Page 1017 of 1475

Re: Cannot write to files directory

Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 12:33 pm
by DavidIQ
mrz77 wrote:
DavidIQ wrote:You have a Linux/Unix box right? Because if it's a Windows box the way to do this is totally different.


Yes, of course this is a linux box :) .

Linux 2.5.16.1-rsbac x86_64 GNU/Linux.

Have you tried posting an attachment yet? You've only mentioned that you're getting the error when testing the settings from the control panel...

Re: Cannot write to files directory

Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 1:56 pm
by mrz77
DavidIQ wrote: Have you tried posting an attachment yet? You've only mentioned that you're getting the error when testing the settings from the control panel...


Yes.
It says Error uploading. The attachment ./files/FILENAME.EXT could not be uploaded.

(Or something to that affect... I translated the error message.)

Thanx for helping.

Re: Cannot write to files directory

Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 2:17 pm
by DavidIQ
mrz77 wrote: Yes.
It says Error uploading. The attachment ./files/FILENAME.EXT could not be uploaded.

(Or something to that affect... I translated the error message.)

Thanx for helping.

Not sure how to help you there. Check your box configurations is all I can tell you. You have a URL you can share?

Re: user rank cant see upload images buttons

Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 3:02 pm
by stuie
snufulufugus wrote: Hi,

All my administrators can see the "upload attachment" function, but anyone ranked as a user can not.

I have looked through this thread - but it is such a monster - i couldn't find anything.

Can someone please htell me why users cant view this function button?

Thank you very much, Snufulufugus :)


doh! - ok , worked it out - permissions settings (of course) but needs to be done for each and every forum.


I had the same problem but luckly I found your post! :)

The forum permission "simple mode" seems to have a bug that causes the permission for file to be set at MOD. You can change it to REG but you have to go to advanced mode.

Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 3:49 pm
by Elfintod
DavidIQ wrote: Try uploading all the files again or using a different upload method or program. Try CuteFTP and make sure the transfer type is set to Binary.


Hey, that was a good idea. I didn't think about that. I had Dreamweaver upload the files the first time. I re-uploaded them. Still no dice. I can't honestly think of anything i could have done that would cause this other than maybe that. The install.php went off without a hitch and i deleted the directories you are supposed to.

Still not working though. When i click on the links in admin interface the frame on the right comes up blank.

I'm happy to give you access to the site if you'd like to poke around.

I know the mod works because other folks have gotten it rolling. Obviously the error is between the chair and the keyboard or there's something different about my system that i'm not realizing.

Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 4:31 pm
by ryan1918dotcom
DavidIQ wrote:
ryan1918dotcom wrote:Yes it works that way, but if I go to a a thread I started try to add some pictures, it shows I edited it but no attachments show up..

Oh so you're referring to when you edit your post and try to add an attachment then it doesn't do it...right?


Yeah exactly, like even If I start a new thread, post some attachemnets go back to that and try to add more and I can't they just won't show up..

Re: Cannot write to files directory

Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 5:17 pm
by mrz77
DavidIQ wrote: Not sure how to help you there. Check your box configurations is all I can tell you. You have a URL you can share?


What configuration should I check?

URL is http://www.kiralyudvarforum.etl.hu

Hope you can help.

Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 7:21 pm
by DavidIQ
ryan1918dotcom wrote: Yeah exactly, like even If I start a new thread, post some attachemnets go back to that and try to add more and I can't they just won't show up..

Ok I see that now. Use the PasteBin link in my sig to upload your posting.php file so I can take a look.

Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 7:24 pm
by DavidIQ
Elfintod wrote:
DavidIQ wrote: Try uploading all the files again or using a different upload method or program. Try CuteFTP and make sure the transfer type is set to Binary.


Hey, that was a good idea. I didn't think about that. I had Dreamweaver upload the files the first time. I re-uploaded them. Still no dice. I can't honestly think of anything i could have done that would cause this other than maybe that. The install.php went off without a hitch and i deleted the directories you are supposed to.

Still not working though. When i click on the links in admin interface the frame on the right comes up blank.

I'm happy to give you access to the site if you'd like to poke around.

I know the mod works because other folks have gotten it rolling. Obviously the error is between the chair and the keyboard or there's something different about my system that i'm not realizing.

Can't even register on your board. Keeps saying my confirmation code is incorrect when I KNOW it isn't :?

Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 7:45 pm
by videoarab
i have 2 domains, different hosting,
can i keep my forum in one hosting and make the other host for posting attachments :?:

is that enough to change the directory url from ACP :?
do i need to creat or edit some files in both hosts.



regards.

Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 8:15 pm
by DavidIQ
videoarab wrote: i have 2 domains, different hosting,
can i keep my forum in one hosting and make the other host for posting attachments :?:

is that enough to change the directory url from ACP :?
do i need to creat or edit some files in both hosts.



regards.

You would just have to set up the FTP option to save remotely.

Posted: Thu Jun 01, 2006 8:25 pm
by videoarab
DavidIQ wrote:
videoarab wrote:i have 2 domains, different hosting,
can i keep my forum in one hosting and make the other host for posting attachments :?:

is that enough to change the directory url from ACP :?
do i need to creat or edit some files in both hosts.



regards.

You would just have to set up the FTP option to save remotely.


Thanks DavidIQ
i will change the attachmets directory url, and set up the ftp.

i will reply to you again

:D

Posted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 8:32 pm
by devilsquest
i am runnin the latest vertion of php and have been tryin to install attach_mod_241 but after 3 days i still cant get it to run?all i get is a white screen after its installed????is there a dumbies vertion to installin this as i have no idea about this stuff and my site is in dessperate need of picture uploading?and i cant keep comein of line while i try to install this mod?

Posted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 11:04 pm
by DavidIQ
devilsquest wrote: i am runnin the latest vertion of php and have been tryin to install attach_mod_241 but after 3 days i still cant get it to run?all i get is a white screen after its installed????is there a dumbies vertion to installin this as i have no idea about this stuff and my site is in dessperate need of picture uploading?and i cant keep comein of line while i try to install this mod?

You can't access the site at all?

Posted: Sat Jun 03, 2006 2:37 am
by crownroyal
Anybody have a mod that i can add a side Block to show the latest 5 uploads from teh attachment mod?


Please help.