Attachment Mod

All new MODs released in our MOD Database will be announced in here. All support for released MODs needs to take place in here. No new MODs will be accepted into the MOD Database for phpBB2
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.

Rating:

Excellent!
2035
71%
Very Good
444
16%
Good
175
6%
Fair
54
2%
Poor
156
5%
 
Total votes: 2864

User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 17060
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 1:30 pm
Location: Fishkill, NY
Name: David Colón
Contact:

Re: Cannot write to files directory

Post by DavidIQ » Thu Jun 01, 2006 12:33 pm

mrz77 wrote:
DavidIQ wrote:You have a Linux/Unix box right? Because if it's a Windows box the way to do this is totally different.


Yes, of course this is a linux box :) .

Linux 2.5.16.1-rsbac x86_64 GNU/Linux.

Have you tried posting an attachment yet? You've only mentioned that you're getting the error when testing the settings from the control panel...
Apply to become a Jr. Extension Validator
My extensions | In need of phpBB services? | Was I helpful today?
No unsolicited PMs unless you're planning on asking for paid help.

mrz77
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 6:05 am

Re: Cannot write to files directory

Post by mrz77 » Thu Jun 01, 2006 1:56 pm

DavidIQ wrote: Have you tried posting an attachment yet? You've only mentioned that you're getting the error when testing the settings from the control panel...


Yes.
It says Error uploading. The attachment ./files/FILENAME.EXT could not be uploaded.

(Or something to that affect... I translated the error message.)

Thanx for helping.

User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 17060
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 1:30 pm
Location: Fishkill, NY
Name: David Colón
Contact:

Re: Cannot write to files directory

Post by DavidIQ » Thu Jun 01, 2006 2:17 pm

mrz77 wrote: Yes.
It says Error uploading. The attachment ./files/FILENAME.EXT could not be uploaded.

(Or something to that affect... I translated the error message.)

Thanx for helping.

Not sure how to help you there. Check your box configurations is all I can tell you. You have a URL you can share?
Apply to become a Jr. Extension Validator
My extensions | In need of phpBB services? | Was I helpful today?
No unsolicited PMs unless you're planning on asking for paid help.

stuie
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 12:04 pm
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: user rank cant see upload images buttons

Post by stuie » Thu Jun 01, 2006 3:02 pm

snufulufugus wrote: Hi,

All my administrators can see the "upload attachment" function, but anyone ranked as a user can not.

I have looked through this thread - but it is such a monster - i couldn't find anything.

Can someone please htell me why users cant view this function button?

Thank you very much, Snufulufugus :)


doh! - ok , worked it out - permissions settings (of course) but needs to be done for each and every forum.


I had the same problem but luckly I found your post! :)

The forum permission "simple mode" seems to have a bug that causes the permission for file to be set at MOD. You can change it to REG but you have to go to advanced mode.

Elfintod
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 5:22 pm
Location: Houston, Tx
Contact:

Post by Elfintod » Thu Jun 01, 2006 3:49 pm

DavidIQ wrote: Try uploading all the files again or using a different upload method or program. Try CuteFTP and make sure the transfer type is set to Binary.


Hey, that was a good idea. I didn't think about that. I had Dreamweaver upload the files the first time. I re-uploaded them. Still no dice. I can't honestly think of anything i could have done that would cause this other than maybe that. The install.php went off without a hitch and i deleted the directories you are supposed to.

Still not working though. When i click on the links in admin interface the frame on the right comes up blank.

I'm happy to give you access to the site if you'd like to poke around.

I know the mod works because other folks have gotten it rolling. Obviously the error is between the chair and the keyboard or there's something different about my system that i'm not realizing.

ryan1918dotcom
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 478
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2003 3:10 am
Location: michigan
Contact:

Post by ryan1918dotcom » Thu Jun 01, 2006 4:31 pm

DavidIQ wrote:
ryan1918dotcom wrote:Yes it works that way, but if I go to a a thread I started try to add some pictures, it shows I edited it but no attachments show up..

Oh so you're referring to when you edit your post and try to add an attachment then it doesn't do it...right?


Yeah exactly, like even If I start a new thread, post some attachemnets go back to that and try to add more and I can't they just won't show up..
Image
http://www.ryan1918.com More than security.

mrz77
Registered User
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 6:05 am

Re: Cannot write to files directory

Post by mrz77 » Thu Jun 01, 2006 5:17 pm

DavidIQ wrote: Not sure how to help you there. Check your box configurations is all I can tell you. You have a URL you can share?


What configuration should I check?

URL is http://www.kiralyudvarforum.etl.hu

Hope you can help.

User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 17060
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 1:30 pm
Location: Fishkill, NY
Name: David Colón
Contact:

Post by DavidIQ » Thu Jun 01, 2006 7:21 pm

ryan1918dotcom wrote: Yeah exactly, like even If I start a new thread, post some attachemnets go back to that and try to add more and I can't they just won't show up..

Ok I see that now. Use the PasteBin link in my sig to upload your posting.php file so I can take a look.
Apply to become a Jr. Extension Validator
My extensions | In need of phpBB services? | Was I helpful today?
No unsolicited PMs unless you're planning on asking for paid help.

User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 17060
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 1:30 pm
Location: Fishkill, NY
Name: David Colón
Contact:

Post by DavidIQ » Thu Jun 01, 2006 7:24 pm

Elfintod wrote:
DavidIQ wrote: Try uploading all the files again or using a different upload method or program. Try CuteFTP and make sure the transfer type is set to Binary.


Hey, that was a good idea. I didn't think about that. I had Dreamweaver upload the files the first time. I re-uploaded them. Still no dice. I can't honestly think of anything i could have done that would cause this other than maybe that. The install.php went off without a hitch and i deleted the directories you are supposed to.

Still not working though. When i click on the links in admin interface the frame on the right comes up blank.

I'm happy to give you access to the site if you'd like to poke around.

I know the mod works because other folks have gotten it rolling. Obviously the error is between the chair and the keyboard or there's something different about my system that i'm not realizing.

Can't even register on your board. Keeps saying my confirmation code is incorrect when I KNOW it isn't :?
Apply to become a Jr. Extension Validator
My extensions | In need of phpBB services? | Was I helpful today?
No unsolicited PMs unless you're planning on asking for paid help.

User avatar
videoarab
Registered User
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 6:32 pm

Post by videoarab » Thu Jun 01, 2006 7:45 pm

i have 2 domains, different hosting,
can i keep my forum in one hosting and make the other host for posting attachments :?:

is that enough to change the directory url from ACP :?
do i need to creat or edit some files in both hosts.



regards.

User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 17060
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 1:30 pm
Location: Fishkill, NY
Name: David Colón
Contact:

Post by DavidIQ » Thu Jun 01, 2006 8:15 pm

videoarab wrote: i have 2 domains, different hosting,
can i keep my forum in one hosting and make the other host for posting attachments :?:

is that enough to change the directory url from ACP :?
do i need to creat or edit some files in both hosts.



regards.

You would just have to set up the FTP option to save remotely.
Apply to become a Jr. Extension Validator
My extensions | In need of phpBB services? | Was I helpful today?
No unsolicited PMs unless you're planning on asking for paid help.

User avatar
videoarab
Registered User
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 6:32 pm

Post by videoarab » Thu Jun 01, 2006 8:25 pm

DavidIQ wrote:
videoarab wrote:i have 2 domains, different hosting,
can i keep my forum in one hosting and make the other host for posting attachments :?:

is that enough to change the directory url from ACP :?
do i need to creat or edit some files in both hosts.



regards.

You would just have to set up the FTP option to save remotely.


Thanks DavidIQ
i will change the attachmets directory url, and set up the ftp.

i will reply to you again

:D

devilsquest
Registered User
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 7:46 pm

Post by devilsquest » Fri Jun 02, 2006 8:32 pm

i am runnin the latest vertion of php and have been tryin to install attach_mod_241 but after 3 days i still cant get it to run?all i get is a white screen after its installed????is there a dumbies vertion to installin this as i have no idea about this stuff and my site is in dessperate need of picture uploading?and i cant keep comein of line while i try to install this mod?

User avatar
DavidIQ
Customisations Team Leader
Customisations Team Leader
Posts: 17060
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 1:30 pm
Location: Fishkill, NY
Name: David Colón
Contact:

Post by DavidIQ » Fri Jun 02, 2006 11:04 pm

devilsquest wrote: i am runnin the latest vertion of php and have been tryin to install attach_mod_241 but after 3 days i still cant get it to run?all i get is a white screen after its installed????is there a dumbies vertion to installin this as i have no idea about this stuff and my site is in dessperate need of picture uploading?and i cant keep comein of line while i try to install this mod?

You can't access the site at all?
Apply to become a Jr. Extension Validator
My extensions | In need of phpBB services? | Was I helpful today?
No unsolicited PMs unless you're planning on asking for paid help.

crownroyal
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 187
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 12:35 am

Post by crownroyal » Sat Jun 03, 2006 2:37 am

Anybody have a mod that i can add a side Block to show the latest 5 uploads from teh attachment mod?


Please help.

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MOD Database Releases”