[BETA] Quest MOD v2.3.1 (MMORPG MOD)

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
Post Reply
theanimewizard
Registered User
Posts: 646
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2003 9:24 pm
Contact:

Post by theanimewizard » Tue May 11, 2004 11:04 pm

Nu, did you make the sprite clothes or you got them somewhere?

cuz its so hard to make sprites ... do u have more of the clotheS?

Nuladion
Registered User
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2003 6:10 pm
Contact:

Post by Nuladion » Wed May 12, 2004 2:23 pm

theanimewizard wrote: Nu, did you make the sprite clothes or you got them somewhere?

cuz its so hard to make sprites ... do u have more of the clotheS?


Nop, I didn't make the sprites that come with the zip.

But I'm working on more sprites for my own site, here are a few of them:
Underpants: Image
Leather Tunic: Image
Leather Hat: Image

:D

Magnotta
Former Team Member
Posts: 1093
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2003 4:16 am
Location: Ontario

Post by Magnotta » Wed May 12, 2004 4:32 pm

WHere do I go to change the characters clothes and such?

umiya
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 7:03 pm

Post by umiya » Wed May 12, 2004 6:18 pm

when is the adr port going to be available for the newest version?

Q-Zar
Registered User
Posts: 779
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2002 8:30 pm
Location: Brussels
Contact:

Post by Q-Zar » Thu May 13, 2004 7:07 am

Magnotta wrote: WHere do I go to change the characters clothes and such?


To change the appearance on the map, you have to use the sprite system.
On a map, you'll have a picture of your character next to it, with your name. Click on the character to change the look.
Traductions : Cash Mod v2.2.2 (Getting Started) / Dice Mod v1.2.3 / Activity Mod Plus 1.0.8
Remember this. Please read the F.A.Q/Troubleshooting of a mod before asking questions.
Image

Nuladion
Registered User
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2003 6:10 pm
Contact:

Post by Nuladion » Sun May 16, 2004 10:10 am

ADR Port for v2.3.1 RELEASED!

Link is in the first post!

Enjoy :D

~ Nuladion

User avatar
Agnostik
Registered User
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2002 2:07 pm
Contact:

Post by Agnostik » Tue May 18, 2004 1:20 am

First, one of the most amazing MODS I've ever seen!

My only concern is the necessity to completely reload the graphics screen with each movement. Is it even possible to *blip* the characters and items only so the map itself doesn't have to continually reload?

I'm not expecting a workaround to that any time soon, just wondering if it's possible to do without resorting to a completely new coding solution.

Nuladion
Registered User
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2003 6:10 pm
Contact:

Post by Nuladion » Tue May 18, 2004 6:08 am

Agnostik wrote: First, one of the most amazing MODS I've ever seen!

My only concern is the necessity to completely reload the graphics screen with each movement. Is it even possible to *blip* the characters and items only so the map itself doesn't have to continually reload?

I'm not expecting a workaround to that any time soon, just wondering if it's possible to do without resorting to a completely new coding solution.


Thanks, I am glad you like it :)

I don't think that is do-able with PHP. I already tried to speed up the loading time by adding the map export feature. There'll always be some loading, but it's not THAT much :P


----------------------------------------------------------
I started working abit on a Chatbox.
Image

Don't know if I'll keep those speech bubbles in there. They look very nice, but also take a good amount of space :?

User avatar
Agnostik
Registered User
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2002 2:07 pm
Contact:

Post by Agnostik » Tue May 18, 2004 7:46 am

It could be done with Flash, as Flash can read data from text files and MSSQL/MySQL databases. Just about every browser comes with Flash built-in now, allows for transparent images, and requires little bandwidth.

I will be using Flash to create maps and sprites for my own C++/PHP/MSSQL game.

Anyways, just an idea.

Nuladion
Registered User
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2003 6:10 pm
Contact:

Post by Nuladion » Tue May 18, 2004 1:15 pm

Agnostik wrote: It could be done with Flash, as Flash can read data from text files and MSSQL/MySQL databases. Just about every browser comes with Flash built-in now, allows for transparent images, and requires little bandwidth.

I will be using Flash to create maps and sprites for my own C++/PHP/MSSQL game.

Anyways, just an idea.


Yes, Flash would definitely be alot better. I already tried various times to make a Quest MOD in Flash + PHP (click here for an example (use "test" / "test" to login)). The only problem is, is that I couldn't get other users show + move on your map correctly, and I really wanted to have some sort of multiplayer in the MOD :P

If I ever manage to get it to work in Flash, I'll be sure to switch to Flash instead of PHP (all help is highly appreciated ;)), but until then you'll have to do with (minor) loading times every time you move ;)

~ Nuladion

koraal
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2004 2:23 pm

Post by koraal » Wed May 19, 2004 11:51 am

if i have ADR mode v 0.2.1 what i need to do?

Nuladion
Registered User
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2003 6:10 pm
Contact:

Post by Nuladion » Wed May 19, 2004 1:31 pm

koraal wrote: if i have ADR mode v 0.2.1 what i need to do?


Do in this order:
- Make sure you've succesfully installed Advanced Dungeons & Rabbits
- download the latest Quest MOD version (v2.3.1) and install it
- Apply the ADR Port for v2.3.1 to make the Quest MOD work with ADR
- You're all done now :)

Enjoy the MOD! :D
And please post all your ideas, suggestions, etc here! :D

~ Nuladion

User avatar
Agnostik
Registered User
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2002 2:07 pm
Contact:

Post by Agnostik » Wed May 19, 2004 5:04 pm

That Flash attempt streams beautifully, but smart move switching it from an isometric to birds-eye view. It's much easier now to stroll around the screen without having to move diagonally through tilted doorways.

As for Flash, wasn't aware of the limitations in multiplayer interaction. My game (in development) is turn-based and therefore I hadn't anticipated some of the difficulties in RT environments.

I would suggest that for the Chat, you keep the character sprites for all comments/replies to the left side. If the chat is lively, it may be difficult to read the comments AND shift your eye far right to see who said what before the comment scrolls past.

koraal
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2004 2:23 pm

Post by koraal » Wed May 19, 2004 6:50 pm

Nuladion wrote:
koraal wrote:if i have ADR mode v 0.2.1 what i need to do?


Do in this order:
- Make sure you've succesfully installed Advanced Dungeons & Rabbits
- download the latest Quest MOD version (v2.3.1) and install it
- Apply the ADR Port for v2.3.1 to make the Quest MOD work with ADR
- You're all done now :)

Enjoy the MOD! :D
And please post all your ideas, suggestions, etc here! :D

~ Nuladion


ok thank you...

Legendary GIR
Registered User
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2004 9:38 pm
Location: My basement
Contact:

Post by Legendary GIR » Sun May 30, 2004 11:58 pm

umm... I get the message

Code: Select all

Template->make_filename(): Error - file does not exist
when i try to edit everything that has to do with the quest mod...

How the hell do i fix that?!?

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”