[ABD] News Mod v1.2.1

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
Locked
sj26
Registered User
Posts: 447
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2001 4:06 pm
Location: /dev/cpu/[0-9]+ :D
Contact:

[ABD] News Mod v1.2.1

Post by sj26 »

News Mod

» Download latest version
» Downloads
» Screenshots

That's right! remember that news mod everyone loves ;)
Here's a shot to refresh:
Image

It's finally been released, under new ownership, new and improved!

New features:
  • Multiple Forums
  • Auth checking (only once per forum, quicker)
  • Specification of Announcements, Stickies and Normal Posts ofr each forum (mix and match)
  • Supports polls
  • Better javascript code
  • Easy-to-use configuration panel - no more configuration file editing!
  • EasyModv0.13 compatible
  • Attachment mod support coming soon!
» Click Here for more details...
Last edited by sj26 on Thu Nov 11, 2004 5:54 am, edited 8 times in total.
[ Working on: It's a secret! ]
[ Links: My Mods | My Site | PALGN ]
Stephania
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun May 12, 2002 4:08 am
Contact:

Post by Stephania »

I really want this hack but Im having a few problems with it.

Ive gone through it 3 times so far...

First, when I go to config (using your modulated config, which is extremely cool - BTW), I do not see the lin for news settings - its just not there...

So, I went in the "back door" to get access to it so to speak by putting the url in my browser pointed to /phpbb2/admin/admin_config.php?config=config_news.php. I get an error :

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/username/public_html/phpbb2/admin/config/config_news.php on line 26

However I do see the configs...sort of. I see the right side of the table. The left side, which is supposed ot label what each configuration is, is blank. The only thing that is labeled is News Forums. For example the first line has no label, but it has yes/no radios - I have no idea what this refers to. This is how it is for everything - no labels or descriptions for the configurations. But I did try to "configure it" with the little info I knew about this mod. It said my changes were successful, but nothing happened. So when I go back into the confiuration, things that I checked yes to are now unchecked.

Please help!

If you need more info let me know. I suck at describing problems!
sj26
Registered User
Posts: 447
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2001 4:06 pm
Location: /dev/cpu/[0-9]+ :D
Contact:

Post by sj26 »

I'll look into it ;)
[ Working on: It's a secret! ]
[ Links: My Mods | My Site | PALGN ]
kane91rs
Registered User
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed May 08, 2002 7:14 am

Post by kane91rs »

I am having the same problem execpt I see the link for news settings but then i get the error on line 26

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /usr/local/psa/home/vhosts/cichlid.us/httpdocs/admin/config/config_news.php on line 26


General Error
Couldn't create news configuration.

DEBUG MODE

SQL Error : 1054 Unknown column 'TRUE' in 'field list'

INSERT INTO phpbb_config (config_name, config_value) VALUES ('news_display', ''), ('news_items', '10'), ('news_source_forums', ''), ('news_display_polls', TRUE), ('news_trim_char', ''), ('news_display_signature', ''), ('news_display_edit_info', ''), ('news_time_format', 'm-d g:iA')

Line : 119
File : /usr/local/psa/home/vhosts/cichlid.us/httpdocs/admin/config/config_news.php
kane91rs
Registered User
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed May 08, 2002 7:14 am

Post by kane91rs »

I figured it out the problem everyone is having is that this

Code: Select all

('news_display_polls', TRUE),
Is supposed to be this

Code: Select all

('news_display_polls', '" . TRUE . "'),
hope that helps everyone
sj26
Registered User
Posts: 447
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2001 4:06 pm
Location: /dev/cpu/[0-9]+ :D
Contact:

Post by sj26 »

Yes, I have uploaded a new version to the server. Wait for it to appear. If fixes a couple of small but very annoying problems. ;)
[ Working on: It's a secret! ]
[ Links: My Mods | My Site | PALGN ]
DorG
Registered User
Posts: 412
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 6:40 am

hehe

Post by DorG »

There is already something similar out, but without a configuration panel, can that be updated to this one? ( i am refering to this one - newsmod2[1].0.4.tar.gz -)
---
- <
---
sj26
Registered User
Posts: 447
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2001 4:06 pm
Location: /dev/cpu/[0-9]+ :D
Contact:

Post by sj26 »

This was based on an old news mod that the authopr didn't want any more. I don't know whether that is the one you're referring to. Try this one and have a look, but you can add custom configuration panels for any mod using Modulated Configuration Mod.
[ Working on: It's a secret! ]
[ Links: My Mods | My Site | PALGN ]
ffak
Registered User
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2001 8:24 am
Location: Paris

Post by ffak »

Is it possible to have the module with expand fonction "on" all the time?
i want display 1 news a the time and also expand it all the time (no js +/-)

What's the way?
thx :)
Visit my phpBB place!
=Forum francophone=
DorG
Registered User
Posts: 412
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2002 6:40 am

he

Post by DorG »

K sj26,


Will get a look at it, prolly almost tesame tho, doesn't matter, both works ;-)
---
- <
---
User avatar
DeWoert
Registered User
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2002 9:43 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by DeWoert »

Is it possible to TRIM the news items to (let's say) 250 characters ??

I'm looking for a news-script with that function. Would be great if it where possible with this one.

thanks..
sj26
Registered User
Posts: 447
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2001 4:06 pm
Location: /dev/cpu/[0-9]+ :D
Contact:

Post by sj26 »

DeWoert, I will include this feature for you ;)

Also, I will be adding the option to set each message to displayed or not displayed, and being able to set a default. This option will only come up for admins.
[ Working on: It's a secret! ]
[ Links: My Mods | My Site | PALGN ]
thesky
Registered User
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2002 3:51 pm

Post by thesky »

sj

any idea when u can release a new version that will settle the problem on line 26??
Iron-Monkey
Registered User
Posts: 284
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2001 12:18 am
Location: California, USA

Post by Iron-Monkey »

I am having problem of not seeing anything in the admin control panel after I install this mod. I go to Admin panel ---->>> Configuration but then I see nothing about the news. It is as though I did not even install the mod. I had no error message, but I don't see any news option either.
kane91rs
Registered User
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed May 08, 2002 7:14 am

Post by kane91rs »

He is going to release a new version of this mod with the bugs fixed
Locked

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”