[RC] Advanced Topic Type

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
MrDSL
Registered User
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 1:52 am
Contact:

Post by MrDSL »

Ok I figured out what I did wrong only problem I have is normal topics are all split when you view them but I noticed on page 2 you'll be fixing that..Great Mod

In the install file I have this

Code: Select all

#-----[ IN-LINE FIND ]----------------------------------------------
#

topic_type = $topic_type

#
#-----[ IN-LINE AFTER, ADD ]----------------------------------------------
#

 $topic_type_active,
I had to drop the , to get it to work. Also I can't seem to get the topic type icon to show up, I have checked the edits and they all seem there but I do have post icons, cat. heirarchy and split topics/global announce installed so it may be an issue with one of them not sure.
Maxson
Registered User
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 11, 2004 11:50 pm

Post by Maxson »

My topic type image that I added through ACP is not working. If this helps, I am not using Sub Silver theme.
MrDSL
Registered User
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2004 1:52 am
Contact:

Post by MrDSL »

Any update on a fix?
kazper
Registered User
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 9:26 pm

Post by kazper »

To make this (great!!!) mod work alongside Cement Topic MOD make the following changes AFTER installing both mods!!!!

Code: Select all

#
#-----[ OPEN ]----------------------------------------------
#

viewforum.php

#-----[ FIND ]----------------------------------------------
#

		AND t.topic_type = " . POST_ANNOUNCE . " 
	ORDER BY t.topic_priority DESC, t.topic_last_post_id DESC ";

#
#-----[ REPLACE WITH ]----------------------------------------------
#

		AND t.topic_type = " . POST_ANNOUNCE . "
	ORDER BY t.topic_type DESC, t.topic_priority DESC, t.topic_last_post_id DESC ";

#-----[ FIND ]----------------------------------------------
#

  AND t.topic_type_active = 1
  $limit_topics_time
  ORDER BY t.topic_type DESC, t.topic_last_post_id DESC 

#
#-----[ REPLACE WITH ]----------------------------------------------
#

  AND t.topic_type_active = 1
  $limit_topics_time
  ORDER BY t.topic_type DESC, t.topic_priority DESC, t.topic_last_post_id DESC 

#-----[ FIND ]----------------------------------------------
#

  AND ( (t.topic_type > ". POST_GLOBAL_ANNOUNCE ." AND t.topic_type_active = 0 ) OR t.topic_type = " . POST_NORMAL . " )
  $limit_topics_time
  ORDER BY t.topic_last_post_id DESC 

#
#-----[ REPLACE WITH ]----------------------------------------------
#

  AND ( (t.topic_type > ". POST_GLOBAL_ANNOUNCE ." AND t.topic_type_active = 0 ) OR t.topic_type = " . POST_NORMAL . " )
  $limit_topics_time
  ORDER BY t.topic_priority DESC, t.topic_last_post_id DESC
Note - no guarantees I got all the changes right, but I believe so, and it works for me.
sikita
Registered User
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:40 am

Pinned

Post by sikita »

Hi,

i think it is great mod, but after I have installed it I can't priorize new topic type. I have to edit and resave (save it again and again, everytime after adding new topic of this type in forum) topic type in ACP to move this topic types to top.

Using PHPBB 2.0.10, Drafts Mod ...

Any help, please...
sikita
Registered User
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:40 am

Bug

Post by sikita »

I think the bug is here:

Code: Select all

// BEGIN Advanced Topic Type MOD
    $sql_tt = "SELECT * FROM ". TOPIC_ADD_TYPE_TABLE ." 
      WHERE topic_type_order = ". intval($topic_type-POST_ADD_TYPE) ;    
    
    if ( !$result_tt = $db->sql_query($sql_tt) )
    {
      message_die(GENERAL_ERROR, 'Could not get topic type info', '', __LINE__, __FILE__, $sql_tt);
    }
     
    while( $tt_row = $db->sql_fetchrow($result_tt) )
    {
      $topic_type_active = ", topic_type_active = ". $tt_row['topic_type_active'] ."";
    } 
    // END Advanced Topic Type MOD
because it is not adding "1" to topic_type_active when posting ... so it is not holding its position on the top later in forum. Any help.. please!
encryption
Registered User
Posts: 392
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2003 2:07 pm
Contact:

Post by encryption »

I installed this mod on another vanilla phpbb forum I run and for some strange reason, the icons that came with this MOD work in some forums and not in the others.... is this phpbb 2.0.10 compliant ?? is the above a bug ??

-e-
kazper
Registered User
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 9:26 pm

Post by kazper »

It does seem to be a bug that it fails to set the "topic_type_active" for the topics where it should when posting.

But the bug isn't in the snippet of code posted from what I can see. That seems to work correctly. Possibly it's a conflict with another mod...
kazper
Registered User
Posts: 122
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 9:26 pm

Post by kazper »

Would also be great if it could be done so that these topic types could be set from the moderator panel? Consider that a feature request ;)
sikita
Registered User
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 9:40 am

Posts reseting

Post by sikita »

My problem is: sometimes (accidentally in all probability because I do not find any reason) the posts count is reseted to zero and last post info is as "No new posts". The topics count is ok...

It is started to happen after instaling "Advanced Topic Type" but after unistalling and deleting relevant tabs it is still happening...

Any help please...
Krisiun
Registered User
Posts: 124
Joined: Mon Feb 03, 2003 12:46 pm
Location: Porto Alegre - Brazil
Contact:

Post by Krisiun »

Nice MOD. :)
FPClub
Registered User
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 3:23 pm

Post by FPClub »

I'm getting an error message ONLY after putting in the edited viewforum.php file, can anyone help? I've edited it twice and gotten different results...

Image

Also, how the hell do you even use this mod? I don't see it anywhere in the admin panel...Some instructions would have been nice, those pics of it are teases...thanks

If you need code from viewforum.php, let me know.
n00bstorm
Registered User
Posts: 481
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 7:52 pm

Post by n00bstorm »

Hello i installed this mod a weak ago and i have a problem which is this:

problem is this only mod can post as those types w no error when i log in under nomal user and i wanna use those types evreytime i click " Submit " i get this error

Code: Select all

Error in posting

DEBUG MODE

SQL Error : 1064 You have an error in your SQL syntax near ' 0)' at line 1

INSERT INTO topics (topic_title,topic_desc, topic_poster, topic_time, forum_id, topic_status, topic_type, topic_vote) VALUES ('TTT','TTT', 3, 1111940652, 1, 0, , 0)

Line : 290
File : /var/www/html/online/includes/functions_post.php
I know it has somethin to do w the tipics in phpmyadmin and i look at it but i cant figure out what i need to change for it to work? Can someone please please help me! Thx
n00bstorm
Registered User
Posts: 481
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 7:52 pm

Post by n00bstorm »

no idea? =o
User avatar
MHobbit
Former Team Member
Posts: 4761
Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 5:32 pm
Location: There and Back Again

Post by MHobbit »

FPClub wrote: I'm getting an error message ONLY after putting in the edited viewforum.php file, can anyone help? I've edited it twice and gotten different results...

Also, how the hell do you even use this mod? I don't see it anywhere in the admin panel...Some instructions would have been nice, those pics of it are teases...thanks

If you need code from viewforum.php, let me know.


Language, language... no need for profanity...

You didn't do the SQL queries. :?
Former phpBB MOD Team member
No private support is offered.
"There’s too many things to get done, and I’m running out of days..."
Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”