SQL Backup

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in here. No new MODs will be accepted into the MOD Database for phpBB2
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.

Rating:

Excellent!
42
76%
Very Good
5
9%
Good
2
4%
Fair
1
2%
Poor
5
9%
 
Total votes: 55

joemac
Registered User
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 12:53 am

Post by joemac »

I had the same problem as Jim_UK in that the last step with creating the zip file in that it did not complete. I removed the line as recommended to get the extra phpbb mod tables. I also left my computer on over night to complete the process with no luck.

My database is around 500 MB.

I tried version 0.2 without taking out the line on a different phpbb database and had no difficulities.

I would also like to get a look at version 4.

razzlevaley
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:18 am
Contact:

Post by razzlevaley »

Heya Vic.. Beautiful Mod .. I was finally able to take a full back-up thru the forums after a good 6 months..

.. but after taking a few back-ups it's now giving me the following error message...
Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 33554432 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 17334766 bytes) in /home/u4/spamcentral/html/phpbb/includes/functions_backup.php on line 66


can you help?
Image
Image
Image

Vic D'Elfant
Former Team Member
Posts: 6203
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: NL, Maastricht
Contact:

Post by Vic D'Elfant »

I knew that error would occur some day... hehe. Yeah I know what's going wrong, and I'll look into fixing it ASAP :)

Vic
midd.ag • DTP, web development & printing
http://www.midd.ag

joebanana
Registered User
Posts: 134
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 6:28 pm

Post by joebanana »

Still waiting for 1.0.4 to be validated... any way I can get it even though it's not been validated?

Vic D'Elfant
Former Team Member
Posts: 6203
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: NL, Maastricht
Contact:

Post by Vic D'Elfant »

I've asked the MOD team to remove 1.0.3 from the validation queue as I want to fix the problem razzlevaley reported first :)

Vic
midd.ag • DTP, web development & printing
http://www.midd.ag

User avatar
noth
Registered User
Posts: 2483
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:10 pm
Location: North Surrey
Contact:

Post by noth »

kfj wrote: I just installed and tested this mod.
Seemed to be working ok, but very slow. I can download my entire phpBB database from phpmyadmin in about 15 seconds.


15 seconds ? wow!

like kfj I have never had a problem backing up from phpmyadmin and I have never heard of ANYBODY who has had a problem backing up from phpmyadmin as there are 3 options to download including zip and gzip so just WHO would have a problem? :wink:

phpmyadmin has always given superb service on backup it is RESTORE which has ALWAYS caused the problems :?

Vic D'Elfant
Former Team Member
Posts: 6203
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: NL, Maastricht
Contact:

Post by Vic D'Elfant »

Try making a backup of a large database and you'll see what I mean. Those three options really don't matter - if the script exceeds the maximum execution time then Bam, say hello to a corrupted backup ;)

Anyway, back on-topic now.

Vic
midd.ag • DTP, web development & printing
http://www.midd.ag

da_badtz_one
Registered User
Posts: 376
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 8:25 pm

Post by da_badtz_one »

Minor thing:

Find

Code: Select all

define('IN_PHPBB', true);
And before add:

Code: Select all

ini_set('max_execution_time', '240');
ini_set('memory_limit', '64');
Might solve razzlevaleys problem. :)

taicomjp
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:38 pm

Post by taicomjp »

Message del..

destination_unknown
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 2:06 pm

additional prefixes

Post by destination_unknown »

ok, i think i have some time (while i make a backup of a 300mb database) to write here:
great mod, hope it will work...

...one suggestion:

would it be possible to have a configuration for additional table prefixes to include in the backup?
some known standards, like mxbb_ would be nice :D

razzlevaley
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:18 am
Contact:

Post by razzlevaley »

@da_badtz_one
Find

Code: Select all

define('IN_PHPBB', true);



And before add:

Code: Select all

ini_set('max_execution_time', '240'); 
ini_set('memory_limit', '64'); 


Which file do you mean for me to edit? :)

I'm still having the same error, whats the prognosis Vic?
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Handyman`
Former Team Member
Posts: 1751
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 8:44 pm
Contact:

Post by Handyman` »

Does this mod do restore directly from the server?

My db size is 27.77MB.
I've had no trouble making backups through phpmyadmin and they are never corupted, the only trouble I've had is I have to upload 28 files (1MB apiece) to restore the database.
http://startrekguide.com My Mod Queue || 1/16/10 Display Posts Anywhere 1.2.0 RC5, Cash MOD 1.0.0 b1, MOD Version Check, AJAX Chat, SEO MOD, AJAX QR, Photo Gallery
MOD Development Manager (version 0.2.0-dev with MODX Generator)

Vic D'Elfant
Former Team Member
Posts: 6203
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: NL, Maastricht
Contact:

Post by Vic D'Elfant »

razzlevaley wrote: I'm still having the same error, whats the prognosis Vic?

I'm afraid I won't be able to fix it... What PHP does is it loads the entire .sql file into the memory and then zips it. As far as I know, this can't be done in parts :(
GroovePlugs wrote: Does this mod do restore directly from the server?

The current version of the MOD is not yet able to restore a database, but this feature will certainly be added once I have that odd thing called "spare time" again :)

Vic
midd.ag • DTP, web development & printing
http://www.midd.ag

User avatar
Handyman`
Former Team Member
Posts: 1751
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 8:44 pm
Contact:

Post by Handyman` »

Vic D'Elfant wrote:
GroovePlugs wrote:Does this mod do restore directly from the server?

The current version of the MOD is not yet able to restore a database, but this feature will certainly be added once I have that odd thing called "spare time" again :)

Vic
I know what you mean (the odd thing called spare time that is). I look forward to that version :)
http://startrekguide.com My Mod Queue || 1/16/10 Display Posts Anywhere 1.2.0 RC5, Cash MOD 1.0.0 b1, MOD Version Check, AJAX Chat, SEO MOD, AJAX QR, Photo Gallery
MOD Development Manager (version 0.2.0-dev with MODX Generator)

razzlevaley
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2005 3:18 am
Contact:

Post by razzlevaley »

I'm afraid I won't be able to fix it... What PHP does is it loads the entire .sql file into the memory and then zips it. As far as I know, this can't be done in parts


:( So is this MOD not going to work for me?

Can you explain what my error is? Is my database to big?
Image
Image
Image

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Releases”