[Tool] phpBB 2.0.20 to phpBB 2.0.21 Changes

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in here. No new MODs will be accepted into the MOD Database for phpBB2
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.

Rating:

Excellent!
9
53%
Very Good
2
12%
Good
5
29%
Fair
0
No votes
Poor
1
6%
 
Total votes: 17

en_shua
Registered User
Posts: 119
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 1:39 am

Post by en_shua »

WarriorPrincess wrote: ok... this may seem like a dumb question...

but the post states....
Please ensure you read the INSTALL and README documents in docs/ before proceeding with installation or updates!.


I have downloaded the code changes as I have a heavily modded board... but all I have is the update to latest.php and the phpbb 20 - 21.txt

where are the instructions for what I need to do??

The file "phpbb 20 - 21.txt" is the instruction file. Read it and do what it says. Be sure to read all the commented out parts.

odkrywca
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 2:19 pm
Contact:

Post by odkrywca »

When i do all changes as MOD says, and trying to run install/update_to_latest.php:
Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_STRING in /home/www/******/includes/functions.php on line 476


Line 476 from functions.php is bolded:
// $sql = "SELECT *
// FROM " . THEMES_TABLE . "
// WHERE themes_id = $style";
$sql = 'SELECT *
FROM ' . THEMES_TABLE . '
WHERE themes_id = ' . (int) $style;
if ( !($result = $db->sql_query($sql)) )
{
message_die(CRITICAL_ERROR, 'Could not query database for theme info');
}

if ( !($row = $db->sql_fetchrow($result)) )
{
// We are trying to setup a style which does not exist in the database
// Try to fallback to the board default (if the user had a custom style)
// and then any users using this style to the default if it succeeds
if ( $style != $board_config['default_style'])
{
$sql = 'SELECT *
FROM ' . THEMES_TABLE . '
// WHERE themes_id = ' . $board_config['default_style'];
WHERE themes_id = ' . (int) $board_config['default_style'];
if ( !($result = $db->sql_query($sql)) )
{
message_die(CRITICAL_ERROR, 'Could not query database for theme info');
}

if ( $row = $db->sql_fetchrow($result) )
{
$db->sql_freeresult($result);

$sql = 'UPDATE ' . USERS_TABLE . '
// SET user_style = ' . $board_config['default_style'] . "
SET user_style = ' . (int) $board_config['default_style'] . "


I changed this line as MOD says... What`s wrong?

moodgard
Registered User
Posts: 316
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 8:05 pm

Post by moodgard »

You should replace that line instead of commenting it out because you are within quotes.
odkrywca wrote: $sql = 'SELECT *
FROM ' . THEMES_TABLE . '
// WHERE themes_id = ' . $board_config['default_style']; <-- Get rid of this comment
WHERE themes_id = ' . (int) $board_config['default_style'];
if ( !($result = $db->sql_query($sql)) )
{
message_die(CRITICAL_ERROR, 'Could not query database for theme info');
}

if ( $row = $db->sql_fetchrow($result) )
{
$db->sql_freeresult($result);

$sql = 'UPDATE ' . USERS_TABLE . '
// SET user_style = ' . $board_config['default_style'] . " <--- Also, remove this one
SET user_style = ' . (int) $board_config['default_style'] . "

odkrywca
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 2:19 pm
Contact:

Post by odkrywca »

Thanks! It works :)

User avatar
masterpade411
Registered User
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 1:14 am
Contact:

Post by masterpade411 »

thanks this one worked for me. I had to do the upgrade_to_latest.php mysql updates on my own tho as that file spit out an "no input file specified" error.

asinshesq
Registered User
Posts: 6266
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 9:34 pm
Location: NYC
Name: Alan

Post by asinshesq »

masterpade411 wrote: thanks this one worked for me. I had to do the upgrade_to_latest.php mysql updates on my own tho as that file spit out an "no input file specified" error.


I could be wrong, but I'm guessing you put the upgrade_to_latest.php file in the wrong place. You need to leave it under the install directory, which itself should appear under the phpbb root directory...if you try to copy the upgrade_to_latest.php file directly to the root phpbb directory and run it from there (or try any other permuation of placements) you may get that error.

ABXGuy
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 3:02 pm

Post by ABXGuy »

I installed the 2.0.21 changes using EasyMod, all went well.

But.. I'm having a problem with Quoted posts now. When quoting another user it adds a "\" in front of each " around the user name that is being quoted...

[quote=\"Team Owl\"]Quotes are not working.[/quote]

If the user name is removed, the quote function works properly.

Suggestions?

asinshesq
Registered User
Posts: 6266
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 9:34 pm
Location: NYC
Name: Alan

Post by asinshesq »

ABXGuy wrote: I installed the 2.0.21 changes using EasyMod, all went well.

But.. I'm having a problem with Quoted posts now. When quoting another user it adds a "\" in front of each " around the user name that is being quoted...
\"Team Owl\" wrote:Quotes are not working.


Open up includes/functions.post.php and check the part that looks like this:

Code: Select all

	if ($html_on)
	{
		// If HTML is on, we try to make it safe
		// This approach is quite agressive and anything that does not look like a valid tag
		// is going to get converted to HTML entities
		$message = stripslashes($message);
		$html_match = '#<[^\w<]*(\w+)((?:"[^"]*"|\'[^\']*\'|[^<>\'"])+)?>#';
		$matches = array();

		$message_split = preg_split($html_match, $message);
		preg_match_all($html_match, $message, $matches);

		$message = '';

		foreach ($message_split as $part)
		{
			$tag = array(array_shift($matches[0]), array_shift($matches[1]), array_shift($matches[2]));
			$message .= preg_replace($html_entities_match, $html_entities_replace, $part) . clean_html($tag);
		}

		$message = addslashes($message);
		$message = str_replace('"', '\"', $message);
	}
If you incorrectly repeated the line at the end that reads:

Code: Select all

		$message = str_replace('"', '\"', $message);
then that's your problem. That line should only appear once. Doubling up that line happened to a lot of people upgrading to 2.0.21 because they had already fixed an error in 2.0.20 by adding that line and then the upgrade from 2.0.20 to 2.0.21 also adds that line (since it thinks it is working on a clean unchanged 2.0.20 file that doesn't have that line). So the problem is not in the upgrade script (which does exactly what it is supposed to do to a clean 2.0.20 installation)...the problem is that it had no wasy of knowing you had already corrected that error so it did it again.

(And if that's not the problem, tell us whether you have html turned on on your board.)

User avatar
masterpade411
Registered User
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 1:14 am
Contact:

Post by masterpade411 »

asinshesq wrote:
masterpade411 wrote:thanks this one worked for me. I had to do the upgrade_to_latest.php mysql updates on my own tho as that file spit out an "no input file specified" error.


I could be wrong, but I'm guessing you put the upgrade_to_latest.php file in the wrong place. You need to leave it under the install directory, which itself should appear under the phpbb root directory...if you try to copy the upgrade_to_latest.php file directly to the root phpbb directory and run it from there (or try any other permuation of placements) you may get that error.


that is what I did and I still got the error. No worries though because I did the mysql by hand.

ABXGuy
Registered User
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 3:02 pm

Post by ABXGuy »

asinshesq wrote: If you incorrectly repeated the line at the end that reads:

Code: Select all

		$message = str_replace('"', '\"', $message);
then that's your problem. That line should only appear once.


Thank you kindly... I had fixed that once and forgot I did. I removed one line and all is well in the world now.

Thanks again!

Ray

joebagodonuts
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2005 3:21 am
Location: At my computer
Contact:

Post by joebagodonuts »

fixed, please delete this reply

ruler
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 292
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2005 1:51 am

Post by ruler »

hi, i have a question about this MOD.
I have installed this MOD successfully with no problems at all but, when i access the ACP it still says this:

The latest available version is phpBB 2.0.21. You are running phpBB 2.0.19.

Ive already upgraded from 2.0.19 to 2.0.20 and again to 2.0.21 and its still telling me its out of date? any idea's anyone? thanks

asinshesq
Registered User
Posts: 6266
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 9:34 pm
Location: NYC
Name: Alan

Post by asinshesq »

ruler wrote: hi, i have a question about this MOD.
I have installed this MOD successfully with no problems at all but, when i access the ACP it still says this:

The latest available version is phpBB 2.0.21. You are running phpBB 2.0.19.

Ive already upgraded from 2.0.19 to 2.0.20 and again to 2.0.21 and its still telling me its out of date? any idea's anyone? thanks


ok, once again with feeling ;) :

- copy the install folder from the 2.0.21 mod to your phpbb2 directory

- go with your browser to [your regular address for your forum]/install/update_to_latest.php

- your browser should tell you the update was successful; once that happens, delete that install folder.

ruler
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 292
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2005 1:51 am

Post by ruler »

ok thanks for that. i have already deleted the MOD folder in phpbb/admin/mods and i havent used the install yet. hope i havent goofed this up :lol: thanks again

ruler
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 292
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2005 1:51 am

Post by ruler »

hey it worked :lol: thanks, now i am happy :)

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Releases”