[2.0.21] Disable User Posting Privileges

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in here. No new MODs will be accepted into the MOD Database for phpBB2
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.

Rating:

Excellent!
5
83%
Very Good
0
No votes
Good
0
No votes
Fair
0
No votes
Poor
1
17%
 
Total votes: 6

User avatar
RATT
Registered User
Posts: 734
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 6:27 am

Re: Okay

Post by RATT »

NappilyEvahAftah wrote: I figured out how to "comment out". I just removed the line in Notepad and saved the file and uploaded it all my MODS. Well, EasyMod doesn't detect it, cuz it's showing that it's already there.

So, I can't "reinstall" it cuz it's there, which I was trying to get rid of it, so I could reinstall, but it's not working. Sigh.... :(


if its showin that its ready to be installed by em, then it does detect it, if its showing in the history of being done then you have installed the mod.
User avatar
NappilyEvahAftah
Registered User
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:24 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

Now, I'm really messed up

Post by NappilyEvahAftah »

You told me to change the name of the file, did you remove that post?
Well, I did, and now I still get the error and the MOD shows up twice. NOw there's (2) spots for "User can post".

I'm done, cuz if I keep on going, I won't be able log on my board again.
Throckmorton
Registered User
Posts: 364
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 7:07 pm
Location: Naperville, IL

Post by Throckmorton »

When you said earlier that the mod is "technically no longer there" how, exactly did you remove it? Did you just delete the folder from the admin/mods directory or did you do more?
-Lance

Come visit The Illuminati-R-Us Forums for all your debunking needs.

I was touched by His Noodly Appendage
User avatar
NappilyEvahAftah
Registered User
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:24 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

MOD

Post by NappilyEvahAftah »

See, I didn't know the MOD actually installed, cuz there was a problem with EasyMOD.

It's all over now. I reinstalled my forum (it's new, with no members yet, cuz I haven't officially launched it) and I installed my invite MOD and my report posts MOD. I'm not trying to install anything else.

My webmaster can do it. I want this MOD, though.
User avatar
NappilyEvahAftah
Registered User
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:24 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

I Installed It! But...

Post by NappilyEvahAftah »

Image

How do I get rid of that extra area? What is the "yes no" for?
Throckmorton
Registered User
Posts: 364
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 7:07 pm
Location: Naperville, IL

Post by Throckmorton »

That should be where the "User is active" line is. This mod installs right after it. That option is in a default phpBB installation. If you don't have it, there is something wrong.
-Lance

Come visit The Illuminati-R-Us Forums for all your debunking needs.

I was touched by His Noodly Appendage
User avatar
NappilyEvahAftah
Registered User
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 1:24 am
Location: Michigan
Contact:

What's Wrong?

Post by NappilyEvahAftah »

Can somebody please help me figure out why the radio buttons are there, but the text is missing? :cry:
Throckmorton
Registered User
Posts: 364
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 7:07 pm
Location: Naperville, IL

Re: What's Wrong?

Post by Throckmorton »

NappilyEvahAftah wrote: Can somebody please help me figure out why the radio buttons are there, but the text is missing? :cry:

Yes, but you need to ask in the support area. Your problem doesn't appear to have anything to do with this mod. If the problem began only after you installed the mod, then just recheck your edits. Or revert to your backups and install the mod again, giving extra care to the tpl file edits.
-Lance

Come visit The Illuminati-R-Us Forums for all your debunking needs.

I was touched by His Noodly Appendage
A Human
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 6:41 am

The default setting seems to be no post

Post by A Human »

The default setting seems to be no post meaning that the administrator has to go to each members record to gove them the ability to post.

Is there a way that allows for the default that they can post until they do something wrong so to speak.

Peace

A Human
Throckmorton
Registered User
Posts: 364
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 7:07 pm
Location: Naperville, IL

Post by Throckmorton »

Code: Select all

ALTER TABLE phpbb_users ADD user_allowpost TINYINT(1) DEFAULT '1' NOT NULL ;
The default is to allow posting.
-Lance

Come visit The Illuminati-R-Us Forums for all your debunking needs.

I was touched by His Noodly Appendage
A Human
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 6:41 am

Default being not posting

Post by A Human »

Feel rather silly now.

Tah for the logical heads up.

Peace

A Human
Throckmorton
Registered User
Posts: 364
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 7:07 pm
Location: Naperville, IL

Post by Throckmorton »

No problem. It happens to the best of us. ;)
-Lance

Come visit The Illuminati-R-Us Forums for all your debunking needs.

I was touched by His Noodly Appendage
Aztec Summer
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 5:59 pm
Contact:

Post by Aztec Summer »

[2.0.21] Disable User Posting Privileges

am very interested in this particular mod, but, before trying it out, would like to know if it has been tested on older versions of phpbb (17,18, 19), or is it only for 2.0.21?

Thanks in advance.
Throckmorton
Registered User
Posts: 364
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 7:07 pm
Location: Naperville, IL

Post by Throckmorton »

If I recall correctly, I originally wrote it in 2.0.17. Regardless, it should work fine in older versions.
-Lance

Come visit The Illuminati-R-Us Forums for all your debunking needs.

I was touched by His Noodly Appendage
n00bstorm
Registered User
Posts: 481
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 7:52 pm

Post by n00bstorm »

Indeed a nice mod =D
Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Releases”