB and this site I would know more about the what and how to update. I guess I need to go search this site for EasyMOD to find out what it is and how to use it.

Care to point me in the right direction?


Here's a link: http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=217673

And what Nightrider is trying to do in his usual (strident ;) ) way is to save you time, not spend it. Installs are a lot faster with EM (even on a heavily modded board).

In the meantime, if you want to pm me your usercp_viewprofile.php I can take a quick look at it and see if there's anyting obvious there.

Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 2:58 pm
by NightriderXP
ABXGuy wrote: If I had the time to live and breath phpBB and this site I would know more about the what and how to update. I guess I need to go search this site for EasyMOD to find out what it is and how to use it.

ABXGuy, I'm happy that you had this problem then and came for help. If you are as busy as you claim, then you really don't have the time to spend hours of your time manually applying MODs and updates to your board. Once we get you using EasyMOD for all of your MOD installs, you will find that you will have a lot of extra time to use for something more productive...

:lol:

Please?!?

Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 4:04 pm
by MaddoxX
Could anyone tell me what file is causing this cuz there is NO ERROR! :/

Image

Ofcourse running 2.0.15 ( and everything else is OK! )

Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 4:10 pm
by ABXGuy
NightriderXP wrote:
ABXGuy wrote:If I had the time to live and breath phpBB and this site I would know more about the what and how to update. I guess I need to go search this site for EasyMOD to find out what it is and how to use it.

ABXGuy, I'm happy that you had this problem then and came for help. If you are as busy as you claim, then you really don't have the time to spend hours of your time manually applying MODs and updates to your board. Once we get you using EasyMOD for all of your MOD installs, you will find that you will have a lot of extra time to use for something more productive...

:lol:


I have downloaded EasyMOD and WILL learn how to use it before I update again!! Until you mentioned it I had no idea what it was, please bare with us less informed.

Second, A big thank you to asinshesq, the current problem I had was corrected via PM. I appreciate the help of the knowledgeable people here!!

Re: Please?!?

Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 4:35 pm
by NightriderXP
MaddoxX wrote: Could anyone tell me what file is causing this cuz there is NO ERROR! :/

Ofcourse running 2.0.15 ( and everything else is OK! )

Make sure that your index_navigate.tpl file is still in your admin folder in your default template and make sure that the code is intact. REview the file and make sure that nothing looks abnormal. The end of my file looks like this and your's will probably look similar:

Code: Select all

<div align="center"><span class="copyright">
<script language="javascript" type="text/javascript">
<!--
	document.write(menuVersion);
// -->
</script>
</span></div>
<br />
Then if the index_navigate.tpl file is OK, check your index_frameset.tpl file in the same admin folder. It should look something like this:

Code: Select all

<html>
<head>
<title>phpBB Administration</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html;">
</head>

<frameset cols="170,*" rows="*" border="2" framespacing="0" frameborder="yes"> 
  <frame src="{S_FRAME_NAV}" name="nav" marginwidth="3" marginheight="3" scrolling="auto">
  <frame src="{S_FRAME_MAIN}" name="main" marginwidth="10" marginheight="10" scrolling="auto">
</frameset>

<noframes>
	<body bgcolor="#FFFFFF" text="#000000">
		<p>Sorry, your browser doesn't seem to support frames</p>
	</body>
</noframes>
</html>
If both of those files look ok, go to the Main admin folder in the phpBB root and search in the index.php file for S_FRAME_NAV. It should be close to the bottom and should look something like this:

Code: Select all

	$template->assign_vars(array(
		"S_FRAME_NAV" => append_sid("index.$phpEx?pane=left"),
		"S_FRAME_MAIN" => append_sid("index.$phpEx?pane=right"))
	);
If all three of your files look like they are in good shape, let us know and we can troubleshoot some more. Sometimes when you upload a file, it doesn't get completely uploaded and is corrupted. I imagine that is what is happening for you...

:lol:

Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 4:45 pm
by MaddoxX
index_navigate.tpl is the only one that looks different.. all other files are ok.

Code: Select all

 
<table width="100%" cellpadding="4" cellspacing="0" border="0" align="center">
  <tr> 
	<td align="center" ><a href="{U_FORUM_INDEX}" target="_parent"><img src="../templates/BBTech/images/logo_phpBB_med.gif" border="0" /></a></td>
  </tr>
  <tr> 
	<td align="center" > 
	  <table width="100%" cellpadding="4" cellspacing="1" border="0" class="forumline">
		<tr> 
		  <th height="25" class="thHead"><b>{L_ADMIN}</b></th>
		</tr>
		<tr> 
		  <td class="row1"><span class="genmed"><a href="{U_ADMIN_INDEX}" target="main" class="genmed">{L_ADMIN_INDEX}</a></span></td>
		</tr>
		<tr> 
		  <td class="row1"><span class="genmed"><a href="{U_FORUM_INDEX}" target="_parent" class="genmed">{L_FORUM_INDEX}</a></span></td>
		</tr>
		<tr> 
		  <td class="row1"><span class="genmed"><a href="{U_FORUM_INDEX}" target="main" class="genmed">{L_PREVIEW_FORUM}</a></span></td>
		</tr>
		<!-- BEGIN catrow -->
		<tr> 
		  <td height="28" class="catSides"><span class="cattitle">{catrow.ADMIN_CATEGORY}</span></td>
		</tr>
		<!-- BEGIN modulerow -->
		<tr> 
		  <td class="row1"><span class="genmed"><a href="{catrow.modulerow.U_ADMIN_MODULE}"  target="main" class="genmed">{catrow.modulerow.ADMIN_MODULE}</a></span> 
		  </td>
		</tr>
		<!-- END modulerow -->
		<!-- END catrow -->
	  </table>
	</td>
  </tr>
</table>

<br />
I tried re-uploading the files :( but nope

Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 4:45 pm
by NightriderXP
ABXGuy wrote: I have downloaded EasyMOD and WILL learn how to use it before I update again!! Until you mentioned it I had no idea what it was, please bare with us less informed.

I will bend over backwards to help you learn how to use EM if need be. I don't have a lot of empathy for those who prefer to do it the hard way, "manually", then don't have a clue how to find and fix the problems they create...
ABXGuy wrote: Second, A big thank you to asinshesq, the current problem I had was corrected via PM. I appreciate the help of the knowledgeable people here!!

Asinshesq has contributed a lot to phpBB. Are any of his MODs installed on your board? I also would like to thank asinshesq for helping to make my board better for my members as well as myself. He deserves a round of applause for all that he has done and continues to do for phpBB...

:lol:

Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 4:46 pm
by asinshesq
:oops:

Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 5:01 pm
by NightriderXP
MaddoxX wrote: index_navigate.tpl is the only one that looks different.. all other files are ok.

I just downloaded your index_navigate.tpl file from your subSilver/admin folder and it is messed up. It looks simiilar to what your index_frameset.tpl file should look like. This is what I downloaded first:

Code: Select all


<html>

  <head>
    <title>>> Emporio</title>
    <meta name="description" content=">> Emporio">
    <meta name="keywords" content=">> Emporio, >> Emporio, >> Emporio, >> Emporio, >> Emporio, >> Emporio, >> Emporio, >> Emporio">
  </head>

  <frameset rows="*,1" framespacing="0" border="0" frameborder="NO">
    <frame src="http://forum.damage-web.net/" name="dot_tk_frame_content" scrolling="auto" noresize>
  </frameset>

  <noframes>
    <body>
    </body>
  </noframes>

</html>
Your templates/subSilver/admin/index_navigate.tpl file should look nearly the same as what you posted above...

:lol:

Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 5:56 pm
by MaddoxX
thanks for your help but it wasnt a error in any file at all!

it had to do with PHP :/ there is some bug :(

Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 6:42 pm
by NightriderXP
MaddoxX wrote: thanks for your help but it wasnt a error in any file at all! it had to do with PHP :/ there is some bug :(

What makes you say that? I downloaded your index_navigate.tpl file and it was not correct. How can that be a bug in phpBB???

:?:

Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 7:24 pm
by MaddoxX
NightriderXP wrote:
MaddoxX wrote:thanks for your help but it wasnt a error in any file at all! it had to do with PHP :/ there is some bug :(

What makes you say that? I downloaded your index_navigate.tpl file and it was not correct. How can that be a bug in phpBB???

:?:

The piece of "code" you got is from the dot.tk services not from phpbb.
And I meant PHP not PHPBB :P They're reinstalling PHP now cuz it was a bugged version. I also tested my forum on another host and it worked fine there.. so it had to be a PHP error :P

Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 7:34 pm
by NightriderXP
Ok, whatever code I saw, it was hosed up badly. What kind of error did they find in PHP? I'm glad that your host is updating in order to correct this problem...

:lol:

Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 9:14 pm
by MaddoxX
Just a bugged Update from 4.x to 5.x :/