[2.0.17] Inline Banner Ad

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in here. No new MODs will be accepted into the MOD Database for phpBB2
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.

Rating:

Excellent!
86
60%
Very Good
26
18%
Good
18
13%
Fair
4
3%
Poor
9
6%
 
Total votes: 143

User avatar
dellsystem
Former Team Member
Posts: 3879
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 8:54 pm
Location: Montreal
Name: Wendy
Contact:

Re: [2.0.17] Inline Banner Ad

Post by dellsystem » Sun Mar 16, 2008 10:44 pm

toyouxwithlove wrote:Okay, so, I did everything necesarry, but there's a little problem.

Seeing how I don't use subSilver, I also did the steps to the style I use, except the .helpline step, because there isn't any in styles other than subSilver. I did the steps to subSilver, but like I said, the other style as well.

The ad shows up, but at the very bottom of the page, in the footer, there is a huge gap between two images that are supposed to be together. You can see it here:

http://kissintherain.x10hosting.com/for ... ic.php?t=3

Does anyone know what to do?
Your style looks pretty different from the standard subSilver one. I would suggest validating the CSS and HTML and seeing if there are any obvious errors that would help you figure out the problem (such as mismatched or unclosed tags, etc) that occurred when you edited the file. Good luck :)

TheJediSlayer those instructions are for subSilver, which keeps its css in overall_header.tpl. Since you're using XboxXtreme you can put the code in templates/XboxXrteme/XboxXrteme.css
Former moderator and website team member | My MODs, and more (GitHub)

hereiamlive
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 11:23 pm
Contact:

Re: [2.0.17] Inline Banner Ad

Post by hereiamlive » Tue Mar 18, 2008 5:06 am

I just installed this mod seems to work fine with a banner ad but when I try to put Google adsense in the ad code area the ad does not show up.
Not sure what the problem could be.
Please help!

forum url:
http://www.hereiamlive.com/forum/

toyouxwithlove
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 9:51 pm

Re: [2.0.17] Inline Banner Ad

Post by toyouxwithlove » Wed Mar 19, 2008 1:16 am

dellsystem wrote:
toyouxwithlove wrote:Okay, so, I did everything necesarry, but there's a little problem.

Seeing how I don't use subSilver, I also did the steps to the style I use, except the .helpline step, because there isn't any in styles other than subSilver. I did the steps to subSilver, but like I said, the other style as well.

The ad shows up, but at the very bottom of the page, in the footer, there is a huge gap between two images that are supposed to be together. You can see it here:

http://kissintherain.x10hosting.com/for ... ic.php?t=3

Does anyone know what to do?
Your style looks pretty different from the standard subSilver one. I would suggest validating the CSS and HTML and seeing if there are any obvious errors that would help you figure out the problem (such as mismatched or unclosed tags, etc) that occurred when you edited the file. Good luck :)

TheJediSlayer those instructions are for subSilver, which keeps its css in overall_header.tpl. Since you're using XboxXtreme you can put the code in templates/XboxXrteme/XboxXrteme.css
I'm sorry, I don't know how to do that at all. :[

User avatar
dellsystem
Former Team Member
Posts: 3879
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 8:54 pm
Location: Montreal
Name: Wendy
Contact:

Re: [2.0.17] Inline Banner Ad

Post by dellsystem » Thu Mar 20, 2008 12:34 am

Former moderator and website team member | My MODs, and more (GitHub)

mattbussey
Registered User
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 4:37 am
Contact:

Re: [2.0.17] Inline Banner Ad

Post by mattbussey » Sat Mar 22, 2008 3:07 pm

This is a great mod! Thanks a lot. What code could I put in the overall header to make the ads appear there?

Guyweb
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 10:20 pm

Re: [2.0.17] Inline Banner Ad

Post by Guyweb » Sat Mar 29, 2008 4:30 pm

I am not very experienced with forums as I am just getting started.

I was wondering if you may be able to tell me into which folder I should upload the MOD file.
Also, once uploaded, where should I place my ad script?

I could not find instructions attached.

Thank you

User avatar
dellsystem
Former Team Member
Posts: 3879
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 8:54 pm
Location: Montreal
Name: Wendy
Contact:

Re: [2.0.17] Inline Banner Ad

Post by dellsystem » Sat Mar 29, 2008 7:11 pm

Hi,

This article will tell you how to install a MOD: http://www.phpbb.com/kb/article/how-to-install-mods/ :)

There will be a new page in the ACP that you can use to put in your ad code.
Former moderator and website team member | My MODs, and more (GitHub)

Guyweb
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 10:20 pm

Re: [2.0.17] Inline Banner Ad

Post by Guyweb » Mon Mar 31, 2008 12:39 am

I spent a few hours trying to figure it out as I am not familiar with SQL.
I was able to follow all the directions. Looks ok

I did not complete the part for overall_header.php as I read on the forum that it was against Google's Adsense rules to place ads on header.

The Ad manager appeared ok in my ACP. I pasted my ad script and set my rules fine.
My forum works as before except for 2 new problems.

1. I cannot view my topics. I get a blank white screen
2. Since I cannot view my topics, I have no way of knowing whether the ads are appearing.

Could this be related to my omitting the overall_header.tpl section?
or is it something else?

User avatar
dellsystem
Former Team Member
Posts: 3879
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 8:54 pm
Location: Montreal
Name: Wendy
Contact:

Re: [2.0.17] Inline Banner Ad

Post by dellsystem » Mon Mar 31, 2008 1:22 am

Go over your edits, especially to viewtopic.php

You should do the edits to overall_header.tpl as instructed - it's not putting the ads there, it's just putting in the CSS to style the ads. If you're using a style other than subSilver than you'll have to put the edits into yourStyle.css instead.
Former moderator and website team member | My MODs, and more (GitHub)

langren82
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 11:23 am

Re: [2.0.17] Inline Banner Ad

Post by langren82 » Wed Apr 09, 2008 9:35 am

Hi,

I had tried to install Inline banner Ad with Easy Mod BUT i get this error

1 Warning(s) reported by the SQL Parser
Inconsistent display width specified "TINYINT(5)" in column "ad_id", statement: 1, table: "phpbb_inline_ads"

Proposed Database Alterations for your mysql Database

1 CREATE TABLE phpbb_inline_ads (
ad_id TINYINT(5) NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT,
ad_code TEXT NOT NULL,
ad_name CHAR(25) NOT NULL,
PRIMARY KEY (ad_id)
);

2 INSERT INTO phpbb_inline_ads(ad_id,ad_code,ad_name) VALUES('1','Your banner code goes here','Default');

3 INSERT INTO phpbb_config(config_name,config_value) VALUES('ad_after_post','1'),('ad_post_threshold',''),('ad_every_post',''),('ad_who','1'),('ad_no_forums',''),('ad_no_groups',''),('ad_old_style','1');

I am not sure what to do know and had aborted the installaion. Help pls?
Thanks in advance,
Paul

slobadog
Registered User
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2007 5:13 am

Re: [2.0.17] Inline Banner Ad

Post by slobadog » Thu Apr 17, 2008 5:07 am

Hi, any chance you could mod this most excellent mod to work in PHPBB 3?

Pretty please?

Thanks!

User avatar
dellsystem
Former Team Member
Posts: 3879
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 8:54 pm
Location: Montreal
Name: Wendy
Contact:

Re: [2.0.17] Inline Banner Ad

Post by dellsystem » Sat Apr 19, 2008 2:22 am

slobadog wrote:Hi, any chance you could mod this most excellent mod to work in PHPBB 3?

Pretty please?

Thanks!
Try this one http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 0&t=552813 :)
Former moderator and website team member | My MODs, and more (GitHub)

b.sasantos
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 11:19 am

Re:

Post by b.sasantos » Thu May 15, 2008 2:56 pm

Van Zant wrote:
jareeq wrote: HI!

my question is how to enable pseudo-random rotation of banners ??


jareeq


You just ad more than 1 ad in the Ad Management - Ad Code in the ACP

it'll rotate all of the codes.
Hi,
How can i do it on phpbb3 with ProSilver, where necessarily?
I don´t know.

Keezie
Registered User
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 11:39 am
Location: Columbus, OH
Contact:

Re: [2.0.17] Inline Banner Ad

Post by Keezie » Fri May 23, 2008 12:49 am

i searched and couldn't find the answer i was looking for

but this mod is working perfectly. i just have one problem. guests aren't seeing my ads! i'm not sure why, all the registered users see them, i enabled "show ads to everyone", and the post count option seems to be working fine. but when i'm logged out they just arent showing up. any ideas as to what may be happening here?

User avatar
Ultimos Homo Statans
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 7:15 pm
Contact:

Re: [2.0.17] Inline Banner Ad

Post by Ultimos Homo Statans » Fri May 30, 2008 7:24 pm

I can't read 86 pages. :D Can anyone tell me if I have the ability to select an username for the AdBot, an avatar and maybe a rank? :D

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Releases”