[BETA] Activity / Arcade Mod 2.1.2

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
Post Reply
User avatar
defender-uk
Registered User
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 9:06 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Post by defender-uk »

madpiper wrote: I had the default as user_points, but then changed it to user_money when I seen that the error appeared. It would be nice to get it working with the cash mod, but at the moment the games are free. :)


OK, The field you enter in to the activity mod must be the same as the default money field you have entered in to the cash mod.

Ie. In cash mod, make a currency, it should ask you what field name to store it in.

The in activity mod, use the same field name that you have just set-up in the cash mod.

dEf.

User avatar
defender-uk
Registered User
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 9:06 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Post by defender-uk »

RadioFlyer wrote: Defender-UK,

I've fully reinstalled the mod, but I'm still having the same problem. I see now that...

- The error only happens the first time each player makes it into the top list.
- The score is saved.
- It always says "***** Congratulations - A New All Time High Score *****", even if the score is lower than the record high score.
Any idea what to try next?

Thank you.


I surgest upgradeing the activity mod to the current version, if you have the current version, then the only thing I can ask is, what version of MySQL are U running on ?
Last edited by defender-uk on Fri Aug 20, 2004 2:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

RadioFlyer
Registered User
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu May 22, 2003 11:22 am

Post by RadioFlyer »

I'm using versions...

Activity mod 2.0.1
PHP version 4.3.4
MySQL version 4.0.18-standard

Btw, here are a couple tiny fixes that need to be done...

- the mod_uninstall.php only works with phpBB 2.0.6 (not 2.0.6 or greater)
- activity_body.tpl has a path to a template called subPortal hardcoded in a couple places.

User avatar
defender-uk
Registered User
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 9:06 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Post by defender-uk »

RadioFlyer wrote: I'm using versions...

Activity mod 2.0.1
PHP version 4.3.4
MySQL version 4.0.18-standard

Btw, here are a couple tiny fixes that need to be done...


Have you set your database type to mysql 4 ? as when i did I was having errors all over the place with phpbb?

AMod - 2.0.1 which beta version have you got? the archive it came in tell you, unless you have beta 1.
RadioFlyer wrote: - the mod_uninstall.php only works with phpBB 2.0.6 (not 2.0.6 or greater)
- activity_body.tpl has a path to a template called subPortal hardcoded in a couple places.


Both fixed ready for beta 5.

RadioFlyer
Registered User
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu May 22, 2003 11:22 am

Post by RadioFlyer »

From my config.php...
$dbms = 'mysql4';


I'm using beta 4.

I'm stumped. :(

visionofheaven
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 9:26 am

Post by visionofheaven »

ok stupid girl question here....

Ive got the file, Ive opend the install note pad and read:

Upload all files to their respective locations.

And already Im stumped....

Has anyone got the time or the patience to just tell me [as I cant see anywhere here a stoopid section] how to install this MOD...

Do I just copy the files over to my phpBB2 file and it does it?

Grrr .... I so want to be able to do this... someone must feel benevolent towards me!!?? lol its nearly middnight here!

User avatar
defender-uk
Registered User
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 9:06 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Post by defender-uk »

Hmm,

I'll take you though it, BUT you are going to need to EDIT some of your files UNLESS you have EasyMod installed, and then that will do it for you.

You are also going to need to run some SQL queries on your database, If your lost already, you may want to contact me, and I can take you through it all.

BUT when the install.txt says

copy activity.php to activity.php

it wants you to copy the activity.php file to your phpbb main directory.

copy game.php to game.php
copy newscore.php to newscore.php
copy mod_install.php to mod_install.php
copy mod_uninstall.php to mod_uninstall.php
copy mod_upgrade.php to mod_upgrade.php

So those files are in your main php directory now.

copy admin/admin_activity.php to admin/admin_activity.php

So that file would be in your admin directory.

etc and so on.

niksa
Registered User
Posts: 612
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 7:20 pm
Location: Future birthplace of James T. Kirk
Contact:

Post by niksa »

visionofheaven wrote: ok stupid girl question here....

Ive got the file, Ive opend the install note pad and read:

Upload all files to their respective locations.

And already Im stumped....

Has anyone got the time or the patience to just tell me [as I cant see anywhere here a stoopid section] how to install this MOD...

Do I just copy the files over to my phpBB2 file and it does it?

Grrr .... I so want to be able to do this... someone must feel benevolent towards me!!?? lol its nearly middnight here!


In addition to what defender-uk posted, this might help you in general with installing the rest of the mod, or other mods in the future.. :)

Here's some tutorials that might help. But most of your skill will come with practice and mistakes. I suggest setting up a test board and installing mods on it for a while. This board WILL be destroyed and broken.. so be prepared to reinstall!

[KB Tutorial] How to Install MODs
[KB Tutorial] How to Install MODs the Safe Way
[phpbbhacks Tutorial] How to Install MODs/Hacks - different version

There are tons of other tutorials out there, a quick search will find more, I'm sure! 8)

User avatar
defender-uk
Registered User
Posts: 380
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2004 9:06 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Post by defender-uk »

Thanks Niksa.

RELEASED - Beta 5.

This now include all the main foundations for the games mod, please don't uncomment ANY-THING that I have commented out :)

[changes]
Moved everything out of newscore.php that was not needed.
Fixed all the bugs prior to this message (so I'm not reading them all again).
Put back all the code for the cheat fix, and all the code to report cheaters, IF your board keeps saying people cheat,
...1. Let me know HOW it happens,
...2. If its a real pain TURN the option OFF.
Completely fixed the template not loading error :) YES..!
Added alot more checks to make sute the data comming back from the games is correct, and not full of junk :)
Games that do not have show score turned on, now DON'T post a score.
Games that return Zero as the result, now do not get posted, no-one that perfect on reverse listing games :)

Thats all I can think of at the mo.

Thanks dEf.

RadioFlyer
Registered User
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu May 22, 2003 11:22 am

Post by RadioFlyer »

When I attempt to run mod_upgrade.php for beta 5 I get the following message...
Database type :: mysql4
What are you trying to Upgrade from ?


It doesn't provide a way to answer the question.

whoo
Registered User
Posts: 575
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 4:12 am

Post by whoo »

quick commercial:

several new games added in the past cpl days, including yeti version 5 and flashpoker.

full list is at http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.ph ... 61#1128861

visionofheaven
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 9:26 am

Post by visionofheaven »

[quote="defender-uk"]Hmm,

I'll take you though it, BUT you are going to need to EDIT some of your files UNLESS you have EasyMod installed, and then that will do it for you.

Gosh thank you for your kind offer.....

Right I am about to tackle this monster... first thing is... where do I find EASYMOD to instal? I again tried the search and it come up with an error...

Ive copied the whole of the forum files to my pc... twice!

So my plan is to MOD one version of the files... uplaod it all to the file in my ftp and then hey presto it will be fabb!

If its balls'd up I can just re instal the other back up file...

so...... here we go! Oh no..Easy Mod.. where is that?? :?

visionofheaven
Registered User
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2004 9:26 am

Post by visionofheaven »

OK.... this is p!$$n me off now :( already made a mistake...

Anyone want $20 to do it for me? lol!!!

Uplaod files to their respective locations.... yeah right.. and they are?? I thought I had this sucker clintched too..

ok Im going to try one more time before screaming!

User avatar
Cryo
Registered User
Posts: 455
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2003 5:28 pm
Location: Canada
Name: Chris
Contact:

Post by Cryo »

lol just take your time and relax make sure you backup any files you edit.
if you require any help my service is free :wink:

niksa
Registered User
Posts: 612
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 7:20 pm
Location: Future birthplace of James T. Kirk
Contact:

Post by niksa »

visionofheaven wrote:
defender-uk wrote:Hmm,

I'll take you though it, BUT you are going to need to EDIT some of your files UNLESS you have EasyMod installed, and then that will do it for you.


Gosh thank you for your kind offer.....

Right I am about to tackle this monster... first thing is... where do I find EASYMOD to instal? I again tried the search and it come up with an error...

Ive copied the whole of the forum files to my pc... twice!

So my plan is to MOD one version of the files... uplaod it all to the file in my ftp and then hey presto it will be fabb!

If its balls'd up I can just re instal the other back up file...

so...... here we go! Oh no..Easy Mod.. where is that?? :?


Check my sig for a link to the Easymod forums.. you can DL it there. 8) They have a forum if you run into trouble using it too. You have to upload files AND edit files.. or let easyMOD edit them for you. But easyMOD is not 100% successful, and you will need to work to make it work too. Read the tutorials I posted. They will help.

Install a test forum, and practice installing small mods, and move up to big ones. This will help also. You don't need to backup the entire forum necessarily, btw, just download the forum files that you will be editing. It doesn't hurt to backup the entire forum though.. it's just a long DL. :P

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”