Page 81 of 84

Re: [2.0.17] Inline Banner Ad

Posted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 10:44 pm
by dellsystem
toyouxwithlove wrote:Okay, so, I did everything necesarry, but there's a little problem.

Seeing how I don't use subSilver, I also did the steps to the style I use, except the .helpline step, because there isn't any in styles other than subSilver. I did the steps to subSilver, but like I said, the other style as well.

The ad shows up, but at the very bottom of the page, in the footer, there is a huge gap between two images that are supposed to be together. You can see it here:

http://kissintherain.x10hosting.com/for ... ic.php?t=3

Does anyone know what to do?
Your style looks pretty different from the standard subSilver one. I would suggest validating the CSS and HTML and seeing if there are any obvious errors that would help you figure out the problem (such as mismatched or unclosed tags, etc) that occurred when you edited the file. Good luck :)

TheJediSlayer those instructions are for subSilver, which keeps its css in overall_header.tpl. Since you're using XboxXtreme you can put the code in templates/XboxXrteme/XboxXrteme.css

Re: [2.0.17] Inline Banner Ad

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2008 5:06 am
by hereiamlive
I just installed this mod seems to work fine with a banner ad but when I try to put Google adsense in the ad code area the ad does not show up.
Not sure what the problem could be.
Please help!

forum url:
http://www.hereiamlive.com/forum/

Re: [2.0.17] Inline Banner Ad

Posted: Wed Mar 19, 2008 1:16 am
by toyouxwithlove
dellsystem wrote:
toyouxwithlove wrote:Okay, so, I did everything necesarry, but there's a little problem.

Seeing how I don't use subSilver, I also did the steps to the style I use, except the .helpline step, because there isn't any in styles other than subSilver. I did the steps to subSilver, but like I said, the other style as well.

The ad shows up, but at the very bottom of the page, in the footer, there is a huge gap between two images that are supposed to be together. You can see it here:

http://kissintherain.x10hosting.com/for ... ic.php?t=3

Does anyone know what to do?
Your style looks pretty different from the standard subSilver one. I would suggest validating the CSS and HTML and seeing if there are any obvious errors that would help you figure out the problem (such as mismatched or unclosed tags, etc) that occurred when you edited the file. Good luck :)

TheJediSlayer those instructions are for subSilver, which keeps its css in overall_header.tpl. Since you're using XboxXtreme you can put the code in templates/XboxXrteme/XboxXrteme.css
I'm sorry, I don't know how to do that at all. :[

Re: [2.0.17] Inline Banner Ad

Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 12:34 am
by dellsystem

Re: [2.0.17] Inline Banner Ad

Posted: Sat Mar 22, 2008 3:07 pm
by mattbussey
This is a great mod! Thanks a lot. What code could I put in the overall header to make the ads appear there?

Re: [2.0.17] Inline Banner Ad

Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 4:30 pm
by Guyweb
I am not very experienced with forums as I am just getting started.

I was wondering if you may be able to tell me into which folder I should upload the MOD file.
Also, once uploaded, where should I place my ad script?

I could not find instructions attached.

Thank you

Re: [2.0.17] Inline Banner Ad

Posted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 7:11 pm
by dellsystem
Hi,

This article will tell you how to install a MOD: http://www.phpbb.com/kb/article/how-to-install-mods/ :)

There will be a new page in the ACP that you can use to put in your ad code.

Re: [2.0.17] Inline Banner Ad

Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 12:39 am
by Guyweb
I spent a few hours trying to figure it out as I am not familiar with SQL.
I was able to follow all the directions. Looks ok

I did not complete the part for overall_header.php as I read on the forum that it was against Google's Adsense rules to place ads on header.

The Ad manager appeared ok in my ACP. I pasted my ad script and set my rules fine.
My forum works as before except for 2 new problems.

1. I cannot view my topics. I get a blank white screen
2. Since I cannot view my topics, I have no way of knowing whether the ads are appearing.

Could this be related to my omitting the overall_header.tpl section?
or is it something else?

Re: [2.0.17] Inline Banner Ad

Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2008 1:22 am
by dellsystem
Go over your edits, especially to viewtopic.php

You should do the edits to overall_header.tpl as instructed - it's not putting the ads there, it's just putting in the CSS to style the ads. If you're using a style other than subSilver than you'll have to put the edits into yourStyle.css instead.

Re: [2.0.17] Inline Banner Ad

Posted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 9:35 am
by langren82
Hi,

I had tried to install Inline banner Ad with Easy Mod BUT i get this error

1 Warning(s) reported by the SQL Parser
Inconsistent display width specified "TINYINT(5)" in column "ad_id", statement: 1, table: "phpbb_inline_ads"

Proposed Database Alterations for your mysql Database

1 CREATE TABLE phpbb_inline_ads (
ad_id TINYINT(5) NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT,
ad_code TEXT NOT NULL,
ad_name CHAR(25) NOT NULL,
PRIMARY KEY (ad_id)
);

2 INSERT INTO phpbb_inline_ads(ad_id,ad_code,ad_name) VALUES('1','Your banner code goes here','Default');

3 INSERT INTO phpbb_config(config_name,config_value) VALUES('ad_after_post','1'),('ad_post_threshold',''),('ad_every_post',''),('ad_who','1'),('ad_no_forums',''),('ad_no_groups',''),('ad_old_style','1');

I am not sure what to do know and had aborted the installaion. Help pls?
Thanks in advance,
Paul

Re: [2.0.17] Inline Banner Ad

Posted: Thu Apr 17, 2008 5:07 am
by slobadog
Hi, any chance you could mod this most excellent mod to work in PHPBB 3?

Pretty please?

Thanks!

Re: [2.0.17] Inline Banner Ad

Posted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 2:22 am
by dellsystem
slobadog wrote:Hi, any chance you could mod this most excellent mod to work in PHPBB 3?

Pretty please?

Thanks!
Try this one http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 0&t=552813 :)

Re:

Posted: Thu May 15, 2008 2:56 pm
by b.sasantos
Van Zant wrote:
jareeq wrote: HI!

my question is how to enable pseudo-random rotation of banners ??


jareeq


You just ad more than 1 ad in the Ad Management - Ad Code in the ACP

it'll rotate all of the codes.
Hi,
How can i do it on phpbb3 with ProSilver, where necessarily?
I donĀ“t know.

Re: [2.0.17] Inline Banner Ad

Posted: Fri May 23, 2008 12:49 am
by Keezie
i searched and couldn't find the answer i was looking for

but this mod is working perfectly. i just have one problem. guests aren't seeing my ads! i'm not sure why, all the registered users see them, i enabled "show ads to everyone", and the post count option seems to be working fine. but when i'm logged out they just arent showing up. any ideas as to what may be happening here?

Re: [2.0.17] Inline Banner Ad

Posted: Fri May 30, 2008 7:24 pm
by Ultimos Homo Statans
I can't read 86 pages. :D Can anyone tell me if I have the ability to select an username for the AdBot, an avatar and maybe a rank? :D