[2.0.18] Configure Member Profile Required Fields

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in here. No new MODs will be accepted into the MOD Database for phpBB2
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
Post Reply

Rating:

Excellent!
7
50%
Very Good
1
7%
Good
3
21%
Fair
0
No votes
Poor
3
21%
 
Total votes: 14

Extensions Robot
Extensions Robot
Extensions Robot
Posts: 29220
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2003 7:36 am

[2.0.18] Configure Member Profile Required Fields

Post by Extensions Robot »

MOD Name: Configure Member Profile Required Fields
Author: ycl6
MOD Description: This mod allow admin to configure which information in member profile is required inside admin control panel. The required field will need to be filled in during registration and upon profile update.


MOD Version: 1.2.1

Download File: Configure_Required_Field_1.2.1.zip
mods overview page: View
File Size: 39968 Bytes

Security Score: 0

Support for this MOD needs to be asked within this topic. The phpBB Teams are not responsible or required to give anyone support for this MOD. By installing this MOD, the phpBB Support Team or phpBB MODifications Team may not be able to provide support.

This MOD has only been tested by the phpBB MOD Team with the phpBB version in the topic title. It may not work in any other versions of phpBB.
Last edited by Extensions Robot on Mon Apr 30, 2007 12:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
(this is a non-active account manager for the phpBB Extension Customisations Team)
ycl6
Registered User
Posts: 5696
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 10:35 am
Location: Taiwan
Contact:

Post by ycl6 »

MOD Validated/Released

Notes:
Admin can decide and set which fields (present in default phpBB) are required during registration and profile update inside admin control panel.
User avatar
darakhshan
Registered User
Posts: 1032
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2004 7:18 pm

Post by darakhshan »

offthe topic

I do not need a complicated mod

Can any body tell me how I can make only one field required
:lol:
tony44
Registered User
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 4:34 pm

Post by tony44 »

Edit nevermind. Had to clear the cache in my browser.

Nice job! 8)
niobium8
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 6:56 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by niobium8 »

I'm assuming that I edit the files in the templates folder I'm using for my forum and not subSilver. Right?

Also I would like a little help understanding;
#-----[ SQL ]------------------------------------------
#
# Remember to change the table prefix used on your database
CREATE TABLE phpbb_profile_config (
config_name VARCHAR(255) NOT NULL DEFAULT '',
config_value VARCHAR(255) NOT NULL DEFAULT '',
PRIMARY KEY (config_name)
);

INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('icq','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('website','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('location','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('signature','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('aim','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('yim','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('msnm','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('occupation','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('interests','0');
#
-----------------
in the install notes.

Image
I think I created the table ok and...
Image
1st insert went well, but...
Image
get an error inserting the 2nd value.

Any help would be appreciated.

--
Bri/nio/Zen
Brian C.
BestBuyApplanceParts.com (http://www.bestbuyapplianceparts.com) [/img]
ycl6
Registered User
Posts: 5696
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 10:35 am
Location: Taiwan
Contact:

Post by ycl6 »

Can you check if the phpbb_profile_config table has the additional 9 fields added?

~Mac
niobium8
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 6:56 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

how?

Post by niobium8 »

I didn't add the fields. Can you show me where I can add the 9 fields...

Image

or can I just copy and paste:

Code: Select all

CREATE TABLE phpbb_profile_config (
config_name VARCHAR(255) NOT NULL DEFAULT '',
config_value VARCHAR(255) NOT NULL DEFAULT '',
PRIMARY KEY (config_name)
);

INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('icq','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('website','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('location','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('signature','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('aim','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('yim','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('msnm','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('occupation','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('interests','0');
# 
this in when I'm creating the table?
ycl6
Registered User
Posts: 5696
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 10:35 am
Location: Taiwan
Contact:

Post by ycl6 »

Since the table has been created, you only need to execute these:

Code: Select all

INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('icq','0'); 
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('website','0'); 
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('location','0'); 
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('signature','0'); 
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('aim','0'); 
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('yim','0'); 
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('msnm','0'); 
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('occupation','0'); 
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('interests','0'); 
~Mac
niobium8
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 6:56 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

think I did it

Post by niobium8 »

OK... that parts done I think.
Image

PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:58 pm Post subject:
I'm assuming that I edit the files in the templates folder I'm using for my forum and not subSilver. Right?


I'm using a BlackandSilver style... I edit .php file in it?
niobium8
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 6:56 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

hmmm

Post by niobium8 »

getting an error... which isn't making much since. As you can see above i created the tables and the values are in place.

Image

back to the drawing board
ycl6
Registered User
Posts: 5696
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 10:35 am
Location: Taiwan
Contact:

Post by ycl6 »

since you aren't using the default phpbb database table prefix "phpbb_", you have to change your SQL query accordingly

Code: Select all

#
#-----[ SQL ]------------------------------------------ 
# 
# Remember to change the table prefix used on your database 
~Mac
niobium8
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 6:56 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

sry... not following

Post by niobium8 »

Can you explain a little more?

For example; You said I wasn't using the default phpbb database table prefix "phpbb_", so what am I using?

Is this the name I'm using?
Image

Is the name wasc.profile_config_table or I'm looking in the wrong place for the database table prefix?

If so does that mean I have to create:

Code: Select all

#-----[ SQL ]------------------------------------------ 
#
# Remember to change the table prefix used on your database
CREATE TABLE wasc.phpbb_profile_config (
    config_name VARCHAR(255) NOT NULL DEFAULT '',
    config_value VARCHAR(255) NOT NULL DEFAULT '',
    PRIMARY KEY (config_name)
);

INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('icq','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('website','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('location','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('signature','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('aim','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('yim','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('msnm','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('occupation','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('interests','0');
# 
insted of

Code: Select all

#-----[ SQL ]------------------------------------------ 
#
# Remember to change the table prefix used on your database
CREATE TABLE phpbb_profile_config (
    config_name VARCHAR(255) NOT NULL DEFAULT '',
    config_value VARCHAR(255) NOT NULL DEFAULT '',
    PRIMARY KEY (config_name)
);

INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('icq','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('website','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('location','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('signature','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('aim','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('yim','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('msnm','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('occupation','0');
INSERT INTO phpbb_profile_config VALUES('interests','0');
# 
ycl6
Registered User
Posts: 5696
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 10:35 am
Location: Taiwan
Contact:

Post by ycl6 »

If you forgot your setting, you can look at your config.php

Code: Select all

$table_prefix = 'phpbb_';
Also, have to perform all the necessary changes to the files described in the MOD install tutorial, e.g. includes/constants.php, and others.

~Mac
niobium8
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 6:56 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

hmmm

Post by niobium8 »

not sure if I follow...

looked at my config.php and is this it?

Code: Select all

$dbname = 'wasc';
if so how do I figure out the table prefix name of my database?

This is my second MOD install... any help would be appreciated.... like saying a little more so this nerd (me) can understand.
ycl6
Registered User
Posts: 5696
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 10:35 am
Location: Taiwan
Contact:

Post by ycl6 »

Hi niobium8, look at my codes more carefully, it is $table_prefix, not $dbname :wink:

~Mac
Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Releases”