Page 1 of 10

Fix For The Firefox "Remember Passwords" Problem

Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 9:00 pm
by Extensions Robot
MOD Name: Fix For The Firefox "Remember Passwords" Problem
Author: T0ny
MOD Description: Fix for firefox's Remember Passwords feature overwriting username and password on the 'User Administration' page

MOD Version: 1.2.2 (Updated 11/15/06)
Tested on phpBB Version: 2.0.21

Download File: fix_firefox_pwd_1.2.2.mod
mods overview page: View
File Size: 5404 Bytes



Support for this MOD needs to be asked within this topic. The phpBB Teams are not responsible or required to give anyone support for this MOD. By installing this MOD, the phpBB Support Team or phpBB MODifications Team may not be able to provide support.

This MOD has only been tested by the phpBB MOD Team with the phpBB version listed in the topic. It may not work in any other versions of phpBB.

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 11:41 pm
by webmacster87
MOD Validated/Released

Notes:
Some browsers will cause a problem with the User Admin panel in which the username/password of another user will be automatically changed by the web browser's password autocomplete. This MOD seeks to fix that error by changing instances of username to user_name.

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 11:52 pm
by onigumo
Oh my gods, thank you. :)

Posted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 3:14 am
by niksa
Are those in-line find & replaces for the admin_ug_auth.php and admin_users.php file?

Code: Select all

#
#-----[ FIND ]---------------------------------------------------
#

else if ( ( $mode == 'user' && ( isset($HTTP_POST_VARS['username'])

#
#-----[ REPLACE WITH ]---------------------------------------------------
#

else if ( ( $mode == 'user' && ( isset($HTTP_POST_VARS['user_name'])
For example, the line that would be replaced in that function in my version would be:

Code: Select all

else if ( ( $mode == 'user' && ( isset($HTTP_POST_VARS['username']) || $user_id ) ) || ( $mode == 'group' && $group_id ) )
:arrow: My question is... do you want us to replace username with user_name or should we replace the WHOLE line?

Posted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 3:17 am
by MHobbit
FINDs can be partial finds, so in this case, I believe the only thing you'd change is username to user_name. :-)

Posted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 3:22 am
by niksa
MennoniteHobbit wrote: FINDs can be partial finds, so in this case, I believe the only thing you'd change is username to user_name. :-)


Ok, that's what I did for both files. I usually do full line unless it says partial find in the comment or unless it is an in-line find & replace.

(This would be good to note for EM users.)

Oh and, the MOD is great. I have already several users wanting me to pass T0ny a big thanks. 8)

Posted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 4:11 am
by wGEric
When you do a FIND the next actions should be on the full line even if the FIND is only a partial. If this MOD isn't doing that, then we made a mistake.

Posted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 4:29 am
by niksa
Well I think it should be an in-line find in this example for sure:

Code: Select all

#
#-----[ FIND ]---------------------------------------------------
#

$s_hidden_fields .= '<input type="hidden" name="username"

#
#-----[ REPLACE WITH ]---------------------------------------------------
#

$s_hidden_fields .= '<input type="hidden" name="user_name"
Because the line it finds is:

Code: Select all

$s_hidden_fields .= '<input type="hidden" name="username" value="' . str_replace("\"", """, $username) . '" />';
So for example, Easymod would replace that whole line with just $s_hidden_fields .= '<input type="hidden" name="user_name" and it could be confusing for manual moders too. EM will definitely hang up on this.

There are a couple find & replaces like that.. Might be worth a quick second glance. 8) Thanks for the replies.. I'm glad I was doing the right thing. :)

Posted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 9:47 pm
by Sym0n
THANK YOU!!!

I have been dying for something to sort this problem out :D

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 1:07 am
by igorw
First: What about passwords? Does this mod fix them too.
Second: Is it compatible with this mod? If not, could you help me to make it compatible?

Thanks!

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 2:20 pm
by webmacster87
MOD Updated to version 1.0.2
See first post for Download Link

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 4:14 pm
by T0ny
Whoops, my bad. Guess that'll teach me to read the docs a bit better next time :oops:

Hopefully 1.0.2 should conform a bit better.
First: What about passwords? Does this mod fix them too.


Yes, it stops Firefox from automatically filling in both the username and the pasword field in the User Administration page.
Second: Is it compatible with this mod? If not, could you help me to make it compatible?


I don't think it will work with that MOD and I don't think there is anything I can change to make it work. The changes would have to be made to the other MOD to make it compatible with this one...I think


Thanks to all for problem reporting & patience with a newbie modder. (Hopfully the thing will work properly this time :) )

T0ny

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 4:39 pm
by igorw
Okay, i'll uninstall that mod then... :)

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 7:52 pm
by NightriderXP
Are you ever going to fix this problem? After this MOD is installed, the Management option can no longer find ANY members of the community...

Image

Image

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 8:13 pm
by igorw
NightriderXP wrote: Are you ever going to fix this problem? After this MOD is installed, the Management option can no longer find ANY members of the community...


It works for me. That error may be caused by other Admin user/user search mods installed...