[RC] NewsSync 1.5.0

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
Post Reply
wineknow
Registered User
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 5:20 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Post by wineknow » Mon Aug 18, 2003 4:54 pm

Trinity wrote: Any idea how to get this working on windows machines running Apache? The directions included in this MOD aren't very good - any chance of getting them in standard phpBB MOD format?


part of the beta process will include phpBB MOD style directions, I want to get the code working first...

btw: it does work under windows...

-k

User avatar
Trinity
Registered User
Posts: 474
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 10:06 pm
Location: Hollywood, CA

Post by Trinity » Mon Aug 18, 2003 4:57 pm

wineknow wrote:
Trinity wrote:Any idea how to get this working on windows machines running Apache? The directions included in this MOD aren't very good - any chance of getting them in standard phpBB MOD format?


part of the beta process will include phpBB MOD style directions, I want to get the code working first...

btw: it does work under windows...

-k


I'm a complete moron when it comes to CRON, etc. Is there an easy way to do this? The installation was fine but when I run php.exe -q newssync.php in the command prompt AND/OR in Internet Explorer, nothing happens.

Furthermore, it would be great if you could perhaps include some button that tests the news config, i.e. whether or not it connects to the news server, if the login/pass is correct, etc.

wineknow
Registered User
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 5:20 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Post by wineknow » Mon Aug 18, 2003 5:03 pm

Trinity wrote: I'm a complete moron when it comes to CRON, etc. Is there an easy way to do this? The installation was fine but when I run php.exe -q newssync.php in the command prompt AND/OR in Internet Explorer, nothing happens.

Furthermore, it would be great if you could perhaps include some button that tests the news config, i.e. whether or not it connects to the news server, if the login/pass is correct, etc.


Since you are running windows, you don't have to worry about CRON -- you get the use windows scheduler (which you can do from the windows start menu) -- but before you can get that setup, you should probably do the following:
1) we need to get it working from the command line first -- what kind of error are you getting?
note: depending on your version of Php, the php.exe might be hidden, it may be in a cli directory with your php dir...

2) once that starts to work, I would create a .bat file to run newssync from
3) then tell windows scheduler to run the .bat file...

-k

User avatar
Trinity
Registered User
Posts: 474
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 10:06 pm
Location: Hollywood, CA

Post by Trinity » Mon Aug 18, 2003 5:11 pm

wineknow wrote:
Trinity wrote:I'm a complete moron when it comes to CRON, etc. Is there an easy way to do this? The installation was fine but when I run php.exe -q newssync.php in the command prompt AND/OR in Internet Explorer, nothing happens.

Furthermore, it would be great if you could perhaps include some button that tests the news config, i.e. whether or not it connects to the news server, if the login/pass is correct, etc.


Since you are running windows, you don't have to worry about CRON -- you get the use windows scheduler (which you can do from the windows start menu) -- but before you can get that setup, you should probably do the following:
1) we need to get it working from the command line first -- what kind of error are you getting?
note: depending on your version of Php, the php.exe might be hidden, it may be in a cli directory with your php dir...

2) once that starts to work, I would create a .bat file to run newssync from
3) then tell windows scheduler to run the .bat file...

-k


I'm actually one step ahead of you - I already tried running this from the command line, and got it to work by going into my actual newssync directory, and then typing this:

Code: Select all

c:\php\php.exe -q newssync.php
Once this happens, I get this:

Image

Then, if I try the command again, I get a complete printout of html code from some page, I think (not sure):

Image

Then, if I run it a third time, I get this:

Image

Of course, one would think that newssync would somehow be running, but nothing comes up on the forum that I specify except one post that has nothing in it. It's very strange.

Also, there is no "newssync_pseudo_cron.php" made whatsoever.

wineknow
Registered User
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 5:20 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Post by wineknow » Mon Aug 18, 2003 5:15 pm

the pseudo_cron is ONLY for UNIX.
you will have to use windows scheduler for windows...

THe only really ODD thing here is that newssync shut itself down right when it started to sync -- let me look into that -- as there could be a windows specific problem with beta 2

-k

User avatar
Trinity
Registered User
Posts: 474
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2002 10:06 pm
Location: Hollywood, CA

Post by Trinity » Mon Aug 18, 2003 5:27 pm

wineknow wrote: the pseudo_cron is ONLY for UNIX.
you will have to use windows scheduler for windows...

THe only really ODD thing here is that newssync shut itself down right when it started to sync -- let me look into that -- as there could be a windows specific problem with beta 2

-k


Okay, thanks - let me know if you want me to test things out.

qnx
Registered User
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 6:03 am

Post by qnx » Tue Aug 19, 2003 12:28 am

In the past, if newsync was stopped in a weird way without removing the lock file, I could just delete the lock file and start again. Now that the status is in db, so I have to run a sql statement to do that?

wineknow
Registered User
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 5:20 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Post by wineknow » Tue Aug 19, 2003 12:34 am

qnx wrote: In the past, if newsync was stopped in a weird way without removing the lock file, I could just delete the lock file and start again. Now that the status is in db, so I have to run a sql statement to do that?


you can run it from the command line using "php -q newssync.php /FORCE" and it will override the setting...

of course, I would like to stop as many "weird stops" as possible too.

-k

qnx
Registered User
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2003 6:03 am

Post by qnx » Tue Aug 19, 2003 12:48 am

In a setting for a newsgroup, there is "Max Message Size", the description says "in kb" and the default value is 1024000. Are you sure we want 1G max size for a message ?

trackpads
Registered User
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 10:38 pm

Post by trackpads » Tue Aug 19, 2003 2:56 am

I got beta 2 to install without blowing up. I untar'd it on the server this time and it went fine. I also started from a fresh phpbb install and a fresh dbase so I think one of those is what fixed it.

It was most likely on my end though, thanks again for the help,

-Jason
Image

wineknow
Registered User
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 5:20 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Post by wineknow » Tue Aug 19, 2003 3:20 am

qnx wrote: In a setting for a newsgroup, there is "Max Message Size", the description says "in kb" and the default value is 1024000. Are you sure we want 1G max size for a message ?


ok, this is something that I meant to clean up for some time...
- the value is in bytes -- which I will change to Kb -- which I will do for beta 3
- I am thinking it should default to 10Kb -- any comments?

-k

User avatar
basketforum
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2003 5:47 pm
Location: Aalst

Post by basketforum » Wed Aug 20, 2003 4:30 pm

I have a phpbb installation

my provider says that the path is /home/USERNAME/public_html

So I use

/home/USERNAME/public_html/newssync

AND

/home/USERNAME/public_html/test206

(test206 is where phpbb is installed)

Replace USERNAME with your login name (what I do :wink: )

but I alwaysget "Invalid directory path"


runnig PHP Version 4.3.2 on a Linux machine
Last edited by basketforum on Fri Aug 22, 2003 7:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

npereira
Registered User
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun May 11, 2003 2:55 am
Contact:

Post by npereira » Thu Aug 21, 2003 7:58 pm

I installed newssync 1.5B2 without any issues.

Although, no news messages comes up in the forum and none posted to the forum goes to the NNTP server.

I have setup the forum as Both Ways, but still. I'm using free.teranews.com and it requires a username and password that I have entered.

It does not seem to sync ! Am I missing somthing?
Regards,

Nelson

wineknow
Registered User
Posts: 299
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2003 5:20 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Post by wineknow » Thu Aug 21, 2003 8:05 pm

npereira wrote: I installed newssync 1.5B2 without any issues.

Although, no news messages comes up in the forum and none posted to the forum goes to the NNTP server.

I have setup the forum as Both Ways, but still. I'm using free.teranews.com and it requires a username and password that I have entered.

It does not seem to sync ! Am I missing somthing?


do you get any errors when you run newssync?
check the log file...
-k

npereira
Registered User
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun May 11, 2003 2:55 am
Contact:

Post by npereira » Thu Aug 21, 2003 8:15 pm

This is in the console:
Output
Aug 21 8:11:14 pm NewsSync for phpBB 1.5.0 beta 2
Aug 21 8:11:14 pm © Copyright 2003 Cooler Climate | www.coolerclimate.com
Aug 21 8:11:15 pm Syncing: usenet:ott.motorcycles with phpBB:Test Forum 1
Aug 21 8:11:15 pm -- syncronization mode:
Aug 21 8:11:15 pm -- connected to free.teranews.com:119
Aug 21 8:11:17 pm -- approximately 9671 messages


This is in the log:
Log File Detail
Aug 21 7:57:40 pm Warning: previous process did not finish
Aug 21 7:57:40 pm Syncing: usenet:ott.motorcycles with phpBB:Test Forum 1
Aug 21 7:58:36 pm ** Initiating user requested shutdown
Aug 21 8:11:15 pm Syncing: usenet:ott.motorcycles with phpBB:Test Forum 1
Regards,

Nelson

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”