[Tool] phpBB 2.0.14 to 2.0.15 Code Changes

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in here. No new MODs will be accepted into the MOD Database for phpBB2
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.

Rating:

Excellent!
97
63%
Very Good
15
10%
Good
14
9%
Fair
7
5%
Poor
20
13%
 
Total votes: 153

NightriderXP
Registered User
Posts: 1418
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2004 8:17 am
Location: Florida, US
Contact:

Post by NightriderXP » Tue May 31, 2005 6:29 am

egypttpyge wrote: I am right now trying to add the Categories hierarchy Mod using EasyMod and so far it's been NightmareMod

If you add CH to your board, you may as well write off adding a majority of all the other MODs available out there. EM can't rename most of the standard phpBB files like CH tells you to do. Perhaps EM is doing you a favor by making you think twice before installing CH...

As far as not being able to use EM for heavily modded boards, please take a look at my board and you should quickly see that it is heavily modded. Yet I have installed all of my mods using EM...

It sounds like you tried to use EM the hard way. Instead of making your board files fit the MOD script so that EM can run, you change the MOD script to match your board. EM doesn't require entire lines of code to find a match either. There are a great many tricks that you could learn. If you used EM enough to get to know it, you would quickly realize that it could make your life far easier when applying these MODs and it can do it much faster than you can apply them manually...

If you have a board with more than one template, like I do, you will quickly find that EM can modify all of your template files at once even though the script mentions to only modify subSilver. I have 12 templates on my board so that comes in very handy...

The FIND only needs to find a small fraction of the line to know where to start. If your template uses different classes, some MODs struggle because they specify too much information to find such as a class designation, or differences in spacing, quotes, etc. To get around that, you alter the script to search for the smallest piece of the line that is unique in the file. For example, suppose the MOD said to search for the following line:

Code: Select all

# 
#-----[ FIND ]------------------------------------------
#
  <tr> 
	<td class="row1" align="left"><span class="gensmall">{TOTAL_USERS_ONLINE} &nbsp; [ {L_WHOSONLINE_ADMIN} ] &nbsp; [ {L_WHOSONLINE_MOD} ]<br />{RECORD_USERS}<br />{LOGGED_IN_USER_LIST}</span></td>
  </tr>
That FIND might only work in one of my 12 templates. I could alter the script to read the following so that it would have a far higher probability of working in all of my templates. EM will have no trouble finding my modification below even though I only supplied part of the second line from the original FIND:

Code: Select all

# 
#-----[ FIND ]------------------------------------------
#
  <tr> 
{TOTAL_USERS_ONLINE}
  </tr>
I can scan through just about any MOD script and find and make quick changes like this before I even try to run the file through EM. It only takes a matter of minutes to clean up the MOD script so that it runs on the first or second try. That also gives me the opportunity to find and read author's notes that may have to be performed manually...

EM really isn't lacking that much considering what you are asking it to do. Usually many users lack the knowledge of how to most effectively use it though and they give up on EM before they ever get the chance to see how much it can actually help them. EM creates both processed and backup folders. If a MOD really hoses your board, you can quickly restore the backup files and have your board back to normal in nothing flat...

EM also maintains a running History so that you will always know the order in which your MODs were installed. This can help if you ever have to roll back a whole series of modifications in order to find a strange problem. If you have a lot of MODs installed on your board, it is far better to use EM than to apply the changes manually. Without the History and the separate backup and processed folders, most admins would find it much more difficult to isolate any weird problems when they don't know which MOD might have caused it. Unless you are a php developer, you might be screwed and forced to start all over again. That wouldn't be such a problem on a lightly modified board...

:lol:

guylon
Registered User
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri May 24, 2002 6:47 am
Location: Batavia
Contact:

Post by guylon » Tue May 31, 2005 1:34 pm

NightriderXP wrote:
egypttpyge wrote:Image

So what are you showing us if this isn't the login to reauthenticate yourself as the admin of your board? It appears that you are getting it unless you are showing us the login from someone else's board. What does _Rhizky_ mean???


I think I've clearly written "How come one of my user's name "_Rhizky_" replace the "Username"?" ... unless you prefer to laugh at this. The normal login page is fine with "Username", only when I re-authenticate myself, it changes into, well, my user's name.

egypttpyge
Registered User
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 3:50 am

Post by egypttpyge » Wed Jun 01, 2005 5:21 am

NightriderXP wrote: EM also maintains a running History so that you will always know the order in which your MODs were installed. This can help if you ever have to roll back a whole series of modifications in order to find a strange problem. If you have a lot of MODs installed on your board, it is far better to use EM than to apply the changes manually. Without the History and the separate backup and processed folders, most admins would find it much more difficult to isolate any weird problems when they don't know which MOD might have caused it. Unless you are a php developer, you might be screwed and forced to start all over again. That wouldn't be such a problem on a lightly modified board...

:lol:



Thanks for a comrehensive reply. I appreciate your input and I took some of your advice and unforutnately for you I now have more questions to ask you :D but I will do that in a PM

Many Thanks

NightriderXP
Registered User
Posts: 1418
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2004 8:17 am
Location: Florida, US
Contact:

Post by NightriderXP » Wed Jun 01, 2005 6:12 am

egypttpyge wrote: Thanks for a comrehensive reply. I appreciate your input and I took some of your advice and unforutnately for you I now have more questions to ask you :D but I will do that in a PM

I am more than happy to help you if I can, egypttpyge. Feel free to contact me through PM...

:lol:

Gothic_frc
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2005 10:21 am
Location: Greece

Post by Gothic_frc » Sat Jun 04, 2005 10:33 am

I have a problem after the upadate from 2.0.14 to 2.0.15.
Actually the updated forum was working fine for about a month but the last few days i noticed that at the bottom of the index page which must say the version of the phpbb,now says :

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
trevorj :: theme by ~// TreVoR \\~

Also in the control panel says :

Powered by phpBB 2.0.15 © 2001 phpBB Group

Looks like it is working like 2.0.15,i must re-authenticate my self to go to the control panel,i didn't notice any problem but...these changes...why?

I must tell you that from the day i updated (and the update installed correctly) I DIDN'T CHANGE ANYTHING.
Nothing at all !

Can you help me please?


P.S. The link to my forum is:

http://mystica.gr/forum/index.php

agent00shoe
Registered User
Posts: 373
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:39 pm

Post by agent00shoe » Sat Jun 04, 2005 2:51 pm

Gothic_frc wrote: I have a problem after the upadate from 2.0.14 to 2.0.15.
Actually the updated forum was working fine for about a month but the last few days i noticed that at the bottom of the index page which must say the version of the phpbb,now says :

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
trevorj :: theme by ~// TreVoR \\~

Also in the control panel says :

Powered by phpBB 2.0.15 © 2001 phpBB Group

Looks like it is working like 2.0.15,i must re-authenticate my self to go to the control panel,i didn't notice any problem but...these changes...why?

I must tell you that from the day i updated (and the update installed correctly) I DIDN'T CHANGE ANYTHING.
Nothing at all !

Can you help me please?


P.S. The link to my forum is:

http://mystica.gr/forum/index.php


That's all normal. You probably just didn't notice it at first. I't supposed to be like that. :D

NightriderXP
Registered User
Posts: 1418
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2004 8:17 am
Location: Florida, US
Contact:

Post by NightriderXP » Sat Jun 04, 2005 5:40 pm

Although it is normal not to have the version number in the bottom anymore, Gothic_frc's board isn't quite right. It appears that (s)he forgot to add the version update from 2.0.11 → 2.0.12.

This is what happens in that version update:

Code: Select all

# 
#-----[ OPEN ]--------------------------------------------- 
# 
templates/subSilver/overall_footer.tpl

#
#-----[ FIND ]---------------------------------------------
# Line 8
#	Powered by phpBB {PHPBB_VERSION} line, with phpBB linked to www.phpbb.com. If you refuse
#	to include even this then support on our forums may be affected. 
#
#	The phpBB Group : 2002
#// -->
#Powered by <a href="http://www.phpbb.com/" target="_phpbb" class="copyright">phpBB</a> {PHPBB_VERSION} &copy; 2001, 2002 phpBB Group<br />{TRANSLATION_INFO}</span></div>
Powered by <a href="http://www.phpbb.com/" target="_phpbb" class="copyright">phpBB</a> {PHPBB_VERSION} &copy; 2001-2004 phpBB Group<br />Designed by <a href="http://www.trushkin.net" target="_blank" class="copyright">Vjacheslav Trushkin</a><br />{TRANSLATION_INFO}</span></div>

#
#-----[ REPLACE WITH ]---------------------------------------------
# 
#	Powered by phpBB line, with phpBB linked to www.phpbb.com. If you refuse
#	to include even this then support on our forums may be affected.
#
#	The phpBB Group : 2002
#// -->
Powered by <a href="http://www.phpbb.com/" target="_phpbb" class="copyright">phpBB</a> &copy; 2001, 2005 phpBB Group<br />{TRANSLATION_INFO}</span></div>

And the outcome would be that the footer would say:

Code: Select all

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Instead of:

Code: Select all

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
I would recommend that Gothic_frc go back and make sure (s)he updated with the previous version updates too...

:lol:

User avatar
TimJBart
Registered User
Posts: 279
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 8:24 pm

Post by TimJBart » Sat Jun 04, 2005 5:51 pm

just out of interest, how do I upgrade from 2.0.13? Same process?

Also, it won't delete over any of my MODs if I use Easymod?

NightriderXP
Registered User
Posts: 1418
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2004 8:17 am
Location: Florida, US
Contact:

Post by NightriderXP » Sat Jun 04, 2005 7:19 pm

TimJBart wrote: just out of interest, how do I upgrade from 2.0.13? Same process?

Yes. Go to phpBB Installation & Upgrade Tools, then download and install 2.0.13 → 2.0.14. Once done, you can install 2.0.14 → 2.0.15...
TimJBart wrote: Also, it won't delete over any of my MODs if I use Easymod?

EasyMod will not remove any of your installed MODs. EasyMod follows the Version Update script exactly the same as you would do it manually. EasyMod will apply the updates and MODs much faster and possibly more accurately than applying the version updates manually...

[beta] EasyMOD v0.1.13

:lol:

doot
Registered User
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 7:31 pm
Contact:

Post by doot » Sun Jun 05, 2005 6:24 pm

I'm getting problems with BBCode as a result of this update. Everything appeared to install properly with EZmod and I even went through afterwards and manually verified that all code had been added in the right places.

Basically, all BBCode links disappeared from my forum and image that were links also disappeared.

As a workaround, I have reinstated my backup copy of includes/bbcode.php but obviously I want to be using the latest version.

I have the BBcode and smilies enhancement mod installed which I am guessing is causing the problem. Does anyone know of any known issues or workarounds with this mod?

Any help much appreciated :)
Cheers
Ju

Gothic_frc
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2005 10:21 am
Location: Greece

Post by Gothic_frc » Sun Jun 05, 2005 9:44 pm

I honestly thank you very much :)

By the way...i am "he"
:)

NightriderXP
Registered User
Posts: 1418
Joined: Sat Oct 09, 2004 8:17 am
Location: Florida, US
Contact:

Post by NightriderXP » Sun Jun 05, 2005 10:11 pm

Gothic_frc, I'm happy that advice worked for you. I really hope that you downloaded and installed all the previous version updates rather than just applying the snippet of code that I provided above...

:lol:

4rum
Registered User
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 3:21 am

Log in on Portal page

Post by 4rum » Tue Jun 07, 2005 8:39 am

Portal login!!

If there is a portal installed on a board and it includes a log in module.
For example Smartors' ezPortal
Should this code change be applied to the loginPortal.php

Code: Select all

# 
#-----[ OPEN ]--------------------------------------------- 
# 
login.php

#
#-----[ FIND ]---------------------------------------------
# Line 55
	if( ( isset($HTTP_POST_VARS['login']) || isset($HTTP_GET_VARS['login']) ) && !$userdata['session_logged_in'] )

#
#-----[ REPLACE WITH ]---------------------------------------------
# 
	if( ( isset($HTTP_POST_VARS['login']) || isset($HTTP_GET_VARS['login']) ) && (!$userdata['session_logged_in'] || isset($HTTP_POST_VARS['admin'])) )

#
#-----[ FIND ]---------------------------------------------
# Line 80
					$session_id = session_begin($row['user_id'], $user_ip, PAGE_INDEX, FALSE, $autologin);

#
#-----[ REPLACE WITH ]---------------------------------------------
# 
					$admin = (isset($HTTP_POST_VARS['admin'])) ? 1 : 0;
					$session_id = session_begin($row['user_id'], $user_ip, PAGE_INDEX, FALSE, $autologin, $admin);

#
#-----[ FIND ]---------------------------------------------
# Line 162
	if( !$userdata['session_logged_in'] )

#
#-----[ REPLACE WITH ]---------------------------------------------
# 
	if( !$userdata['session_logged_in'] || (isset($HTTP_GET_VARS['admin']) && $userdata['session_logged_in'] && $userdata['user_level'] == ADMIN))

#
#-----[ FIND ]---------------------------------------------
# Line 211

		make_jumpbox('viewforum.'.$phpEx, $forum_id);
		$template->assign_vars(array(
			'USERNAME' => $username,

			'L_ENTER_PASSWORD' => $lang['Enter_password'],

#
#-----[ REPLACE WITH ]---------------------------------------------
# 
		$s_hidden_fields .= (isset($HTTP_GET_VARS['admin'])) ? '<input type="hidden" name="admin" value="1" />' : '';

		make_jumpbox('viewforum.'.$phpEx, $forum_id);
		$template->assign_vars(array(
			'USERNAME' => $username,

			'L_ENTER_PASSWORD' => (isset($HTTP_GET_VARS['admin'])) ? $lang['Admin_reauthenticate'] : $lang['Enter_password'],


User avatar
SBSJoey
Registered User
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 10:28 am

Post by SBSJoey » Thu Jun 09, 2005 5:44 pm

I'm sure someone has already posted this but there are SOOO many pages to read. Can you point me in the right direction of what to do if you cannot log back into the system following the upgrades?

Many thanks.

User avatar
SBSJoey
Registered User
Posts: 52
Joined: Tue May 06, 2003 10:28 am

Post by SBSJoey » Thu Jun 09, 2005 6:51 pm

I take it back... all sorted!

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Releases”