[2.0.18] Simple Mod Resize Images

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in here. No new MODs will be accepted into the MOD Database for phpBB2
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.

Rating:

Excellent!
11
55%
Very Good
4
20%
Good
3
15%
Fair
0
No votes
Poor
2
10%
 
Total votes: 20

User avatar
Brf
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51890
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:47 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Contact:

Post by Brf » Wed Feb 21, 2007 12:34 am

No. With image resize, you cannot use an image with a URL.... That is because this mod uses the URL to point to the full size image, so it overrides the URL you are putting in there. In this case the "full size image" is the imageshack thumbnail.

User avatar
Brf
Support Team Member
Support Team Member
Posts: 51890
Joined: Tue May 10, 2005 7:47 pm
Location: {postrow.POSTER_FROM}
Contact:

Post by Brf » Wed Feb 21, 2007 12:43 am

Here is a diagram so you can understand better....

Imageshack does this:

Imageshack-Thumbnail ---URL to ---> Imageshack-picture.

This mod does:

shown-Thumbnail --- URL to ----> IMG picture.

So what you are doing, is putting the Imageshack-thumbnail to the above URL tag.... so what you end up with is:


shown-Thumbnail --- URL to -----> Imageshack-Thumbnail --- URL to ---> Imageshack-picture.

but you can only have one URL in a single tag, so the second one breaks.

loyal_and_true
Registered User
Posts: 251
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 6:46 pm

Post by loyal_and_true » Sun Feb 25, 2007 10:06 am

Ahh I understand now..

So i cant have thumbnails anymore on my board ?

Thanks

diabolic.bg
Registered User
Posts: 447
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: Bulgaria, Sofia
Contact:

Re: [2.0.18] Simple Mod Resize Images

Post by diabolic.bg » Fri Apr 06, 2007 2:13 pm

I have tested it.
Yes it is works with IE, Opera and Firefox, but it damage banners links

Code: Select all

[url=http://mysite.com][img]http://mybanner.jpg[/img][/url]
and also

Code: Select all

[url=http://mybanner.jpg][img]http://mybanner_small.jpg[/img][/url]
.
:( 8O

bLACKADDER2
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 7:00 pm

Re: [2.0.18] Simple Mod Resize Images

Post by bLACKADDER2 » Fri Apr 06, 2007 4:13 pm

This could be because http://mybanner.jpg isn't a valid image URL. I haven't got any problems with banner links.

EDIT: I see what you mean, didn't notice it before. It's quite annoying really...

diabolic.bg
Registered User
Posts: 447
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: Bulgaria, Sofia
Contact:

Re: [2.0.18] Simple Mod Resize Images

Post by diabolic.bg » Fri Apr 06, 2007 4:29 pm

bLACKADDER2 wrote: This could be because http://mybanner.jpg isn't a valid image URL. I haven't got any problems with banner links.


This is not real link - only symbolic. But in my user's signature after installing the mod

Code: Select all

[url=http://youtube.com/watch?v=XjSvHxw5jzE][img]https://camo.phpbb.com/5a27c757d0f6ca27b2fe2ef6b271be4ff1784562/687474703a2f2f6c6974746c65667269747a2e646174612e62672f313137303236353236395f315f3136305f302e6a7067[/img][/url]


doesn't work and it opens only small picture. Thats it:

Image

bLACKADDER2
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 7:00 pm

Re: [2.0.18] Simple Mod Resize Images

Post by bLACKADDER2 » Fri Apr 06, 2007 4:39 pm

See the edit of my last post. ;)

diabolic.bg
Registered User
Posts: 447
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: Bulgaria, Sofia
Contact:

Re: [2.0.18] Simple Mod Resize Images

Post by diabolic.bg » Fri Apr 06, 2007 7:41 pm

Please, test the code in any post on your board!

Code: Select all

[url=http://youtube.com/watch?v=XjSvHxw5jzE][img]http://littlefritz.data.bg/1170265269_1_160_0.jpg[/img][/url]
I want to know results.
Thanks!

bLACKADDER2
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 7:00 pm

Re: [2.0.18] Simple Mod Resize Images

Post by bLACKADDER2 » Sat Apr 07, 2007 9:58 am

As said, I've got the same problem. I think it's in the bbcode.tpl file, because every image now also gets an <a>-tag around it. This makes it impossible to link the image to an other location.

diabolic.bg
Registered User
Posts: 447
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: Bulgaria, Sofia
Contact:

Re: [2.0.18] Simple Mod Resize Images

Post by diabolic.bg » Sat Apr 07, 2007 1:50 pm

That is why I have saved Resize Posted Images Based on Max Width and just written: "If you use IE, you may have problems... The choice is yours!" ;)

jalaln
Registered User
Posts: 1076
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 5:05 am

Re: [2.0.18] Simple Mod Resize Images

Post by jalaln » Sat Apr 07, 2007 2:45 pm

I hate JavaScript :? I always surf with JavaScript disabled.

I wouldn't use this MOD anyways.
No more spambots for phpBB2 and phpBB3.

diabolic.bg
Registered User
Posts: 447
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: Bulgaria, Sofia
Contact:

Re: [2.0.18] Simple Mod Resize Images

Post by diabolic.bg » Sat Apr 07, 2007 2:52 pm

The choice is yours! But the error is yours too! :razz: The Java script is great!

User avatar
Soulfyr
Registered User
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 10:48 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: [2.0.18] Simple Mod Resize Images

Post by Soulfyr » Sat Apr 28, 2007 2:05 am

Did any one find out how to fix it so you don't have to hit reload to get the Pic to show up?


User avatar
Soulfyr
Registered User
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 10:48 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: [2.0.18] Simple Mod Resize Images

Post by Soulfyr » Sat Apr 28, 2007 3:05 pm

I just read some about that MOD and it seems to have more problems then this one dose. Like not working with IE... All so I'm not going to install another MOD just to find out I need to fix that one too I would rather just fix this one.

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Releases”