IP Unmasker

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in here. No new MODs will be accepted into the MOD Database for phpBB2
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.

Rating:

Excellent!
14
61%
Very Good
5
22%
Good
0
No votes
Fair
2
9%
Poor
2
9%
 
Total votes: 23

User avatar
TerraFrost
Former Team Member
Posts: 5957
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 3:40 am
Location: Austin, TX

Re: IP Unmasker

Post by TerraFrost » Tue Feb 05, 2008 11:19 pm

beggers wrote:I know it's been a while since anyone asked you this, but any chance of a version of IP Unmasker for phpBB3? I'm ready to contribute a donation if you'll consider it. 8-)
I have no plans, currently, to do this. There are a lot of other MODs I want to write for phpBB3 and... yeah... I'm not sure when I'd be able to fit this in...

Niflheim
Registered User
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 3:29 am

Re: IP Unmasker

Post by Niflheim » Fri Feb 29, 2008 4:39 am

TerraFrost wrote:
beggers wrote:I know it's been a while since anyone asked you this, but any chance of a version of IP Unmasker for phpBB3? I'm ready to contribute a donation if you'll consider it. 8-)
I have no plans, currently, to do this. There are a lot of other MODs I want to write for phpBB3 and... yeah... I'm not sure when I'd be able to fit this in...
That's a pity. It was a great MOD to have and would be totally awesome on the new version :D

*hint hint*
People in glass houses s-s-s-sink ships.

Doohanjoe
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 8:19 pm

Re: IP Unmasker

Post by Doohanjoe » Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:25 pm

MOD Robot wrote:Selected tags:
  1. category
    1. Security
  2. phpbb
    1. 2.0.21
    2. 2.0.22
Hello everybody !

Does this mod works with version 2.0.23 ?

And last question, does this mod will refuse access to users of proxies even just for reading ?

Thank you in advance for your responses :)

User avatar
TerraFrost
Former Team Member
Posts: 5957
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 3:40 am
Location: Austin, TX

Re: IP Unmasker

Post by TerraFrost » Mon Mar 17, 2008 8:39 pm

Doohanjoe wrote:Does this mod works with version 2.0.23 ?
It should...
And last question, does this mod will refuse access to users of proxies even just for reading ?
If you've configured this MOD to block people (it can be set up just to log discrepancies), then yes - it'll deny the ability to read posts to people using proxies.

Doohanjoe
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 8:19 pm

Re: IP Unmasker

Post by Doohanjoe » Tue Mar 18, 2008 6:36 am

It's wonderful, I will try it !

Thanks for your work :D

User avatar
TerraFrost
Former Team Member
Posts: 5957
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 3:40 am
Location: Austin, TX

Re: IP Unmasker

Post by TerraFrost » Tue Apr 15, 2008 8:05 pm

Got a PM that I figured I'd respond to publically.
Sorry for disturbing but I have a little question. I made full SEO in my board. In my robots.txt I was write Disallow: /phpbb2/probe.php* but now in Google Webmasters tool I have URLs restricted by robots.txt - 6783 - all are from /../probe.php?...
I'm not sure what you mean?
I have another method to restrict pages - Block the content using a meta noindex tag.

And my question: where I must place tag <meta name="robots" content="noindex, nofollow" /> ? In head probe_body.tpl or another place?
Thanks in advance!
That's an interesting idea, although I'm not sure why you'd care if a search engine spidered probe.php or not?

None-the-less, if you wanted to do it, you'd be best off searching for the following in probe.php:

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
...and adding the meta tag as appropriate.

diabolic.bg
Registered User
Posts: 447
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: Bulgaria, Sofia
Contact:

Re: IP Unmasker

Post by diabolic.bg » Tue Apr 15, 2008 8:21 pm

Thanks, Terra!
This is what I mean:

Code: Select all

http://wasteland-bg.com/phpbb2/probe.php?extra=0cd33048c2313c21abc08699d634e2e0,66876e935f	URL restricted by robots.txt  	Apr 12, 2008
Googe report it as an error.
I already test it all day before your answer and can say - it is working properly.
This is a part from my probe.php

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
<html>
<head>
<meta name="robots" content="noindex, nofollow" />
  <title></title>
</head>

<body>
<applet width="0" height="0" code="HttpRequestor.class" codebase=".">
  <param name="domain" value="<?php echo $server_name; ?>">
  <param name="port" value="<?php echo $board_config['server_port']; ?>">
  <param name="path" value="<?php echo $java_url; ?>">
  <param name="user_agent" value="<?php echo htmlspecialchars($HTTP_SERVER_VARS['HTTP_USER_AGENT']); ?>">
</applet>
</body>
</html>
<?php
		exit;
	case 'utf16':
		header('Content-Type: text/html; charset=UTF-16');

		$javascript_url = $server_url . "probe.$phpEx?mode=xss&ip=$client_ip&extra=$sid,$key";
		$iframe_url = htmlspecialchars($javascript_url);

		$str = <<<DEFAULT
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
<html>
<head>
<meta name="robots" content="noindex, nofollow" />
  <title></title>
</head>

<body>
<iframe src="$iframe_url" width="0" height="0" frameborder="0"></iframe>
<script>
  document.getElementsByTagName("iframe")[0].src = "$javascript_url&url="+escape(location.href);
</script>
</body>

</html>
DEFAULT;
		echo iso_8859_1_to_utf16($str);
		exit;
	case 'utf7':
		header('Content-Type: text/html; charset=UTF-7' . $$mode);
?>
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
<html>
<head>
<meta name="robots" content="noindex, nofollow" />
  <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-7">
  <title></title>
</head>
<?php
		$javascript_url = $server_url . "probe.$phpEx?mode=xss&ip=$client_ip&extra=$sid,$key";
		$iframe_url = htmlspecialchars($javascript_url);

		$str = <<<DEFAULT

<body>
<iframe src="$iframe_url" width="0" height="0" frameborder="0"></iframe>
<script>
  document.getElementsByTagName("iframe")[0].src = "$javascript_url&url="+escape(location.href);
</script>
</body>
</html>
DEFAULT;
		echo iso_8859_1_to_utf7($str);
		exit;
endswitch;

$base_url = $server_url . "probe.$phpEx?extra=$sid,$key&mode=";
$utf7_url = htmlspecialchars($base_url . 'utf7');
$utf16_url = htmlspecialchars($base_url . 'utf16');
?>
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
<html>
<head>
<meta name="robots" content="noindex, nofollow" />
  <title></title>
</head>

<body>
<iframe src="<?php echo $utf7_url; ?>" width="0" height="0" frameborder="0"></iframe>
<iframe src="<?php echo $utf16_url; ?>" width="0" height="0" frameborder="0"></iframe>
</body>
</html>
and page's source code in result

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
<html>
<head>
<meta name="robots" content="noindex, nofollow" />
  <title></title>
</head>

<body>
<iframe src="http://wasteland-bg.com/phpbb2/probe.php?extra=0ce43212393481a01360a2cb7d071648,3193bb26f6&mode=utf7" width="0" height="0" frameborder="0"></iframe>
<iframe src="http://wasteland-bg.com/phpbb2/probe.php?extra=0ce43212393481a01360a2cb7d071648,3193bb26f6&mode=utf16" width="0" height="0" frameborder="0"></iframe>
</body>
</html>
Thanks for the answer!

User avatar
TerraFrost
Former Team Member
Posts: 5957
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 3:40 am
Location: Austin, TX

Re: IP Unmasker

Post by TerraFrost » Tue Apr 15, 2008 8:51 pm

Googe report it as an error.
Removing the GET variable 'extra' would be good. But other than that, not sure why it's not working (never used Google Webmaster tools).

None-the-less, glad to hear that the manual modifications are working! :)

diabolic.bg
Registered User
Posts: 447
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:41 pm
Location: Bulgaria, Sofia
Contact:

Re: IP Unmasker

Post by diabolic.bg » Tue Apr 15, 2008 9:22 pm

Image

srm999
Registered User
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 6:09 am

Re: IP Unmasker

Post by srm999 » Mon Jun 16, 2008 10:36 am

a silly question

i did with easy mod

but the last part diy

in manual i not sure excatly where i put httprequester the last part

many thanks if any =one can help

User avatar
TerraFrost
Former Team Member
Posts: 5957
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 3:40 am
Location: Austin, TX

Re: IP Unmasker

Post by TerraFrost » Mon Jun 16, 2008 9:36 pm

srm999 wrote:a silly question

i did with easy mod

but the last part diy

in manual i not sure excatly where i put httprequester the last part

many thanks if any =one can help
You'll want to put it in the phpBB root directory.

User avatar
dlevere
Registered User
Posts: 35
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 1:01 pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Re: IP Unmasker

Post by dlevere » Thu Jun 19, 2008 1:12 pm

I installed this mod, and it messed my board up. Firefox took forever to load. It's also hard to uninstall. I finally restored the board at 6:00 P.M. yesterday.

User avatar
TerraFrost
Former Team Member
Posts: 5957
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 3:40 am
Location: Austin, TX

Re: IP Unmasker

Post by TerraFrost » Thu Jun 19, 2008 7:22 pm

dlevere wrote:I installed this mod, and it messed my board up. Firefox took forever to load.
It does use a Java applet, which, naturally, takes a little bit to load. It only does this once per session, though. Also, since you never did ask for support, I can't dismiss the very likely possibility that you simply did not do as you were instructed to do in the DIY Instructions. Namely,

Code: Select all

#
#-----[ DIY INSTRUCTIONS ]------------------------------
#
If you are installing this MOD with EasyMOD, you will need to manually upload HttpRequestor.class with the BINARY transfer mode enabled.
It's also hard to uninstall.
That's like saying that it's hard to do addition 200x times. In point of fact, I wouldn't call either "hard" if you know addition. It may be tedious and banal busy-work, but not hard. If you don't know addition, however, doing addition 200x times is going to be no harder than doing it once.

Similarly, installing or uninstalling a MOD may be tedious. To say it's hard, however, suggests to me that the problem you experienced had nothing to do with MODs but instead, everything to do with your experience uninstalling MODs. ie. uninstalling MODs is only "hard" if you don't know what you're doing.

This MOD isn't particularly long. Yes, it's longer than other MODs, but there are also a good deal other MODs that it's shorter than.

So, in any event, I am sorry your experiences with this MOD weren't all that you had hoped they would be, but... well, I can't help but question your attribution of blame. How many of the problems you experienced were due to your not reading the instructions very thoroughly or to what is likely a lack of experience in uninstalling MODs in the first place? I don't know and, now, I don't suppose we'll ever know.

User avatar
beggers
Registered User
Posts: 1257
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2001 8:19 pm
Location: Las Vegas
Contact:

Re: IP Unmasker

Post by beggers » Tue Jun 24, 2008 3:09 am

Terrafrost, here's a good one for you:

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/3239

Introduction: PhProxy acts as a protective screener between the user and the internet. The server downloads the page into its memory, and then displays it to the user. From the point-of-view (in the technical sense) of the host hosting the target site, only the server visited. This means only the server's IP will be logged, and not the user's.

I've got people passing right through my IP bans on phpBB 3. :(

User avatar
TerraFrost
Former Team Member
Posts: 5957
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 3:40 am
Location: Austin, TX

Re: IP Unmasker

Post by TerraFrost » Fri Jun 27, 2008 4:20 am

Sorry for the delayed response. I tried the addon out - cleared all my cookies, created a webpage with a link to the testboard, visited that webpage, right clicked on the link and opened the link in a new tab through PhProxy (since it'd seem that that's the only way you can visit websites with this addon), and... well, there was one small "bug" with it, but upon fixing that, the MOD works as expected:

Code: Select all

#
#-----[ OPEN ]------------------------------------------
#
probe.php
#
#-----[ FIND ]------------------------------------------
#
if ( !isset($HTTP_GET_VARS['extra']) || !preg_match('/^[A-Za-z0-9,]*$/D',$HTTP_GET_VARS['extra']) )
{
	// since we're not user-facing, we don't care about debug messages
	die();
}

list($sid,$key) = explode(',',$HTTP_GET_VARS['extra']);
#
#-----[ REPLACE WITH ]----------------------------------
#
if ( !isset($HTTP_GET_VARS['extra']) || !preg_match('/^[A-Za-z0-9,]*$/',trim($HTTP_GET_VARS['extra'])) )
{
	// since we're not user-facing, we don't care about debug messages
	die();
}

list($sid,$key) = explode(',',trim($HTTP_GET_VARS['extra']));
#
#-----[ OPEN ]------------------------------------------
#
templates/subSilver/overall_footer.tpl
#
#-----[ FIND ]------------------------------------------
#
  document.getElementById("iframe1").src = "{U_PROBE_XSS2} &url="+escape(location.href);
#
#-----[ REPLACE WITH ]----------------------------------
#
  document.getElementById("iframe1").src = "{U_PROBE_XSS2}&url="+escape(location.href);
As for phpBB3... I've given that some thought and if I were to do a proxy detecting mod, it'd be a PHP5-only version of Block Open Proxy Registrants. It'd have the same caveats that that one does - wouldn't detect CGI proxies (ie. the kind that that FF extension uses) but would detect regular HTTP ones. The reason it'd be PHP5-only is because PHP4 is just not very well suited to fast proxy scanning.

Unfortunately, I don't see that as coming out for a while, due to time constraints :(

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Releases”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests