[BETA] Medal System MOD [ Latest: 0.4.6 ]

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
xmulder
Registered User
Posts: 429
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2002 8:37 pm

Post by xmulder »

is it possiable to make it so that the medal moderator does not have them automatically in their profile ias what i mean ;) it looks cool in the normal profile, just not the mods one :P

pengrus
Registered User
Posts: 566
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2002 6:13 am
Contact:

Post by pengrus »

Mac,

Glad you will think about show the Metal in Viewtopic page.

One more suggestion:

Make the Metals clickable in the www.domain.com/phpbb/metals.php so that once clicked it takes to the Metal's group page where all the receipients are listed.


One question:

The metals system looks to me just like the usergroup management. I am going to have many UNIQUE metal to give out, so I will need to create a lot of metal groups, will this be an effective method?

Thanks!

Rapid Dr3am
Registered User
Posts: 198
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2003 4:14 pm
Location: Incommunicado
Contact:

Post by Rapid Dr3am »

If you are not an admin or medal moderaor the tables are all messed up. :(

User avatar
Rookie7
Registered User
Posts: 189
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2003 3:32 pm
Contact:

Post by Rookie7 »

Can you make the images display on viewtopic just like the shop mod? In the shop mod, you can specify the images in ACP, then if a user has more awards then the amount of displayed images you specify, it'll display the word "more..." next to the last image.

For example, you specify to display maximum of 5 images in viewtopic. If a user has 7 awards, it'll show 5 images, then next to the last image, it shows "more..." and a link to the award page. :wink:

A.I. BOT
Registered User
Posts: 1848
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2003 11:43 pm
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Contact:

Post by A.I. BOT »

im still confused what does this mod do? is it like a ranks?

pengrus
Registered User
Posts: 566
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2002 6:13 am
Contact:

Post by pengrus »

To understand what it does, you only need to look at the screenshots that he posted...

ycl6
Translator
Posts: 5696
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 10:35 am
Location: Taiwan
Contact:

Post by ycl6 »

Rapid Dr3am wrote: If you are not an admin or medal moderaor the tables are all messed up. :(

To finx that
open

Code: Select all

medals_body.tpl
find

Code: Select all

		<!-- BEGIN switch_mod_option -->
		<tr>
			<td class="row1" align="center" nowrap="nowrap">
				<span class="gensmall"><a href="{medals.U_MEDAL_CP}" class="gen">{L_LINK_TO_CP}</a></span>
			</td>
		</tr>
		<!-- END switch_mod_option -->
replace with

Code: Select all

		<tr>
			<td class="row1" align="center" nowrap="nowrap">
			<!-- BEGIN switch_mod_option -->
				<span class="gensmall"><a href="{medals.U_MEDAL_CP}" class="gen">{L_LINK_TO_CP}</a></span>
			<!-- END switch_mod_option -->
			</td>
		</tr>

ycl6
Translator
Posts: 5696
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 10:35 am
Location: Taiwan
Contact:

Post by ycl6 »

pengrus wrote: Make the Metals clickable in the www.domain.com/phpbb/metals.php so that once clicked it takes to the Metal's group page where all the receipients are listed.

the user management page is only accessble by admin or medal moderator of the medal he/she is in charge with. So by making a clickable link is not too useful.

The real display page for everyone is medals.php
pengrus wrote: The metals system looks to me just like the usergroup management. I am going to have many UNIQUE metal to give out, so I will need to create a lot of metal groups, will this be an effective method?

when designing this MOD, I have a more "real-life" medal system in mind, where many member can be given the same medal, so it would be easier with a usergroup-kind of management.

If you are think more like each user receving different medal(s), then proable using Extra Fields in user profile MOD would be easier to managment.
Rookie7 wrote: Can you make the images display on viewtopic just like the shop mod?

Yes, I will look into this and do something about it :wink:

~Mac

seteo-bloke
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 281
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 1:41 pm

Post by seteo-bloke »

Has anyone found any good medal images for this mod?.

ycl6
Translator
Posts: 5696
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 10:35 am
Location: Taiwan
Contact:

Post by ycl6 »

MOD updated to V1.1.0

View version history for detail
medal images included

~Mac

User avatar
drumstix42
Registered User
Posts: 1100
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 11:01 pm
Location: NJ
Contact:

Post by drumstix42 »

Nice Images :)
Need a phpBB update or mod installed? PM me for any questions and pricing!
HostMonster.com (Unlimited Space, Unlimited Transfer, Unlimited Domains, $6.95/month )

User avatar
Jhno
Registered User
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 10:07 am

Post by Jhno »

My first two SQL installs went successfully but the third gave an error:

INSERT INTO `phpbb2_config` VALUES ('allow_medal_dispaly', '0')
+++ Error: Table 'Database1.phpbb2_config' doesn't exist

INSERT INTO `phpbb2_config` VALUES ('medal_display_row', '1')
+++ Error: Table 'Database1.phpbb2_config' doesn't exist

INSERT INTO `phpbb2_config` VALUES ('medal_display_col', '1')
+++ Error: Table 'Database1.phpbb2_config' doesn't exist

Table prefix is correct.
I think the table must exist but what could its name be? I'm sure I've got pretty much standard naming.

ycl6
Translator
Posts: 5696
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 10:35 am
Location: Taiwan
Contact:

Post by ycl6 »

Jhno wrote: INSERT INTO `phpbb2_config` VALUES ('allow_medal_dispaly', '0')
+++ Error: Table 'Database1.phpbb2_config' doesn't exist

When using phpmyadmin, Are you inside the database while executing the command?
I think you need to be in a database, so that the above action means inserting into a table in that db, else, it will mean inserting to a database. (my geuss)

edit: or in the sql statement, you need to include the database name.

if no luck, you can still key-in those values manually :wink:

~Mac

User avatar
Jhno
Registered User
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2003 10:07 am

Post by Jhno »

Thanks for the quick reply. My problem was simpler though, that I had phpbb_ as prefix, not phpbb2_. Doh.

ycl6
Translator
Posts: 5696
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 10:35 am
Location: Taiwan
Contact:

Post by ycl6 »

haha, I thought you said you are sure the prefix is correct :P
hope the rest installation went fine
let me know what you think of the MOD after you are done :D

~Mac

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”