Smartfeed

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in here. No new MODs will be accepted into the MOD Database for phpBB2
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.

Rating:

Excellent!
38
76%
Very Good
7
14%
Good
5
10%
Fair
0
No votes
Poor
0
No votes
 
Total votes: 50

User avatar
MarkDHamill
Registered User
Posts: 4075
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 12:36 am
Location: Florence, MA USA
Contact:

Post by MarkDHamill »

I'll try to look at this tomorrow.
Get the latest versions of my Digests and Smartfeed extensions.
Need phpBB services or a phpBB consultant? I offer most phpBB services.

EwaldB
Registered User
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 2:50 pm

Post by EwaldB »

That will be verry nice of you. Thank you.
Whitout any changes I get new errors:

http://line6forum.com/phpBB2/smartfeed. ... y=standard

www.line6forum.com/phpBB2/files/mysql4.php.zip
Warning: mysql_free_result(): 84 is not a valid MySQL result resource in /pages/d4/ba/d0004850/home/htdocs/line6forum/phpBB2/db/mysql4.php on line 318

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /pages/d4/ba/d0004850/home/htdocs/line6forum/phpBB2/db/mysql4.php:318) in /pages/d4/ba/d0004850/home/htdocs/line6forum/phpBB2/smartfeed.php on line 655

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /pages/d4/ba/d0004850/home/htdocs/line6forum/phpBB2/db/mysql4.php:318) in /pages/d4/ba/d0004850/home/htdocs/line6forum/phpBB2/smartfeed.php on line 656

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /pages/d4/ba/d0004850/home/htdocs/line6forum/phpBB2/db/mysql4.php:318) in /pages/d4/ba/d0004850/home/htdocs/line6forum/phpBB2/smartfeed.php on line 577

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /pages/d4/ba/d0004850/home/htdocs/line6forum/phpBB2/db/mysql4.php:318) in /pages/d4/ba/d0004850/home/htdocs/line6forum/phpBB2/includes/feedcreator.class.php on line 420 ......
Regards,
EwaldB

Image

stephen_a
Registered User
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 12:52 pm

Post by stephen_a »

MarkDHamill wrote: Unless you edited smartfeed_url_body.tpl or are using some some odd phpBB theme which mangles HTML and Javascript in overall_header.tpl or overall_footer.tpl, it should be there. It starts on line 80 of smartfeed_url_body.tpl.


I found it.

Code: Select all

					if (logged_in)
			{
				url = url + "u={USER_ID}";
				// <!-- BEGIN switch_required_ip_authentication -->
				url = url + "&p={PWD_WITH_IP}";
				// <!-- END switch_required_ip_authentication -->
				// <!-- BEGIN switch_no_required_ip_authentication -->
				if (document.news.ip_auth[0].checked == true)
				{
					url = url + "&p={PWD_WITH_IP}";
				}
				else
				{
					url = url + "&p={PWD}";
				}
				// <!-- END switch_no_required_ip_authentication -->
				if (document.news.remove_yours[0].checked == true)
				{
					url = url + "&removemine=1";
				}
			}
so what happens is that you end up with

Code: Select all

if (logged_in)
			{
				url = url + "u=2";
				// 				// 				if (document.news.ip_auth[0].checked == true)
				{
					url = url + "&p=y9SkyafGqaTK3JuppZvYx6WslamdqKWa2Z3Y1ZnZx6XylqicoaSTppOk";
				}
				else
				{
					url = url + "&p=y9SkyafGqaTK3JuppZvYx6WslamdqKWa2Z3Y1ZnZx6U=";
				}
				// 				if (document.news.remove_yours[0].checked == true)
				{
					url = url + "&removemine=1";
				}
			}
Which of course is not executed unless you are logged in which is why it only goes wrong when you are logged in. What gave the game away was the Mozilla Error console complaining about that ELSE in the middle of the script

User avatar
MarkDHamill
Registered User
Posts: 4075
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 12:36 am
Location: Florence, MA USA
Contact:

Post by MarkDHamill »

EwaldB wrote: That will be verry nice of you. Thank you.
Whitout any changes I get new errors:

http://line6forum.com/phpBB2/smartfeed. ... y=standard

www.line6forum.com/phpBB2/files/mysql4.php.zip
Warning: mysql_free_result(): 84 is not a valid MySQL result resource in /pages/d4/ba/d0004850/home/htdocs/line6forum/phpBB2/db/mysql4.php on line 318

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /pages/d4/ba/d0004850/home/htdocs/line6forum/phpBB2/db/mysql4.php:318) in /pages/d4/ba/d0004850/home/htdocs/line6forum/phpBB2/smartfeed.php on line 655

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /pages/d4/ba/d0004850/home/htdocs/line6forum/phpBB2/db/mysql4.php:318) in /pages/d4/ba/d0004850/home/htdocs/line6forum/phpBB2/smartfeed.php on line 656

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /pages/d4/ba/d0004850/home/htdocs/line6forum/phpBB2/db/mysql4.php:318) in /pages/d4/ba/d0004850/home/htdocs/line6forum/phpBB2/smartfeed.php on line 577

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /pages/d4/ba/d0004850/home/htdocs/line6forum/phpBB2/db/mysql4.php:318) in /pages/d4/ba/d0004850/home/htdocs/line6forum/phpBB2/includes/feedcreator.class.php on line 420 ......


Sorry, I have been very busy and have not had time to look into this in any detail. Others have complained about the free_results line. You can try commenting these lines out in smartfeed.php and smartfeed_url.php and see if that solves the problem. They are really unnecessary since it will happen automatically.

I think this problem is related to using phpBB libraries with MySQL 5.0 databases.
Get the latest versions of my Digests and Smartfeed extensions.
Need phpBB services or a phpBB consultant? I offer most phpBB services.

User avatar
MarkDHamill
Registered User
Posts: 4075
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 12:36 am
Location: Florence, MA USA
Contact:

Post by MarkDHamill »

stephen_a wrote:
MarkDHamill wrote:Unless you edited smartfeed_url_body.tpl or are using some some odd phpBB theme which mangles HTML and Javascript in overall_header.tpl or overall_footer.tpl, it should be there. It starts on line 80 of smartfeed_url_body.tpl.


I found it.

Code: Select all

					if (logged_in)
			{
				url = url + "u={USER_ID}";
				// <!-- BEGIN switch_required_ip_authentication -->
				url = url + "&p={PWD_WITH_IP}";
				// <!-- END switch_required_ip_authentication -->
				// <!-- BEGIN switch_no_required_ip_authentication -->
				if (document.news.ip_auth[0].checked == true)
				{
					url = url + "&p={PWD_WITH_IP}";
				}
				else
				{
					url = url + "&p={PWD}";
				}
				// <!-- END switch_no_required_ip_authentication -->
				if (document.news.remove_yours[0].checked == true)
				{
					url = url + "&removemine=1";
				}
			}
so what happens is that you end up with

Code: Select all

if (logged_in)
			{
				url = url + "u=2";
				// 				// 				if (document.news.ip_auth[0].checked == true)
				{
					url = url + "&p=y9SkyafGqaTK3JuppZvYx6WslamdqKWa2Z3Y1ZnZx6XylqicoaSTppOk";
				}
				else
				{
					url = url + "&p=y9SkyafGqaTK3JuppZvYx6WslamdqKWa2Z3Y1ZnZx6U=";
				}
				// 				if (document.news.remove_yours[0].checked == true)
				{
					url = url + "&removemine=1";
				}
			}
Which of course is not executed unless you are logged in which is why it only goes wrong when you are logged in. What gave the game away was the Mozilla Error console complaining about that ELSE in the middle of the script


I am a little puzzled why this is happening. The only thing I can figure is that CR or CR/LF translations in smartfeed_url_body.tpl getting mangled by the template library. I don't believe it happens for me.

Need to investigate further some time when I have sufficient time.
Get the latest versions of my Digests and Smartfeed extensions.
Need phpBB services or a phpBB consultant? I offer most phpBB services.

YAHOOFANCLUB
Registered User
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by YAHOOFANCLUB »

Well I am getting Mysql4.php error.
Warning: mysql_free_result(): 23 is not a valid MySQL result resource in /home/josh/public_html/db/mysql4.php on line 318

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/josh/public_html/db/mysql4.php:318) in /home/josh/public_html/smartfeed.php on line 655

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/josh/public_html/db/mysql4.php:318) in /home/josh/public_html/smartfeed.php on line 656

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/josh/public_html/db/mysql4.php:318) in /home/josh/public_html/smartfeed.php on line 577

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/josh/public_html/db/mysql4.php:318) in /home/josh/public_html/includes/feedcreator.class.php on line 420
The Premier Discussion Forum for Yahoo! users http://www.Yahoofanclub.com/smartfeed.p ... rd&forum=4 2006-10-06T12:55:00+00:00 SmartFeed phpBB Modification (mhamill@computer.org) 2006-10-06T00:38:24+00:00 2006-10-06T00:38:24+00:00 http://www.Yahoofanclub.com/viewtopic.php?p=2357#2357 bizzare <em>bizzare</em> wrote at <em>05 Oct 2006 08:38 PM GMT</em>: </span><table width="90%" cellspacing="1" cellpadding="3" border="0" align="center"><tr> <td><span class="genmed"><b>Magun wrote:</b></span></td> </tr> <tr> <td class="quote">Hello bizzare, <br /> I think the things suggested Mike are ok. Still I would like you to introduce yourself. With a couple of things like <br /> <br /> </span><table width="90%" cellspacing="1" cellpadding="3" border="0" align="center"><tr> <td><span class="genmed"><b>Quote:</b></span></td> </tr> <tr> <td class="quote">How did you find Y! FanClub? <br /> Do you have a website? <br /> What are your hobbies? <br /> Where else can others find you?</td> </tr></table><span class="postbody"> <br /> <br /> I think that will solve out the eagerness of everyone in here.</td> </tr></table><span class="postbody"> <br /> <br /> Thanks Magun. That's done <img src="images/smiles/icon_smile.gif" alt="Smile" border="0" /> <br /> <br /> <a href="http://www.yahoofanclub.com/viewtopic.php?p=2356#2356" target="_blank" class="postlink">http://www.yahoofanclub.com/viewtopic.p ... 56#2356</a> <br /> <br /> Once I got home, I'll try your suggestions. <br /> Thanks guys. Have a nice day. <img src="images/smiles/icon_smile.gif" alt="Smile" border="0" /> 2006-10-06T06:49:48+00:00 2006-10-06T06:49:48+00:00 http://www.Yahoofanclub.com/viewtopic.php?p=2358#2358 Amy_Young <em>Amy_Young</em> wrote at <em>06 Oct 2006 02:49 AM GMT</em>: that's good. I'll welcome you.. lolz <img src="images/smiles/icon_lol.gif" alt="Laughing" border="0" /> 2006-10-06T11:08:32+00:00 2006-10-06T11:08:32+00:00 http://www.Yahoofanclub.com/viewtopic.php?p=2365#2365 bizzare <em>bizzare</em> wrote at <em>06 Oct 2006 07:08 AM GMT</em>: <img src="images/smiles/icon_lol.gif" alt="Laughing" border="0" /> Thanks <img src="images/smiles/icon_smile.gif" alt="Smile" border="0" />


this feed you see of
http://www.Yahoofanclub.com/smartfeed.p ... rd&forum=4

forum=4 is Yahoo Messenger forum

I installed this Mod so that I can get separate RSS feed for each forum.

One thing I dont like about this MOD is that it displays ever this in last first order. I mean I want the latest post as the first one in the FEED as that of FeedBurner like http://feeds.feedburner.com/Yahoofanclubcom

I am not getting it worked.

Is there any Solution to this or is there any mod available which creates separate FEED for every forum.

Please help me.

YAHOOFANCLUB
Registered User
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by YAHOOFANCLUB »

Alright Problem Solved.

I comment all those dbsql lines in both the Smartfeed.php and smartfeed_url.php

comment of the lines containing
$db->sql_freeresult ($result);
to
//$db->sql_freeresult ($result);

Some personal changes I want:

but I am getting this thing
http://www.yahoofanclub.com/smartfeed.p ... rd&forum=4

<url>http://www.Yahoofanclub.com/templates/s ... B.gif</url>
<title>The Premier Discussion Forum for Yahoo! users Logo</title>


the first line contains link to subsilver/images/logo_phpbb.gif
I dont have anything in there. I mean I have no image in there. how can I change it to some logo.


Also can I use this FEED as:
<link rel="stylesheet" href="templates/illusion/illusion.css" type="text/css">
<LINK REL="alternate" TITLE="Yahoofanclub RSS" HREF="http://www.yahoofanclub.com/rss.php" TYPE="application/rss+xml">

I mean can I use it to define RSS Feed for different forums in the index.php so users can just open my site in Firefox and click on the feed icon in the status bar and select the FEED They want to subscribe to.

Please tell answer me.

EwaldB
Registered User
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 2:50 pm

Post by EwaldB »

MarkDHamill wrote: Sorry, I have been very busy and have not had time to look into this in any detail. Others have complained about the free_results line. You can try commenting these lines out in smartfeed.php and smartfeed_url.php and see if that solves the problem. They are really unnecessary since it will happen automatically.

I think this problem is related to using phpBB libraries with MySQL 5.0 databases.


No problem! Thank you for your support and sorry for my horrible english, please.
I've figured out. that I was using version 1.0.4 of smartfeed. I've changed to 1.0.5 and eliminated the free_results lines. It seems to works fine for Firefox, Opera anda few newsreaders.

What I don't understand is, why do I get a crippeled site under my favorite AvantBrowser. No Threads-List, no scrolling bars (please, pay attention to the images) and a correct listed site when I do a test with the same options at http://www.potomactavern.org/smartfeed_url.php?

Any suggestions? Thank you.

POTOMAC TAVERN
Image

Line6Forum
Image
Regards,
EwaldB

Image

EwaldB
Registered User
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 2:50 pm

Re: Javascript error

Post by EwaldB »

stephen_a wrote: I get an error when I try to use smartfeed when I'm logged in. When I'm not logged in the button generates a URL with no problems. If I'm logged in then Firefox reports : createURL is not defined.


Same problem here. IÄm sorry but I don't understand what you (marc) porpose to change. Is it possible to explai it in a simplier way? Thank you
Regards,
EwaldB

Image

User avatar
MarkDHamill
Registered User
Posts: 4075
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 12:36 am
Location: Florence, MA USA
Contact:

Post by MarkDHamill »

YAHOOFANCLUB wrote: Some personal changes I want:

but I am getting this thing
http://www.yahoofanclub.com/smartfeed.p ... rd&forum=4
<url>http://www.Yahoofanclub.com/templates/s ... B.gif</url>
<title>The Premier Discussion Forum for Yahoo! users Logo</title>


the first line contains link to subsilver/images/logo_phpbb.gif
I dont have anything in there. I mean I have no image in there. how can I change it to some logo.

Also can I use this FEED as:
<link rel="stylesheet" href="templates/illusion/illusion.css" type="text/css">
<LINK REL="alternate" TITLE="Yahoofanclub RSS" HREF="http://www.yahoofanclub.com/rss.php" TYPE="application/rss+xml">

I mean can I use it to define RSS Feed for different forums in the index.php so users can just open my site in Firefox and click on the feed icon in the status bar and select the FEED They want to subscribe to.

Please tell answer me.


In answer to the first question, you simply need to go into /includes/smartfeed_constants.php and change this line.

Code: Select all

define('SMARTFEED_FEED_IMAGE_PATH', 'templates/subSilver/images/logo_phpBB.gif'); // The phpBB icon (or the image you substituted for it) is used by default for the newsfeed's image.
On the second question, there are "standard" ways of putting meta data tags in your HTML to point to a feed source. I don't talk about this, but the typical way is to edit overall_headers.tpl and add a line like this below the title tag:

Code: Select all

<link rel="alternate" type="application/rss+xml" title="RSS" href="<Public Smartfeed URL>" />
I'll make a note to include this as a best practice in the documentation in future releases.
Get the latest versions of my Digests and Smartfeed extensions.
Need phpBB services or a phpBB consultant? I offer most phpBB services.

User avatar
MarkDHamill
Registered User
Posts: 4075
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 12:36 am
Location: Florence, MA USA
Contact:

Post by MarkDHamill »

EwaldB wrote: What I don't understand is, why do I get a crippeled site under my favorite AvantBrowser. No Threads-List, no scrolling bars (please, pay attention to the images) and a correct listed site when I do a test with the same options at http://www.potomactavern.org/smartfeed_url.php?

Any suggestions? Thank you.

POTOMAC TAVERN
Image

Line6Forum
Image


First of all, this URL is not valid as is:

Code: Select all

http://www.potomactavern.org/smartfeed_url.php?
You invoke smartfeed_url.php to create a URL, which calls smartfeed.php with the necessary parameters. An attempt to get a feed by having your newsreader call smartfeed_url.php won't work, since it will return HTML, not RSS or Atom feed content.

The first image looks fine. The second image is presumably the problem. I have two ideas: the post itself contains characters that cannot be translated into valid XML, thus causing it not to parse. The second thought is that since this feed is serving what appears to be German as opposed to English, it may be necessary to change the default language of the feed, by changing this line in includes/smartfeed_constants.php:

Code: Select all

define('SMARTFEED_RFC1766_LANG', 'en-US'); // Language of feed content. Use only values at http://www.w3.org/TR/REC-html40/struct/dirlang.html#langcodes
Get the latest versions of my Digests and Smartfeed extensions.
Need phpBB services or a phpBB consultant? I offer most phpBB services.

User avatar
MarkDHamill
Registered User
Posts: 4075
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 12:36 am
Location: Florence, MA USA
Contact:

Post by MarkDHamill »

stephen_a wrote:
MarkDHamill wrote:Unless you edited smartfeed_url_body.tpl or are using some some odd phpBB theme which mangles HTML and Javascript in overall_header.tpl or overall_footer.tpl, it should be there. It starts on line 80 of smartfeed_url_body.tpl.


I found it.

Code: Select all

					if (logged_in)
			{
				url = url + "u={USER_ID}";
				// <!-- BEGIN switch_required_ip_authentication -->
				url = url + "&p={PWD_WITH_IP}";
				// <!-- END switch_required_ip_authentication -->
				// <!-- BEGIN switch_no_required_ip_authentication -->
				if (document.news.ip_auth[0].checked == true)
				{
					url = url + "&p={PWD_WITH_IP}";
				}
				else
				{
					url = url + "&p={PWD}";
				}
				// <!-- END switch_no_required_ip_authentication -->
				if (document.news.remove_yours[0].checked == true)
				{
					url = url + "&removemine=1";
				}
			}
so what happens is that you end up with

Code: Select all

if (logged_in)
			{
				url = url + "u=2";
				// 				// 				if (document.news.ip_auth[0].checked == true)
				{
					url = url + "&p=y9SkyafGqaTK3JuppZvYx6WslamdqKWa2Z3Y1ZnZx6XylqicoaSTppOk";
				}
				else
				{
					url = url + "&p=y9SkyafGqaTK3JuppZvYx6WslamdqKWa2Z3Y1ZnZx6U=";
				}
				// 				if (document.news.remove_yours[0].checked == true)
				{
					url = url + "&removemine=1";
				}
			}
Which of course is not executed unless you are logged in which is why it only goes wrong when you are logged in. What gave the game away was the Mozilla Error console complaining about that ELSE in the middle of the script


What changes did you apply to smartfeed_url_body.tpl to make this condition go away?
Get the latest versions of my Digests and Smartfeed extensions.
Need phpBB services or a phpBB consultant? I offer most phpBB services.

EwaldB
Registered User
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 2:50 pm

Post by EwaldB »

MarkDHamill wrote: First of all, this URL is not valid as is:

Code: Select all

http://www.potomactavern.org/smartfeed_url.php?
You invoke smartfeed_url.php to create a URL, which calls smartfeed.php with the necessary parameters. An attempt to get a feed by having your newsreader call smartfeed_url.php won't work, since it will return HTML, not RSS or Atom feed content.


Yes, that's clear. what I mean is: I've generated URLs in both forums with the same options, getting different results displayed.
MarkDHamill wrote: The first image looks fine. The second image is presumably the problem. I have two ideas: the post itself contains characters that cannot be translated into valid XML, thus causing it not to parse.


http://line6forum.com/phpBB2/viewtopic. ... 8744#68744
I don't see any strange characters, but I don't know really much about php and php problems.
MarkDHamill wrote: The second thought is that since this feed is serving what appears to be German as opposed to English, it may be necessary to change the default language of the feed, by changing this line in includes/smartfeed_constants.php:

Code: Select all

define('SMARTFEED_RFC1766_LANG', 'en-US'); // Language of feed content. Use only values at http://www.w3.org/TR/REC-html40/struct/dirlang.html#langcodes


Changed to de-DE. Sorry, did not help at all

That's not so important. My actual problem is, that when I'm loged in smatfeed do not generate any links. Any suggestions for solving this problem?
Regards,
EwaldB

Image

YAHOOFANCLUB
Registered User
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 11:43 am
Contact:

Post by YAHOOFANCLUB »

Thanx for the answer. I know to add RSS links in overall_header.tpl in the template. Just a little more question.

I want to add RSS button inside each forum with a link to the RSS FEED of that forum. Do you know any MOD like that.

User avatar
MarkDHamill
Registered User
Posts: 4075
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2002 12:36 am
Location: Florence, MA USA
Contact:

Post by MarkDHamill »

EwaldB wrote: That's not so important. My actual problem is, that when I'm loged in smatfeed do not generate any links. Any suggestions for solving this problem?


I tried to create an account on your site, but I am stymied by the German. Can you send me a private message with an ID and password that I can use to test? Most likely it is a Javascript error of some sort. There may be Javascript in your template in overall_header.tpl or something that is causing a conflict. Of course it was written to integrate with the subSilver theme.
Get the latest versions of my Digests and Smartfeed extensions.
Need phpBB services or a phpBB consultant? I offer most phpBB services.

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Releases”