SQL Backup

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in here. No new MODs will be accepted into the MOD Database for phpBB2
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.

Rating:

Excellent!
42
76%
Very Good
5
9%
Good
2
4%
Fair
1
2%
Poor
5
9%
 
Total votes: 55

Vic D'Elfant
Former Team Member
Posts: 6203
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: NL, Maastricht
Contact:

Re: SQL Backup

Post by Vic D'Elfant »

Did you check the server's error log? As for the actual quitting.. does it stop (i.e. it doesn't move the progress bar any more) or does it throw up an error or blank page?
midd.ag • DTP, web development & printing
http://www.midd.ag

Coyote23
Registered User
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 8:55 pm
Location: Omaha, Nebraska

Re: SQL Backup

Post by Coyote23 »

It will start off ok - (400 k of 25 MB downloaded - even though it is 250 MB) but then just end - saying download completed but with only 1 - 2 MB downloaded - no error message.

Vic D'Elfant
Former Team Member
Posts: 6203
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: NL, Maastricht
Contact:

Re: SQL Backup

Post by Vic D'Elfant »

Ah wait, "download completed"? As in downloading the actual file from your website down to your computer? If that's the problem, you'll have to get your hosting provider to check whether connections are getting terminated. The script simply sends the data straight to the client, it's up to the server to get it delivered. Alternatively, you could download the backup through FTP, just head into /admin/backups and get the one you need.
midd.ag • DTP, web development & printing
http://www.midd.ag

Coyote23
Registered User
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 8:55 pm
Location: Omaha, Nebraska

Re: SQL Backup

Post by Coyote23 »

I found this error message - can you make anything out of it?
Error Message wrote:PHP Warning: mysql_error(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL-Link resource in /hermes/bosweb/web295/b2959/ipw.***/public_html/phpBB/db/mysql4.php on line 330
PHP Warning: mysql_error(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL-Link resource in /hermes/bosweb/web295/b2959/ipw.***/public_html/phpBB/db/mysql4.php on line 330
PHP Warning: mysql_errno(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL-Link resource in /hermes/bosweb/web295/b2959/ipw.***/public_html/phpBB/db/mysql4.php on line 331
PHP Warning: mysql_errno(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL-Link resource in /hermes/bosweb/web295/b2959/ipw.***/public_html/phpBB/db/mysql4.php on line 331

Vic D'Elfant
Former Team Member
Posts: 6203
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: NL, Maastricht
Contact:

Re: SQL Backup

Post by Vic D'Elfant »

Without a traceback, I'm afraid not, no. Where did you get these errors from? The error log or from the page itself?
midd.ag • DTP, web development & printing
http://www.midd.ag

Coyote23
Registered User
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 8:55 pm
Location: Omaha, Nebraska

Re: SQL Backup

Post by Coyote23 »

They came from the website's error log.

User avatar
ChriZathens
Registered User
Posts: 1477
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 9:11 pm
Location: Athens, Greece
Name: Chris

Re: SQL Backup

Post by ChriZathens »

Hi there, Vic!
I recently changed my server and when I begin the backup process, after a while I get this error:
Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 33554432 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 15794809 bytes) in /var/www/forum/includes/functions_compress.php on line 290
I had memory limit of 16M, I got this error, but after increasing it to 32, I still get the error ..
Any ideas?
Thanks..
My mods in MODDB:
Add Homepage link in header - Change user activity post limit - Post number in viewtopic
If you need support click on the support tab there and post your question.
Do not PM me - chances of viewing my PMs are way thinner than viewing the support question in the customization DB...

Vic D'Elfant
Former Team Member
Posts: 6203
Joined: Sun May 02, 2004 6:21 pm
Location: NL, Maastricht
Contact:

Re: SQL Backup

Post by Vic D'Elfant »

If I recall correctly, the only way around that is by choosing the "no compression" method. You will end up with a larger backup file but a large backup is better than no backup at all, I'd say :)
midd.ag • DTP, web development & printing
http://www.midd.ag

User avatar
ChriZathens
Registered User
Posts: 1477
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 9:11 pm
Location: Athens, Greece
Name: Chris

Re: SQL Backup

Post by ChriZathens »

Hi there, Vic and thanks for replying.. :D
I finally increased the memory_limit to 64M and it worked... :roll:
In the previous server I did not have this problem, though..
My mods in MODDB:
Add Homepage link in header - Change user activity post limit - Post number in viewtopic
If you need support click on the support tab there and post your question.
Do not PM me - chances of viewing my PMs are way thinner than viewing the support question in the customization DB...

User avatar
Mutos
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2002 8:12 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: SQL Backup

Post by Mutos »

Hi Vic d'Elfant, hi all,


Thanks Vic for this Mod, but unfortunately I just can't get it to work. I installed it using EM, I checked all the files, everything is here.

Now the problem : it displays the tables with the correct name, but when I press the "Create Backup" button, it just displays the progress bar and stays forever on it.

I checked under the /admin/backups folder, which is 777 allright. There is a _tasks.dat file that reads the following :

Code: Select all

<?php

$tasks = array();

$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_auth_access', 'offset' => 0);
$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_banlist', 'offset' => 0);
$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_categories', 'offset' => 0);
$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_config', 'offset' => 0);
$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_confirm', 'offset' => 0);
$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_disallow', 'offset' => 0);
$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_forum_prune', 'offset' => 0);
$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_forums', 'offset' => 0);
$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_groups', 'offset' => 0);
$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_posts', 'offset' => 0);
$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_posts_text', 'offset' => 0);
$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_privmsgs', 'offset' => 0);
$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_privmsgs_text', 'offset' => 0);
$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_ranks', 'offset' => 0);
$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_search_results', 'offset' => 0);
$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_search_wordlist', 'offset' => 0);
$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_search_wordmatch', 'offset' => 0);
$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_sessions', 'offset' => 0);
$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_sessions_keys', 'offset' => 0);
$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_smilies', 'offset' => 0);
$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_themes', 'offset' => 0);
$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_themes_name', 'offset' => 0);
$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_topics', 'offset' => 0);
$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_topics_watch', 'offset' => 0);
$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_user_group', 'offset' => 0);
$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_users', 'offset' => 0);
$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_vote_desc', 'offset' => 0);
$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_vote_results', 'offset' => 0);
$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_vote_voters', 'offset' => 0);
$tasks[] = array('table' => 'phpbb_test01_words', 'offset' => 0);

?>
I did try using FF, then IE and there is no difference...

I'm under phpBB 2.0.22 and I first installed your mod under version 1.0.11, then I searched for the problem and found that 1.0.12 existed, it installed OK, but to no avail.

Do you have any idea ? I've been browsing this topic but as it'll be long since I got it finished, I post this before... Thanks in advance !
Benoît 'Mutos' ROBIN
Hoshikaze 2250 Project
Science-Fiction Universe
http://hoshikaze.net

User avatar
~Cowboy~
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 8:35 am

Re: SQL Backup

Post by ~Cowboy~ »

Does this mod work with a multi-forums? What I am trying to do is give each user the ability to backup their boards independently of the main backup. So that they can move their board off the server if they choose to do so. I'm rather new at multi forums so any information on this subject would be useful to me.

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Releases”