Smartfeed

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in here. No new MODs will be accepted into the MOD Database for phpBB2
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.

Rating:

Excellent!
38
76%
Very Good
7
14%
Good
5
10%
Fair
0
No votes
Poor
0
No votes
 
Total votes: 50

User avatar
MarkDHamill
Registered User
Posts: 4104
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 12:36 am
Location: Florence, MA USA
Contact:

Re: [2.0.19] Smartfeed

Post by MarkDHamill »

It may be that you have a version of smartfeed_constants.php other than in your phpBB includes folder. Line 33 of smartfeed_constants.php is this code:

Code: Select all

define('SMARTFEED_SITE_URL', 'http://www.example.com/phpBB2/');
It needs to be changed to point to your site, as per smartfeed.mod instructions:

Code: Select all

## Please edit the $siteURL variable in /includes/smartfeed_constants.php with a text editor like Notepad. Simply 
## give it the full URL to your phpBB forums, leaving ON the / at the end. By default the script will try to create the URL,
## but for most people it will not work. Example:
##
##   define('SMARTFEED_SITE_URL', 'http://www.mysite.com/phpBB2/');
Get the latest versions of my Digests and Smartfeed extensions.
Need phpBB services or a phpBB consultant? I offer most phpBB services.

User avatar
bonelifer
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 3495
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 11:35 pm
Name: William
Contact:

Re: [2.0.19] Smartfeed

Post by bonelifer »

Just giving you a quick refresher on my problem.

It WORKS in IE 7. It doesn't in Firefox 2.0.

Code: Select all

//
// *** Important: you MUST change this value to match the URL to your forums. Make sure there is a trailing / at the end ***
//
define('SMARTFEED_SITE_URL', 'http://www.thechurchless.com/forumphp/');
Everything is setup correctly. I apologize if that came out rudely, but I mentioned all the before and it seems I'm just getting cookie cutter answers. Answers that assume I don't know how to follow directions.
Knowledge Base | phpBB Board Rules | Search Customisation Database
Image
Please don't contact me via PM or email for phpBB support .

User avatar
MarkDHamill
Registered User
Posts: 4104
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 12:36 am
Location: Florence, MA USA
Contact:

Re: [2.0.19] Smartfeed

Post by MarkDHamill »

Odd, for me today it works in both IE 7 and Firefox.

I am seeing odd stuff like this in the HTML source. I think others reported that lines with // <-- do not need the //. So editing smartfeed_url_body.tpl to remove these instances might solve the problem.
Get the latest versions of my Digests and Smartfeed extensions.
Need phpBB services or a phpBB consultant? I offer most phpBB services.

User avatar
bonelifer
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 3495
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 11:35 pm
Name: William
Contact:

Re: [2.0.19] Smartfeed

Post by bonelifer »

Thanks. The // in the smartfeed_url_body.tpl file were what was causing it not to work in Firefox.
Knowledge Base | phpBB Board Rules | Search Customisation Database
Image
Please don't contact me via PM or email for phpBB support .

stephen_a
Registered User
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 12:52 pm

Re: [2.0.19] Smartfeed

Post by stephen_a »

Anyone else getting warnings in their php error logs:

[28-Mar-2007 21:24:16] PHP Warning: Division by zero in /webstuff/smartfeed.php on line 1154


Line 1154 seems to be :

Code: Select all

               $keychar = substr($key, ($i % strlen($key))-1, 1);

User avatar
MarkDHamill
Registered User
Posts: 4104
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 12:36 am
Location: Florence, MA USA
Contact:

Re: [2.0.19] Smartfeed

Post by MarkDHamill »

stephen_a wrote: Anyone else getting warnings in their php error logs:

[28-Mar-2007 21:24:16] PHP Warning: Division by zero in /webstuff/smartfeed.php on line 1154


Line 1154 seems to be :

Code: Select all

               $keychar = substr($key, ($i % strlen($key))-1, 1);


I haven't seen this before, $key is the $dbpasswd variable in config.php. If for some reason this value were only one character in length, it might trigger this error.
Get the latest versions of my Digests and Smartfeed extensions.
Need phpBB services or a phpBB consultant? I offer most phpBB services.

KaiserGimmel
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [2.0.19] Smartfeed

Post by KaiserGimmel »

Hi,

I have the same problem like 10 Versions before - i can generate a url when im not logged in, but it do not work if i am.

It doesnt work neither in IE7 nor in FF2. Smartfeed is installed on phpbb2+ based on phpBB 2.0.21.

Are there any hints for me?

thx 4 help
K.
=> First i didnt know what love was - then i bought my first PC <=

stephen_a
Registered User
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 12:52 pm

Re: [2.0.19] Smartfeed

Post by stephen_a »

KaiserGimmel wrote: Hi,

I have the same problem like 10 Versions before - i can generate a url when im not logged in, but it do not work if i am.

It doesnt work neither in IE7 nor in FF2. Smartfeed is installed on phpbb2+ based on phpBB 2.0.21.

Are there any hints for me?

thx 4 help
K.


I had that

http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... =#p2870926

User avatar
MarkDHamill
Registered User
Posts: 4104
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 12:36 am
Location: Florence, MA USA
Contact:

Re: [2.0.19] Smartfeed

Post by MarkDHamill »

I don't understand why that occurs, but the solution is now well documented. It doesn't seem to affect everyone.

If I create a new version for phpBB 2.x I will change the template accordingly.
Get the latest versions of my Digests and Smartfeed extensions.
Need phpBB services or a phpBB consultant? I offer most phpBB services.

KaiserGimmel
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [2.0.19] Smartfeed

Post by KaiserGimmel »

Wow! - i read the answer but i didnt got that this is the solution for my problem.
One short Question: Which file is that? I scanned all files but i dont find this code...

Thx again!
K.
=> First i didnt know what love was - then i bought my first PC <=

User avatar
MarkDHamill
Registered User
Posts: 4104
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 12:36 am
Location: Florence, MA USA
Contact:

Re: [2.0.19] Smartfeed

Post by MarkDHamill »

I think it is smartfeed_url_body.tpl.

Look for lines like that work with template tags:

//<!--

and replace it with

<!--
Get the latest versions of my Digests and Smartfeed extensions.
Need phpBB services or a phpBB consultant? I offer most phpBB services.

User avatar
bonelifer
Community Team Member
Community Team Member
Posts: 3495
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2004 11:35 pm
Name: William
Contact:

Re: [2.0.19] Smartfeed

Post by bonelifer »

Mark the reason that occurs is that "//" is a PHP comment, and <?-- is X(HTML) comment(template). You can't use PHP comments in templates.
Knowledge Base | phpBB Board Rules | Search Customisation Database
Image
Please don't contact me via PM or email for phpBB support .

User avatar
MarkDHamill
Registered User
Posts: 4104
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 12:36 am
Location: Florence, MA USA
Contact:

Re: [2.0.19] Smartfeed

Post by MarkDHamill »

I know that now. At the time I thought it would show in the source code when rendered, so I wanted to hide it from Javascript.
Get the latest versions of my Digests and Smartfeed extensions.
Need phpBB services or a phpBB consultant? I offer most phpBB services.

KaiserGimmel
Registered User
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 5:11 pm
Contact:

Re: [2.0.19] Smartfeed

Post by KaiserGimmel »

thx a lot - it works fine now!
=> First i didnt know what love was - then i bought my first PC <=

soi558
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2006 1:45 pm

Re: [2.0.19] Smartfeed

Post by soi558 »

Hiya,

Been using smartfeed, it's very cool. I'm using it to supply a feed for my forums and embed that feed in the front page of my website. All's working fine so far, but I've slimmed the feed that appears on the front page down to just the ten most recent topic titles (which is what I want), only trouble is using the sort-by option in smart feed (I'm using sort by post date/time) they come out with the most recent at the bottom and the oldest one I want at the top. Is there a way to reverse this?

I've tried searching the thread but haven't seen this come up so far.

Any help would be appreciated.

Cheers

Mike

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Releases”