MSN Messenger

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in here. No new MODs will be accepted into the MOD Database for phpBB2
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.

Rating:

Excellent!
7
54%
Very Good
3
23%
Good
2
15%
Fair
0
No votes
Poor
1
8%
 
Total votes: 13

User avatar
RMcGirr83
Former Team Member
Posts: 22016
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:33 pm
Location: Your display
Name: Rich McGirr

Re: MSN Messenger

Post by RMcGirr83 »

Concerning the firefox browser issue. The problem is that firefox doesn't know what program to use for the msnim url protocol. To fix this open firefox and type about:config into the address bar. When brought up right click and select new->string...it will ask for you to input a preference name which should be this

Code: Select all

network.protocol-handler.app.msnim
then it will ask for a string value which is

Code: Select all

C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\msnmsgr.exe
unless you have changed the default location of the msnmsgr.exe file. You can also do a registry hack, but that stuff scares me. :)

By doing this the application will start when clicking on the links, but the individual will still not be added to the contact list automatically. I am afraid I can find no solution to this problem.

To get around this issue I have coded the following into page_header to pull the users browser info and ignored trying to get firefox (or anyother non IE browser) from opening msnim

Code: Select all

//
// check for browser version being used
//
            $curos=strtolower($_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT']);
            if (strstr($curos,"safari")!== false) {
                               $browser=4;
               } else if (strstr($curos,"firefox")!== false) {
                               $browser=2;
               } else if (strstr($curos,"konqueror")!== false) {
                               $browser=6;
               } else if (strstr($curos,"opera")!== false) {
                               $browser=3;
               } else if (strstr($curos,"msie")!== false) {
                               $browser=1;
               } else if (strstr($curos,"mozilla")!== false) {
                               $browser=7;
               } else if (strstr($curos,"netscape")!== false) {
                               $browser=8;
               } else { $browser=0;
               }
               //---check for browsers that hide idenity
            if (strstr($curos, "msie") !== false && strstr($curos, "Opera") !== false ) {
                    $browser = 3;
                } else if (strstr($curos, "msie") !== false && strstr($curos, "avant browser") !== false ) {
                    $browser = 5;
                }
then this in viewtopic.php

Code: Select all

		if ($browser = 1)
		{
		$msn_img = ( $postrow[$i]['user_msnm'] ) ? '<a href="msnim:add?contact=' . $postrow[$i]['user_msnm'] . '"><img src="' . $images['icon_msnm'] . '" alt="' . $lang['MSNM'] . '" title="' . $lang['MSNM'] . '" border="0" /></a>' : '';
		$msn = ( $postrow[$i]['user_msnm'] ) ? '<a href="msnim:add?contact=' . $postrow[$i]['user_msnm'] . '">' . $lang['MSNM'] . '</a>' : '';
        }
        else
        {
		$temp_url = append_sid("profile.$phpEx?mode=viewprofile&" . POST_USERS_URL . "=$poster_id");
		$msn_img = ( $postrow[$i]['user_msnm'] ) ? '<a href="' . $temp_url . '"><img src="' . $images['icon_msnm'] . '" alt="' . $lang['MSNM'] . '" title="' . $lang['MSNM'] . '" border="0" /></a>' : '';
		$msn = ( $postrow[$i]['user_msnm'] ) ? '<a href="' . $temp_url . '">' . $lang['MSNM'] . '</a>' : '';
        }
so the user if using IE will have the opportunity to directly add the user and if using any other browser will just be redirected to the users profile as normal phpbb.

Hope it helps...guess this is one of those times when it behooves someone to use IE as their browser.
Former Modifications/Extensions Team Member | My extensions | github | All requests for support via PM will be ignored
Appreciate the extensions/mods/support then buy me a beer Image
gibsongk55
Registered User
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 4:33 am
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Contact:

Re: MSN Messenger

Post by gibsongk55 »

Hi,

I just tried installing the MSN mod. After all the file editing i ran the db_update.php file in the browser. How does it know if i am logged in? Anyway i didn't notice anything work. But it did showed "delete install and contrib folders" and would not let me access forum until i did.

If i go into a profile the online indicator for msn does not appear only shows X where image goes. I don't think the database was updated but not sure how to check. Any ideas?

Thanks,

Gib
kkroo
Registered User
Posts: 729
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 4:49 pm
Contact:

Re: MSN Messenger

Post by kkroo »

Try executing the query manually. It is located in the install file.
My MODs

Need a coder?

Enjoy my Mods? - Image
gibsongk55
Registered User
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 4:33 am
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Contact:

Re: MSN Messenger

Post by gibsongk55 »

Hi kkoo,

Thanks for the response. But i have no clue what you mean. Are you referring to the db_update.php file?

I don't think it updated the database. Only said to delete the install folder. Sorry but i need more exact instructions. I am not that good with php.

Thanks,

Gib
kkroo
Registered User
Posts: 729
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 4:49 pm
Contact:

Re: MSN Messenger

Post by kkroo »

Did you run the db_update.php file from the browser wen you copied it? If it didn't work run this query manually via phpmyadmin

Code: Select all

INSERT INTO `phpbb_config` ( `config_name` , `config_value` )
VALUES (
'msn_server', 'http://www.funnyweb.dk:8080/msn/'
);
My MODs

Need a coder?

Enjoy my Mods? - Image
gibsongk55
Registered User
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 4:33 am
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Contact:

Re: MSN Messenger

Post by gibsongk55 »

Hi,

I ran the query and this is the result:

Inserted rows: 1 (Query took 0.0003 sec)
SQL-query:
INSERT INTO `phpbb_config` ( `config_name` , `config_value` )
VALUES (
'msn_server', 'http://www.funnyweb.dk:8080/msn/'
)


I just looked at a profile that has an msn account. I noticed in the bottom of the browser it was looking up funnyweb.dk (loading very slow) and still no image for the msn button. Only shows an X where the image should be. But the add buddy icon to the right appears as it did before. Still something wrong i guess.

Gibs
kkroo
Registered User
Posts: 729
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 4:49 pm
Contact:

Re: MSN Messenger

Post by kkroo »

Select another online status server from the MSN Messenger page in the admin panel
My MODs

Need a coder?

Enjoy my Mods? - Image
gibsongk55
Registered User
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2006 4:33 am
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Contact:

Re: MSN Messenger

Post by gibsongk55 »

It works now. Thank you. One other question. Is there anyway to set this so if a user is not logged in they cannot access the msn link. In other words if someone is not a logged in and activated user, I do not want them to be able to get someone's msn id.

Thanks,

Gib
kkroo
Registered User
Posts: 729
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 4:49 pm
Contact:

Re: MSN Messenger

Post by kkroo »

Thats great :D About you feature it cannot currently be done. It would be something great for future versions though.


Thanks
My MODs

Need a coder?

Enjoy my Mods? - Image
talkoman
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 3:56 pm

Re: MSN Messenger

Post by talkoman »

Hi, I am a problem with this MOD. When I see a profile of an user, I do not see the status of msn with an image but I see a writer...look: http://forum.nuotosicilia.it/profile.ph ... rofile&u=2
How can I resolve this problem?
Thanks
kkroo
Registered User
Posts: 729
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 4:49 pm
Contact:

Re: MSN Messenger

Post by kkroo »

It appears that you didn't select a online status server or you didn't execute the SQL queries.
My MODs

Need a coder?

Enjoy my Mods? - Image
talkoman
Registered User
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 3:56 pm

Re: MSN Messenger

Post by talkoman »

can you help me? what I have to do?
Thanks
wolflet
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 7:38 am

Re: MSN Messenger

Post by wolflet »

hi there. first i'd like to thank you for this incredible mod.

1 problem i face with this mod is, even after i sign out from msn. the icon that appears under my name will still be the blue msnm icon which is supposed to be for online status? is it some problem with my settings?

p.s.: is there any way for this mod to work with FF?
kkroo
Registered User
Posts: 729
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2005 4:49 pm
Contact:

Re: MSN Messenger

Post by kkroo »

I dont understand what you mean in your first question, could you try rewording it?

About it working in firefox, it currently doesn't work, but it may work in future versions of MSN messenger or firefox.
My MODs

Need a coder?

Enjoy my Mods? - Image
wolflet
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 7:38 am

Re: MSN Messenger

Post by wolflet »

kkroo wrote:I dont understand what you mean in your first question, could you try rewording it?

About it working in firefox, it currently doesn't work, but it may work in future versions of MSN messenger or firefox.
theres supposed to be a icon for online and an icon for offline right? since i see 4 icons under the images folder.

but despite i being offline, the icon displayed is still the online icon
Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Releases”