[BETA] The TRI FORCE (Username Color / User Level / ModCP)

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
Post Reply
User avatar
Lord 0f The Lanyards
Registered User
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2004 2:33 am
Location: cheeseland
Contact:

Post by Lord 0f The Lanyards »

TequilaTown wrote: Okay, with regret, I'm having no joy!!

Famitsu - Your changes do add the MCP link but, as kazango said you are unable are to you told that You are not authorised to administer this board

Lord 0f The Lanyards - I made the changes you suggest.....with a little difficult I might add. I use the find function of text editors to find the pieces of script that I desire. I had great trouble finding the lines that you indicate. I got an error on the control panel of the ACP saying that there was a parse error in the admin/admin_ug_auth.php file! I went over the data a manually typed in the changes, rather than cut and paste, and this seemed to fix it all!

Once done I have similar problems as with Famitsu's suggestion! I'm getting the You are not authorised to administer this board

I'm gonna endevour to see if I can fix it....I'm sure it's just a simple typo somewhere, or a line I failed to edit!

Cheers once again! Any comments, get in touch!
tequila town i can assure you that there are no errors what so ever in my add-on every line should findable, if it is not found try searching for a piece of it, the pagestart problem is because you do not have the line that kooky here suggested, also i have said if you wish to get support please go to http://rant-board.com and ask me there, i will no longer give support in this topic...
TequilaTown
Registered User
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 11:28 am
Contact:

Post by TequilaTown »

Famitsu you're the man! Thanks for that little change.....everything is up and running! I used your changes along with those of Lord 0f The Lanyards and I'm a very happy chappy! Thanks once again you two for all your help!
TequilaTown
Registered User
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 11:28 am
Contact:

Post by TequilaTown »

Lord 0f The Lanyards wrote:
TequilaTown wrote:Okay, with regret, I'm having no joy!!

Famitsu - Your changes do add the MCP link but, as kazango said you are unable are to you told that You are not authorised to administer this board

Lord 0f The Lanyards - I made the changes you suggest.....with a little difficult I might add. I use the find function of text editors to find the pieces of script that I desire. I had great trouble finding the lines that you indicate. I got an error on the control panel of the ACP saying that there was a parse error in the admin/admin_ug_auth.php file! I went over the data a manually typed in the changes, rather than cut and paste, and this seemed to fix it all!

Once done I have similar problems as with Famitsu's suggestion! I'm getting the You are not authorised to administer this board

I'm gonna endevour to see if I can fix it....I'm sure it's just a simple typo somewhere, or a line I failed to edit!

Cheers once again! Any comments, get in touch!
tequila town i can assure you that there are no errors what so ever in my add-on every line should findable, if it is not found try searching for a piece of it, the pagestart problem is because you do not have the line that kooky here suggested, also i have said if you wish to get support please go to http://rant-board.com and ask me there, i will no longer give support in this topic...


Aha ....you see there was something missing! Well all is fine and dandy now!

I'm curious....why do you not want to aid support to these modified lines that you have given for phpBB on the phpBB forums? Surely here, or the phpBBHacks forums, are the best places to go for such help. After all, I'm sure it's your first stop for advice...as it is mine!

Well.....I appreciate the fact that you were here to help me! I've got it all working and I'm over the moon!

Cheers Amigo! :D
User avatar
Lord 0f The Lanyards
Registered User
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2004 2:33 am
Location: cheeseland
Contact:

Post by Lord 0f The Lanyards »

famitsu is it possible for a moderator to temp ban a person from a certain forum, for bad behavior in that forum

here are some ideas i have:
  • 1. instead of allowing the moderator to ban the users completely, make a whole new file to let the moderator ban the person from THEIR forum
    2. maybe an add-on to yellow card mod when a moderator gives a person 3 yellows in the one forum, they get banned from the forum, just a thought...
COMMON.PHP FILE CHANGES NEEDED FOR ACTIVITY MOD PLUS INSTALL: http://phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?p=1177322#1177322
My Mod: Error Pages Mod
Image
Debbie Shapiro
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2004 6:24 pm
Location: Technical Communications Specialist

All OK, but I still don't know how to edit, run the SQL

Post by Debbie Shapiro »

Hi,

Thanks for your kind reply. I apologize, first of all, for writing to the wrong address, I didn't realize until much later that there was another place to write to.

I've succeeded in everything now, except for the SQL. I have no idea HOW to do that. We don't have a system administrator, so I'm doing all of this on my own. Could you advise WHAT EXACTLY I need to do so that I can enter the SQL code?

Many thanks

Debbie Shapiro
Debbie Shapiro
Famitsu
Registered User
Posts: 774
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 7:59 pm
Location: Account disabled -> see my signature to contact me
Contact:

Post by Famitsu »

Lord 0f The Lanyards wrote: famitsu is it possible for a moderator to temp ban a person from a certain forum, for bad behavior in that forum

here are some ideas i have:
  • 1. instead of allowing the moderator to ban the users completely, make a whole new file to let the moderator ban the person from THEIR forum
    2. maybe an add-on to yellow card mod when a moderator gives a person 3 yellows in the one forum, they get banned from the forum, just a thought...
Niels made a card ban time add-on for his Yellow Card Mod
This add-on added the right to ban a user for X time
But Niels didn't maintain it
There are few topics on it in Yellow Card forum
Ask Niels if he has the time to update his add-on or try to search these topics which included this old code :)

i'm not for implement new function for moderator
but it's possible to write new features and add them as goodies

Debbie Shapiro wrote: I've succeeded in everything now, except for the SQL. I have no idea HOW to do that. We don't have a system administrator, so I'm doing all of this on my own. Could you advise WHAT EXACTLY I need to do so that I can enter the SQL code?
Hi

about SQL queries you need to run them in your database, in your host management you should have phpMyAdmin
With it you will be able to manage your database and add your SQL queries
For more explanation a quick tutorial :)
-> http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.ph ... phpmyadmin
Don't PM me, i won't answer anymore

My Contibs: Online-Offline-Hidden | Email Confirmation
The TRI FORCE (Username Color | User Level | ModeratorCP)
...

My new/current account: contact me here
Debbie Shapiro
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2004 6:24 pm
Location: Technical Communications Specialist

Thanks so much and one last question

Post by Debbie Shapiro »

Hi, it worked! and now it works!

Thanks so much for the link to the tutorial. I had guessed I needed to work from this panel but didn't know what to do next!

Finally, one last question: What is "bot" and can you make some suggestions on how one might use these different levels?

Thanks again for your kind help.

Debbie Shapiro
Debbie Shapiro
Debbie Shapiro
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2004 6:24 pm
Location: Technical Communications Specialist

New problem after installing ModPC

Post by Debbie Shapiro »

Hi,

Well, I've installed the Moderators module, AND the one that lets me have different groups (Bot, Support etc.).

The new problem: When I log in from the top of the page, the log in does not take affect.

When I log in from the BOTTOM of the page, it does work.

Which page do I need to look at to see what I did wrong and then correct it?

Thanks again for all your help!

Debbie Shapiro
Debbie Shapiro
Famitsu
Registered User
Posts: 774
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 7:59 pm
Location: Account disabled -> see my signature to contact me
Contact:

Re: Thanks so much and one last question

Post by Famitsu »

Debbie Shapiro wrote: Finally, one last question: What is "bot" and can you make some suggestions on how one might use these different levels?
Bot is a robot but it's also an example
so you can replace Bot with VIP or anything else :)
You set these level in AdminCP -> Users permissions -> select one user
You have a drop down menu with all your Levels (except MOD)

User Level Mod is still in beta development and will need improvement
cause it's a little hard to understand how it works for a novice
Debbie Shapiro wrote: The new problem: When I log in from the top of the page, the log in does not take affect.

When I log in from the BOTTOM of the page, it does work.

Which page do I need to look at to see what I did wrong and then correct it?
i don't really understand your problem

With ModeratorCP and access to this panel ?

When you log in on at the bottom of index page all is OK !!!

but can you explain what means "When I log in from the top of the page, the log in does not take affect."? Where? and for what?
Don't PM me, i won't answer anymore

My Contibs: Online-Offline-Hidden | Email Confirmation
The TRI FORCE (Username Color | User Level | ModeratorCP)
...

My new/current account: contact me here
Debbie Shapiro
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2004 6:24 pm
Location: Technical Communications Specialist

Better explanation of problem

Post by Debbie Shapiro »

OK, there is the Log In text option at the top of the page.

At the bottom of the page are Log In FIELDS for logging in with my user name and password.

When I log in via the text link at the top of the page, a window appears and I enter my user name and password, click Log in. I am returned to the forums. BUT, on one computer, I am still not logged in.

This happened to me ALL day yesterday. I just now tried again to repeat the scenario for better description to you - on a different computer - and everything is OK - go figure?

I will keep you advised if the problem returns.

Thanks again for your prompt replies. I am hoping the forums take off with the people I set it up for.

Debbie
Debbie Shapiro
Famitsu
Registered User
Posts: 774
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 7:59 pm
Location: Account disabled -> see my signature to contact me
Contact:

Re: Better explanation of problem

Post by Famitsu »

Debbie Shapiro wrote: This happened to me ALL day yesterday. I just now tried again to repeat the scenario for better description to you - on a different computer - and everything is OK - go figure?

I will keep you advised if the problem returns.
Do you have this issue on a local board ? on your HDD ?
Maybe a firewall issue, i have this same issue on my local test board
if i set off my firewall, then log in, set on my firewall that works :?:
Don't PM me, i won't answer anymore

My Contibs: Online-Offline-Hidden | Email Confirmation
The TRI FORCE (Username Color | User Level | ModeratorCP)
...

My new/current account: contact me here
TequilaTown
Registered User
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2004 11:28 am
Contact:

Post by TequilaTown »

No mate.....I have no problems at all! I can log in using either way!
Debbie Shapiro
Registered User
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2004 6:24 pm
Location: Technical Communications Specialist

Ah Firewall...

Post by Debbie Shapiro »

I didn't think of that.

Phew, so that means its just me and not all our users. That is really what I was worried about. We have a huge firewall at work - but I don't at home.

The important thing - I can log in and this is probably not a proble for all our users.

Thanks again!

Debbie
Debbie Shapiro
Shof515
Registered User
Posts: 1169
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2003 4:36 am

Post by Shof515 »

does the Username Color Mod work with the JR. Admin
Whos missing up my sig?
Famitsu
Registered User
Posts: 774
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 7:59 pm
Location: Account disabled -> see my signature to contact me
Contact:

Post by Famitsu »

Shof515 wrote: does the Username Color Mod work with the JR. Admin
it works with all mods which respect phpBB standard coding
otherwise it wouldn't be validated here :)
Don't PM me, i won't answer anymore

My Contibs: Online-Offline-Hidden | Email Confirmation
The TRI FORCE (Username Color | User Level | ModeratorCP)
...

My new/current account: contact me here
Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”