Page 2 of 6

Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 9:27 am
by NightriderXP
Have you done any research to figure out how to launch Google Talk by clicking on the GTalk icon like we can do with AIM? With AIM, the command is aim:goim. What would it be for Google Talk???

I think clicking on an icon to launch the Google Talk program would be a lot better than just placing the text id in the Profile...

:?:

Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 1:51 pm
by ptlis
NightriderXP wrote: Have you done any research to figure out how to launch Google Talk by clicking on the GTalk icon [...]


I have, as GTalk uses the Jabber protocol my first assumption was that Google would implement the XMPP:// URI as some other Jabber clients do but for whatever reason they chose not to implement this (as they chose not to implement several other Jabber features). However, if this is fixed in future revisions of the GTalk client i'll support it.

ptlis

Posted: Wed Sep 21, 2005 9:57 pm
by NightriderXP
Jeez, I was hoping there would be an easy fix for this. It seems that the MSN option has the same problem. I will be watching and hoping that you find a good option for launching GTalk from the Profile and View Topic pages...

Thanks for the quick response, ptlis...

:lol:

Posted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 5:38 am
by sakura-pop
Thank you so mush....... :lol: :D
I like this Mod. :oops: :wink:

http://www.sakurasoushi.com/SakuraGumi

Posted: Fri Sep 30, 2005 12:42 am
by kvnband
OK, I've got this installed, but on viewtopic, the google talk button is not visible. I have made the changes in the viewtopic template, viewtopic.php, and the cfg file, yet the button isn't showing up when google talk is set in the profile. Can anyone help me out?

Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2005 3:35 am
by kvnband
bump :-/

Posted: Wed Jan 18, 2006 9:09 pm
by cmi
To anybody who uses this mod: Is it also useable for jabber-users? You see me a bit confused about the gtalk- and jabber-mod. gtalk is the newer one, but no idea if I can use it for jabber AND gtalk. :?

Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 4:39 am
by ptlis
cmi wrote: To anybody who uses this mod: Is it also useable for jabber-users? You see me a bit confused about the gtalk- and jabber-mod. gtalk is the newer one, but no idea if I can use it for jabber AND gtalk. :?


If you want Jabber support then I suggest you use my Jabber modification. If you want GTalk support then use this modification. If you want support for both Jabber and GTalk these modifications can be used concurrently on the same phpBB installation.

ptlis

Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 5:36 pm
by cmi
alright, thanks for your reply. found your jabber-mod but wasn't sure if the gtalk-mod is just an evolution of the jabber-mod.

Posted: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:55 pm
by ptlis
cmi wrote: alright, thanks for your reply. found your jabber-mod but wasn't sure if the gtalk-mod is just an evolution of the jabber-mod.


In a sense it is, my GTalk and Jabber MODs share a single codebase (as does, to a large extent, churchyard's Tlen MOD) with simply a regexp run to switch instances of jabber to gtalk within the source

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 12:43 am
by Peniwize
Ok, I installed this mod and the button shows fine. But in the profile view and during registration it doesn't list GOOGLE TALK or anything, it just has ":" in the space thus making users have no clue what to put there.

Any help?

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 12:49 am
by MHobbit
Peniwize wrote: Ok, I installed this mod and the button shows fine. But in the profile view and during registration it doesn't list GOOGLE TALK or anything, it just has ":" in the space thus making users have no clue what to put there.

Any help?


Most likely, you neglected to completely install the MOD; make sure you added the proper language entries (in most cases, lang_main.php, unless this MOD has its own lang_*.php file).

Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 1:09 am
by ptlis
As MennoniteHobbit has already explained, this is almost certainly due to this modification being incorrectly or incompletely installed, first thing to check is the lang_main.php file, after the language element for MSN there should be an element in the array for gtalk:

Code: Select all

$lang['GTALK'] = 'Google Talk';
The other thing to check would be that the instructions for changes to be made to the usercp_viewprofile.php file were followed to the letter. The specific part of the mod template that deals with this is as follows:

Code: Select all

#
#-----[ OPEN ]------------------------------------------------
#
includes/usercp_viewprofile.php
#
#-----[ FIND ]------------------------------------------------
#
$msn = $msn_img;
#
#-----[ AFTER, ADD ]------------------------------------------
#
$gtalk_img = ( $profiledata['user_gtalk'] ) ? $profiledata['user_gtalk'] : ' ';
$gtalk = $gtalk_img;
#
#-----[ FIND ]------------------------------------------------
#
'MSN' => $msn,
#
#-----[ AFTER, ADD ]------------------------------------------
#
'GTALK_IMG' => $gtalk_img,
'GTALK' => $gtalk,
#
#-----[ FIND ]------------------------------------------------
#
'L_MESSENGER' => $lang['MSNM'],
#
#-----[ AFTER, ADD ]------------------------------------------
#
'L_GTALK' => $lang['GTALK'],

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 11:03 am
by Lobo_UU
Critical Error

FIND FAILED: In file [includes/usercp_register.php] could not find:

$strip_var_list = array('username' => 'username', 'email' => 'email',

MOD script line #165 :: FAQ :: Report


Wow.. am I lost or what? Anyone else get this error message?

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 1:20 pm
by ptlis
Yeah, this problem appears to have been caused by a change in the core codebase of phpBB since .17:
phpBB 2.0.17 wrote:

Code: Select all

$strip_var_list = array('username' => 'username', 'email' => 'email', 'icq' => 'icq', 'aim' => 'aim', 'msn' => 'msn', 'yim' => 'yim', 'website' => 'website', 'location' => 'location', 'occupation' => 'occupation', 'interests' => 'interests');

phpBB 2.0.19 wrote:

Code: Select all

$strip_var_list = array('email' => 'email', 'icq' => 'icq', 'aim' => 'aim', 'msn' => 'msn', 'yim' => 'yim', 'website' => 'website', 'location' => 'location', 'occupation' => 'occupation', 'interests' => 'interests', 'confirm_code' => 'confirm_code');


To get the MOD to work with easyMOD, make the following changes to the mod file and run easyMOD again:

Find:

Code: Select all

$strip_var_list = array('username' => 'username', 'email' => 'email',
Replace with:

Code: Select all

$strip_var_list = array('email' => 'email'
I'll be releasing an updated version of the MOD in the next week or so, as soon as i've had a chance to fully test it against the 2.0.19 release so if you have any problems i'd appreciate them being reported here.

ptlis