Page 10 of 50

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 4:55 am
by EXreaction
DeShock wrote: OK I have read through both support forums and didn't find an answer to my question.

I have 1.1.02 installed. I do not understand what I need to do to "upgrade". Is it a matter of copy the new files into the appropriate place? As an "ugprade do I need to run the install.php when I already have the MOD installed? Do I have to go in and edit the files or is that just for new installs?

I guess I am just a little hesitant to mess with things when my install of 1.1.02 went smoothly and is running fine. Sorry, if this seems obvious but this is the 1st and only mod I have installed. I manually installed it (no EasyMOD).


You have to do the edits again, upload all the new files, and do some new database changes like you did when you installed 1.1.02. :)

EasyMOD would make it much simpler to upgrade. :)

Posted: Sat Dec 09, 2006 10:37 pm
by SpacePower
First (think I said it already) great work. I have it installed on three forums I admin and it seems to work fine (had some upgrade problems - same errmsgs which were already reported and I fixed it manually) but on two boards it is still showing the old captcha.

In the General settings of AntiSpam there is written:
Note, if you do not have GD enabled in php it will automatically use the old.


What does this mean?

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 12:41 am
by ElectricBlues
The spam robots were really getting annoying.... thanks for sharing this awesome mod to stop their posts. And the Inactive User's list really helps with weeding them out, until a way can be figured out to keep them from getting in all together.

I have phpbb ver 2.0.21 installed.

I first installed AS_ACP ver 1.1.02 using EasyMod. That went smooth as silk. Then a couple days later 2.0.0a was release, and using EasyMod I upgraded using mod file Anti-Spam_ACP_1.1.02_to_2.0.0a.mod. However, during the upgrade I recieved an SQL error. Sorry, I didn't write down the error message, but it referenced not being able to write the new version number to the database.

I allowed EasyMod to complete the install, which it did without reporting any additional errors. I changed the version number manually in the database, and AntiSpamACP now happily reports I have the newest version.

However, changes to the following options under General Setttings will not hold:
Hide Inactive Users
Use New Captcha
Log Visual Confirmation
URL/Links in Posts

The defaults just keep coming back. If your new Captcha fonts slow down the number of robot registrations, I really want that one working on my system.

I did have the following mods installed before starting with AntiSpamACP:
Defualt Post Sort Order 1.1.1c
(this one didn't work for me - same problem, setting change doesn't hold)
Default post order: Descending 1.1
Admin Userlist 2.0.2

I'm going to read up on how to completely uninstall all mods, and try to do a fresh install of ver 2.0.0a, but thought I'd pass along my experience in case you want to double check the upgrade mod for proper operation.

Thanks again for this great anti-spam tool!

Herm

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 4:51 am
by EXreaction
SpacePower wrote: First (think I said it already) great work. I have it installed on three forums I admin and it seems to work fine (had some upgrade problems - same errmsgs which were already reported and I fixed it manually) but on two boards it is still showing the old captcha.

In the General settings of AntiSpam there is written:
Note, if you do not have GD enabled in php it will automatically use the old.


What does this mean?


If the GD graphics library is not in your version of php it will use the old style captcha(the new captcha needs functions that are included in GD).


ElectricBlues wrote: The spam robots were really getting annoying.... thanks for sharing this awesome mod to stop their posts. And the Inactive User's list really helps with weeding them out, until a way can be figured out to keep them from getting in all together.

I have phpbb ver 2.0.21 installed.

I first installed AS_ACP ver 1.1.02 using EasyMod. That went smooth as silk. Then a couple days later 2.0.0a was release, and using EasyMod I upgraded using mod file Anti-Spam_ACP_1.1.02_to_2.0.0a.mod. However, during the upgrade I recieved an SQL error. Sorry, I didn't write down the error message, but it referenced not being able to write the new version number to the database.

I allowed EasyMod to complete the install, which it did without reporting any additional errors. I changed the version number manually in the database, and AntiSpamACP now happily reports I have the newest version.

However, changes to the following options under General Setttings will not hold:
Hide Inactive Users
Use New Captcha
Log Visual Confirmation
URL/Links in Posts

The defaults just keep coming back. If your new Captcha fonts slow down the number of robot registrations, I really want that one working on my system.

I did have the following mods installed before starting with AntiSpamACP:
Defualt Post Sort Order 1.1.1c
(this one didn't work for me - same problem, setting change doesn't hold)
Default post order: Descending 1.1
Admin Userlist 2.0.2

I'm going to read up on how to completely uninstall all mods, and try to do a fresh install of ver 2.0.0a, but thought I'd pass along my experience in case you want to double check the upgrade mod for proper operation.

Thanks again for this great anti-spam tool!

Herm


Ya, sorry about that, I mixed up some names in the SQL for the updates. All you need to do is do the other SQL querys it has you do in the upgrade file(once Easymod finds an error in the SQL it stops all SQL entries, so you only need to do the ones that you didn't manually do already). :)

I already fixed the upgrade file on my site(late yesterday), so future users shouldn't have that problem. :)

Sorry about that again.

WOW!

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 2:34 pm
by wishyou
This one is a beauty... I just upgraded from the old version, and realized I could remove almost all of my anti spam mods.
This one with the aksimet plugin is taking care of business!! 8)

Thanx a bunch!

Wish
http://www.lchsoft.net

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 2:56 pm
by carbonskyfox
Hi EXreaction

I’ve just updated to 2.0.0a and had no problems all bar having to update the version number to the database manually (no big problem).
I have noticed however in the general settings under the email section that the option to “show email yes / no” is no longer there, is this something that I’ve missed in the installation or has it been removed.

Thanks for a nice update.

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 5:27 pm
by EXreaction
carbonskyfox wrote: Hi EXreaction

I’ve just updated to 2.0.0a and had no problems all bar having to update the version number to the database manually (no big problem).
I have noticed however in the general settings under the email section that the option to “show email yes / no” is no longer there, is this something that I’ve missed in the installation or has it been removed.

Thanks for a nice update.


Careful with it though, make sure the other sections that need to be updated in the database have been updated as well.

Yes, I took that out. I am having this use the error section on the profile page instead of the die message on the next page after they submit(like the error place that would come up if you don't fill in the username or some other required thing).

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 5:58 pm
by carbonskyfox
Sorry EXreaction I should have been a bit more specific. All the SQL queries run and create/update the necessary tables in the database except this one
UPDATE `phpbb_config` SET `config_value` = '2.0.0a' WHERE `phpbb_config` = 'as_acp_version';


which I meant was no big problem to manually update it

Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 9:40 pm
by j45on
I am facing problems of disaperring CAPTCHA from the registration page.

It's 530am now and I have failed to fix it, had to get some rest!

website: http://notd-aftermath.com/hq

Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 7:42 am
by carbonskyfox
Another quick question if I can, since the update to 2.0.0a the “Number of spammers stopped by this mod since installation:” no longer seems to be incrementing, have I missed something in the installation.
I know it’s not essential but it would be nice to have it working.

Thanks

Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:48 pm
by Gib...
carbonskyfox wrote: Another quick question if I can, since the update to 2.0.0a the “Number of spammers stopped by this mod since installation:” no longer seems to be incrementing, have I missed something in the installation.

Hi,
You're right. I missed that. This was in version 1 and is not present in anti_spam_acp.php.

Code: Select all

		$num_bots = $board_config['as_acp_bots_stopped'] + 1;
		$sql = "UPDATE " . CONFIG_TABLE . " SET
			config_value = $num_bots
			WHERE config_name = 'as_acp_bots_stopped'";
It was lost in Beta 1. Some code just before the above, that log data to spam log table, was moved from anti_spam_acp.php to user_register.php.
Changing usercp_register.php (about lines 354) to this solved the problem:

Code: Select all

// Start Anti-Spam ACP MOD
		if ($as_triggers != '')
		{
			// Log data to spam log table
			$as_triggers = trim(htmlspecialchars($as_triggers));
			$as_triggers = stripslashes($as_triggers);
			$as_triggers = str_replace("'", "\'", $as_triggers); 
			$as_triggers = str_replace('%end_of_line%', '<br/>', $as_triggers);
			$sql = 'INSERT INTO ' . SPAM_LOG_TABLE . " (log_time, username, user_id, user_ip, user_email, location, log_triggers) 
						VALUES ('$as_time', '$as_username', '$as_user_id', '$as_ip_address', '$as_email', '$as_location', '$as_triggers')";
			if( !$db->sql_query($sql) )
			{
				message_die(GENERAL_ERROR, "Failed to update log table.");
			}
		}
	if ($as_triggers != '')
		{
			// Increase spam count
			$num_bots = $board_config['as_acp_bots_stopped'] + 1;
			$sql = "UPDATE " . CONFIG_TABLE . " SET
				config_value = $num_bots
				WHERE config_name = 'as_acp_bots_stopped'";
			if( !$db->sql_query($sql) )
			{
				message_die(GENERAL_ERROR, "Failed to update log table.");
			}
		}
		
// End Anti-Spam ACP MOD
Note: The new captcha is more difficult to read so each person trying to register but making an error in the confirmation code will make an entry in the log and increase the bot count even if it is not a spam bot. Maybe the count should not consider the confirmation code and only count entries to forbidden fields. Next version...

Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 6:53 pm
by EXreaction
carbonskyfox wrote: Another quick question if I can, since the update to 2.0.0a the “Number of spammers stopped by this mod since installation:” no longer seems to be incrementing, have I missed something in the installation.
I know it’s not essential but it would be nice to have it working.

Thanks


Hmm, I guess I missed that. I didn't decide whether I wanted to keep it or not and just forgot about it I guess. :oops:

Gib... wrote: Maybe the count should not consider the confirmation code and only count entries to forbidden fields. Next version...


Ya, I was stuck on a few things. With the option to require profile fields it would be pretty easy to have a way off number on that if it was set to required.

There are going to be a few bugs in this yet, so I am going to wait on fixing that till the next version. I want to fix my mod and see if I can make it a little more compatible with other mods(I am also thinking of having the profile fields output in a loop on profile_add_body.tpl as it would make it much easier). :)

Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 9:04 pm
by Gib...
EXreaction wrote: (I am also thinking of having the profile fields output in a loop on profile_add_body.tpl as it would make it much easier). :)

If you mean easier to install, I would not worry too much about that. I've not seen a mode that I found really difficult to install manually, just takes concentration. There are many modifications in profile_add_body.tpl but all the same and it takes two minutes. If you have php generate the template with a loop that might prevent people from doing custom modifications in the template, like giving additionnal instructions for registration. I don't think it is necessary.

Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:22 pm
by EXreaction
Gib... wrote:
EXreaction wrote:(I am also thinking of having the profile fields output in a loop on profile_add_body.tpl as it would make it much easier). :)

If you mean easier to install, I would not worry too much about that. I've not seen a mode that I found really difficult to install manually, just takes concentration. There are many modifications in profile_add_body.tpl but all the same and it takes two minutes. If you have php generate the template with a loop that might prevent people from doing custom modifications in the template, like giving additionnal instructions for registration. I don't think it is necessary.


php wouldn't generate the whole thing.

If you look in the profile page template for the admin section, I mean something like that where I just have it output the field names and stuff. :)

Posted: Tue Dec 12, 2006 5:15 am
by LAzYbONEz
Hi Guys

Does anyone have this MOD running side by side with a Custom Profile Fields MOD? If you do, which MOD is it?

Thanks

LAzY