Another News Mod

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in here. No new MODs will be accepted into the MOD Database for phpBB2
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.

Rating:

Excellent!
11
55%
Very Good
1
5%
Good
3
15%
Fair
1
5%
Poor
4
20%
 
Total votes: 20

Defyeler
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 8:57 am

Post by Defyeler » Wed Jan 03, 2007 9:01 am

batTUrd wrote: Is it possible to have this mod use my existing CSS on my website and not the forum template?

Also, I want to use this with a PHP Include rather than an iFrame. How easily could this be done?

(Go Belgium :))


Yup, I have it using my new site I'm working on.

It uses the site's CSS template instead of PHPBB's.

Also if you notice, its not in a frame, its a PHP include.

You need to MOD the root path, remove the header / footer includes in the announcement.php file. Change the target paths in the news_body.tpl so the thing doesn't open in a new page via " target='_blank' ".

I may post a tutorial on my hack of this mod later after I finish the site.

http://www.sunsoffreedom.com/news/ <-- where the my mod of this mod is.

User avatar
Janmarques
Registered User
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 3:30 pm
Location: Antwerp - Belgium
Contact:

Post by Janmarques » Fri Jan 05, 2007 10:11 am

That's similar how I do it, yes!

hatake
Registered User
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 8:08 am
Location: Ontario
Contact:

Post by hatake » Fri Jan 05, 2007 2:08 pm

Hi, how do i edit this section? what should I do about this message?
'Do it yourself' instructions need to be executed by you manually, EasyMOD can not perform these actions
Now you can add http://linktoforum/announcements.php into a frame on you website.
Use for this <iframe src="http://linktoforum/announcements.php" width="70%" height="100%"></iframe>


Also, how exactely do I get the news onto my main page? do I have to add a php extension? anyhelp will be appreciated. :)

Here are the links to my main site and the forum.
http://www.animegears.ej.am

http://www.animegears.ej.am/forum/phpBB2/index.php
Software is like sex, It's better when its Free.

User avatar
Janmarques
Registered User
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 3:30 pm
Location: Antwerp - Belgium
Contact:

Post by Janmarques » Fri Jan 05, 2007 2:36 pm

If your website is in php, I'd advise you using

Code: Select all

<? include("http://www.animegears.ej.am/forum/phpBB2/announcements.php"); ?>
Otherwise, insert the iFrame to your website.

Good luck,

Drazek
Registered User
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2004 4:56 pm
Contact:

Post by Drazek » Thu Jan 18, 2007 10:13 am

hello,

i've got this script working perfectly with my site ;D

i was wondering however if there was a way to add poll results information to the script?
i want to beable to post a poll as a news, and show up the poll results in that news section on the website page.

anyone have and ideas how i could go about implementing that?

Cheers.

User avatar
Janmarques
Registered User
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 3:30 pm
Location: Antwerp - Belgium
Contact:

Post by Janmarques » Sat Jan 20, 2007 10:26 am

I don't, sorry :?

User avatar
Asenar Lunin
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 4:13 pm
Location: Caen, Paris, Marseille(France)
Contact:

Post by Asenar Lunin » Sat Jan 27, 2007 4:22 pm

Is there a way to use this mods with phpnuke ?

silent1643
Registered User
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 1:38 pm

Post by silent1643 » Mon Jan 29, 2007 4:27 pm

how can i add this page to my site, just as if it were part of the forum still.. i.e. like the help page .. header and footer are still shown etc..
thanks

silent1643
Registered User
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 1:38 pm

Post by silent1643 » Tue Jan 30, 2007 2:09 pm

anybody?
thanks

User avatar
Janmarques
Registered User
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 3:30 pm
Location: Antwerp - Belgium
Contact:

Post by Janmarques » Wed Jan 31, 2007 12:42 pm

Asenar Lunin wrote: Is there a way to use this mods with phpnuke ?

I think that won't work, sry :(

User avatar
Janmarques
Registered User
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 3:30 pm
Location: Antwerp - Belgium
Contact:

Post by Janmarques » Wed Jan 31, 2007 12:43 pm

silent1643 wrote: how can i add this page to my site, just as if it were part of the forum still.. i.e. like the help page .. header and footer are still shown etc..

Create new page and add is as an iframe is the easiest way :)

silent1643
Registered User
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2006 1:38 pm

Post by silent1643 » Wed Jan 31, 2007 12:46 pm

yeah i eventually figured it out using the object code... i had to change some things around such as the "read more" link to go to the actual post instead of the article by itself. Now how do i make it where instead of the frame/object being scrollable, it just makes the page longer depending on the data. And how do i change the color of the text, its pulling the wrong color from the css i presume
thanks

User avatar
Janmarques
Registered User
Posts: 148
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 3:30 pm
Location: Antwerp - Belgium
Contact:

Post by Janmarques » Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:48 pm

Pure HTML!

tomas3333
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 3:35 pm

Post by tomas3333 » Wed Feb 07, 2007 3:42 pm

hi, i tried to install this mode on my site. I thought, that all is right, but it give me this error:

Could not query announcements information

Code: Select all

DEBUG MODE

SQL Error : -1 ERROR: LIMIT #,# syntax is not supported HINT: Use separate LIMIT and OFFSET clauses.

SELECT t.topic_id, t.topic_time, t.topic_title, pt.post_text, u.username, u.user_id, t.topic_replies, pt.bbcode_uid, t.forum_id, t.topic_poster, t.topic_first_post_id, t.topic_status, pt.post_id, p.post_id, p.enable_smilies FROM phpbb_topics AS t, phpbb_users AS u, phpbb_posts_text AS pt, phpbb_posts AS p WHERE t.forum_id IN (1) AND t.topic_time <= 1170862363 AND t.topic_poster = u.user_id AND t.topic_first_post_id = pt.post_id AND t.topic_first_post_id = p.post_id AND t.topic_status <> 2 ORDER BY t.topic_time DESC LIMIT 0,5

Line : 75
File : fetchposts.php
I was trying both iframe and include, and it do same. What's wrong?

PS: please excuse my weak English

diabolic.bg
Registered User
Posts: 447
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: Bulgaria, Sofia
Contact:

Post by diabolic.bg » Wed Feb 07, 2007 5:26 pm

Еxcellent mod! It's very simple and very useful. Working excellent for me. :D

Thanks Janmarques!

If you want see here :D
Last edited by diabolic.bg on Sun Feb 24, 2008 11:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Releases”