[MODDB] Advanced time management 2.0.1

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
User avatar
Carpe Diem
Registered User
Posts: 580
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 11:19 pm

Post by Carpe Diem »

-=ET=- wrote: Every current OS can manage DST.
It's just set on, "on" or "off", nothing else.

Your clock is fully independant from phpBB and it will always be synchronized with the time of the user's computer.

But!
The time of your board will NOT be affected by this clock! It's time is taken from the server and your clock will not change anything.

So you will still need to install a MOD/FIX to manage DST for your board times.


I understand now. Thank you very much for the explanation!
:)

User avatar
vze3k59w
Registered User
Posts: 485
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 1:09 am

Post by vze3k59w »

when i aply your mod, the page shifts down. when i remove it, it goes back to normall
Wanna join a very advanced OO based modular port of phpBB? PM me :)

User avatar
-=ET=-
Registered User
Posts: 770
Joined: Sun May 25, 2003 5:32 pm

Post by -=ET=- »

vze3k59w wrote: the page shifts down

I'm sorry, I don't understand "shifts down" :(
Eternal newbie

SemoTech
Registered User
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2003 9:56 am

Default Settings?

Post by SemoTech »

Excellent Mod ET, I really love the depth and features of your DST mod!

I do however have a question:

Most users barely read all the info in the registration page and honestly, the dst settings, are not idiot proof.

1) Is it possible to have the admin choose and preset the DEFAULT option for all users and then users can overwrite? That way if they skip the step it will not create confusion.

2) Can this default be set to "DST switches synchronized with the server " or "Server settings used*"? (I am unsure exactly what the subtle difference is between the two but they do sound like the safest bet)

Basically I want to configure the board with the most automated setting and have the users inherit this setting.

Lastly, the setting should have the wording "default" after it so if a user changes it and forgets what it was set for when they first messed with it, they can quickly find it.

Example for user config:
....
( ) DST switches synchronized with the server
(*) Server settings used (DEFAULT)
....

Can you tell me what code I need to change/add to make this happen?

Many thanks in advance!
Stefan.

User avatar
-=ET=-
Registered User
Posts: 770
Joined: Sun May 25, 2003 5:32 pm

Re: Default Settings?

Post by -=ET=- »

SemoTech wrote: 1) Is it possible to have the admin choose and preset the DEFAULT option for all users and then users can overwrite? That way if they skip the step it will not create confusion.

Since the 1.1.0 release this is a standard feature.
Go the your ACP and select the default DST mode for the board. This will change the default setting for anonymous users AND for new accounts :wink:
SemoTech wrote: 2) Can this default be set to "DST switches synchronized with the server " or "Server settings used*"? (I am unsure exactly what the subtle difference is between the two but they do sound like the safest bet)

The difference is that for the "DST switches synchronized with the server" mode, only the switches are syncronized with the server. The timezone and the DST time lag used are the ones set by the user.

For the "Server settings used*" mode, ALL informations comes from the server : UTC time, timezone, DST time lag and DST on/off setting.
The users has nothing to do and it's profile setting are not used.
SemoTech wrote: Can you tell me what code I need to change/add to make this happen?

At the present time, if you do not want to change too many times your default setting, I suggest you to simply modify the language entry in language/lang_english/lang_dst.php

For the future, your idea is interesting and I think I will add it in the next release :wink:
Eternal newbie

Grinch
Registered User
Posts: 400
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2002 5:44 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Post by Grinch »

Very cool. :)

I installed this mod today using Easy Mod 0.0.10a and everything went perfect. Thanks for writing it. :D

I do think I found a grammer error though.
* This 3 modes manage much more than DST...

should read...
* These 3 modes manage much more than DST...


That's about all I could find wrong.

User avatar
-=ET=-
Registered User
Posts: 770
Joined: Sun May 25, 2003 5:32 pm

Post by -=ET=- »

You're absolutely right, but if you or anyone else have any other comments on the English version please let me know.

I'm French and made it myself so I was perhaps not clear or did anything else wrong :wink:

Thanks.

P.S.: zip files updated :wink:
Eternal newbie

User avatar
vze3k59w
Registered User
Posts: 485
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 1:09 am

Post by vze3k59w »

-=ET=- wrote:
vze3k59w wrote:the page shifts down

I'm sorry, I don't understand "shifts down" :(
Let me put it this way, it would be as if i put a br tag at the very top
Wanna join a very advanced OO based modular port of phpBB? PM me :)

User avatar
vze3k59w
Registered User
Posts: 485
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 1:09 am

Post by vze3k59w »

Image
Wanna join a very advanced OO based modular port of phpBB? PM me :)

User avatar
vze3k59w
Registered User
Posts: 485
Joined: Fri May 09, 2003 1:09 am

Post by vze3k59w »

Code: Select all

<!-- Start replacement - DST management MOD -->
<!-- BEGIN switch_no_search_time_offset -->
<script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript">
	document.cookie = "pc_time_offset=" + new Date().getTimezoneOffset();
</script>  

</head>
<MYWEBSITE:HOMEPAGE ID=oHomePage />
<body topmargin="0" leftmargin="15" rightmargin="15" {L_CUSTOM_BODY} bgcolor="{T_BODY_BGCOLOR}" text="{T_BODY_TEXT}" link="{T_BODY_LINK}" vlink="{T_BODY_VLINK}">
<!-- END switch_no_search_time_offset -->

<!-- BEGIN switch_search_time_offset -->
<script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript">
<!--
function local_time_offset()  
{  
	document.currentForm.pc_time_offset.value = new Date().getTimezoneOffset();
	document.currentForm.submit();
}  
//-->
</script>  

</head>
<MYWEBSITE:HOMEPAGE ID=oHomePage />
<body topmargin="0" leftmargin="15" rightmargin="15" {L_CUSTOM_BODY} bgcolor="{T_BODY_BGCOLOR}" text="{T_BODY_TEXT}" link="{T_BODY_LINK}" vlink="{T_BODY_VLINK}" onload="local_time_offset()">
<!-- END switch_search_time_offset -->

<FORM action="{U_SELF}" method="post" id="currentForm" name="currentForm">  
	<input type="hidden" name="pc_time_offset">  
</FORM>
<!-- End replacement - DST management MOD -->
is what i have in my overal_header.tpl
Wanna join a very advanced OO based modular port of phpBB? PM me :)

User avatar
-=ET=-
Registered User
Posts: 770
Joined: Sun May 25, 2003 5:32 pm

Post by -=ET=- »

The problem comes from this code...
vze3k59w wrote:

Code: Select all

<FORM action="{U_SELF}" method="post" id="currentForm" name="currentForm">  
	<input type="hidden" name="pc_time_offset">  
</FORM>

But I'm not at home for the next 4 days so I can't do tests to verify and solve your issue.

I'll do it on sunday :wink:

-------------

For every one, I'm sorry but there will have no support until sunday :(
Eternal newbie

User avatar
-=ET=-
Registered User
Posts: 770
Joined: Sun May 25, 2003 5:32 pm

Post by -=ET=- »

vze3k59w> Ok, I'm back home and I've done some tests about your issue but in fact I can't recreate it :(
I think it must be the adaptation you've done for your style :roll:

Code: Select all

<MYWEBSITE:HOMEPAGE ID=oHomePage /> 
<body topmargin="0" leftmargin="15" rightmargin="15" {L_CUSTOM_BODY} bgcolor="{T_BODY_BGCOLOR}" text="{T_BODY_TEXT}" link="{T_BODY_LINK}" vlink="{T_BODY_VLINK}">
Eternal newbie

User avatar
-=ET=-
Registered User
Posts: 770
Joined: Sun May 25, 2003 5:32 pm

Post by -=ET=- »

News! :D

My new Advanced time management MOD is now available for testing :P
http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.ph ... 735#654735

It's the successor of the Daylight Saving Time management MOD, and a major step to the phpBB 2.2 future release.

Indeed, as phpBB 2.2 will manage manually DST this MOD needs to go further and to be ready for the future...
So that's why... this new release can now fully manage board times (and not only the DST feature)! :D

There are now 6 choices for 5 modes:
- Manual settings - DST disabled/enabled (these 2 choices will be merge on the phpBB 2.2 release and the choice will be made on the new default board settings)
- DST switches synchronized with the server
- Times synchronized with the server local time
- Times synchronized with the server universal time, time zone and DST with your computer settings
- Times synchronized with your computer time

So, except the "DST switches synchronized with the server" mode this new Advanced time management MOD is now ready for phpBB 2.2 with 3 modes on 4 which fully take charge of board times with no settings needed! 8)
Its DB structure has been adapted too, not to confuse with the future phpBB DST feature.

Last, a new feature in user's profile now bring to the fore the default board mode by an "*" (as suggested by SemoTech) :wink:

Enjoy!
And tell me if you have any issue :wink:
Eternal newbie

carloclaessen
Registered User
Posts: 494
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2003 11:55 pm

Post by carloclaessen »

Code: Select all

De XML-pagina kan niet worden weergegeven 
Kan XML-invoer niet lezen met gebruik van opmaakmodel XSL. Herstel de fout en klik vervolgens op de knop Vernieuwen of probeer het later opnieuw. 


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Alleen element van hoogste niveau is toegestaan in een XML-document. Regel 2, positie 2 
 

<b>Warning</b>:  ob_start(): output handler 'ob_gzhandler' cannot be used after 'URL-Rewriter' in <b>/home/*********/public_html/includes/page_header.php</b> on line <b>67</b><br />
-^
this is what i get when i go to the page
i have this only ones each session

when i refresh its gone!!!


i have set the time to the pc
to tak the time off your own pc so also set it as standard

User avatar
-=ET=-
Registered User
Posts: 770
Joined: Sun May 25, 2003 5:32 pm

Post by -=ET=- »

Have you check your installation of the MOD in page_header.php because your error message comes from lines which are not from the MOD, and have nothing to do with it :(

It's strange :roll:

Which php & Apache releases have you?
Eternal newbie

Locked

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”