[BETA] AdvancedSitename 0.9.1

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
User avatar
mad-manne
Registered User
Posts: 776
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 6:59 pm
Location: Marl, Germany

[BETA] AdvancedSitename 0.9.1

Post by mad-manne » Wed Sep 15, 2004 1:00 pm

MOD Title: AdvancedSitename
MOD Description: This MOD adds the ability to have different "versions" of the sitename on the page-header, the navigation-links, the img ALT-tag of the board's logo and the titlebar of the browser.
MOD Version: BETA 0.9.1
MOD Download: AdvancedSitename(BETA_0.9.1).zip
Last Stable version: -/-

Demo Board: http://phpbb.mad-manne.de/mods2.0
Demo Username: mad-tester
Demo Password: crazy


Hi there,
here's something I coded for one of my boards ... not sure if anybody needs this, but anyway I thought I'd polish it up to be ready to be released into BETA right away! 8)

What does it do?
This MOD adds some more config-values to the board's configuration in order to be able to have different "versions" of the sitename on the page-header, the navigation-links, the img ALT-tag of the board's logo and the titlebar of the browser.

What's that good for ?
Well, I had the idea after using some HTML-tags in my sitename which where parsed fine in page-header(above site-description) and the navigation-links(Your Sitename Forum Index-links), but would not look good in the titlebar of the browser :-(
Another reason could be the possibility to have a short version of your sitename in the navigation-links, because a long name would look bad.

Here are 3 screenshots that should make the whole thing clear.
Click any picture for a bigger version ...
Sitename on a normal phpBB:
Image


AdvancedSitenames with my MOD:
Image


ACP \ General Admin \ Configuration:
Image


:idea: I installed this with EasyMod onto a vanilla phpBB, with no problems ...

Hope you like it,
Manfred
Last edited by mad-manne on Thu Sep 08, 2005 8:15 am, edited 7 times in total.
Try not. Do or do not. There is no try. (YODA)

User avatar
mad-manne
Registered User
Posts: 776
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 6:59 pm
Location: Marl, Germany

Post by mad-manne » Wed Sep 15, 2004 9:06 pm

... so nobody is interested in this ?? 8O

I have just found a "bug" and would like some feedback about that bug and the MOD itself ...

Here's the "bug":
It's not only in the titlebar of the browser where problems with HTML-tags arise ... it's the same with the ALT- and TITLE tags inside the IMG-tag that displays the boards logo.
:arrow: So that means that the "quick-tip", that opens while you move the mouse over the board-logo, would show HTML-tags unparsed!

I would think of 2 possible solutions:
  • Replace the tags with the same value as for the titlebar of the browser-window.
  • Create another additional Sitename-value for this IMG-tag
As the name of the MOD is AdvancedSitename, I would tend to use the second solution, because like that you'd have the whole freedom to do whatever you want!

Now let's see, if this gets some attention :?:
Cheers, Manfred.
Try not. Do or do not. There is no try. (YODA)

MobiTec
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 2:28 pm
Location: Leeds (uk)
Contact:

Post by MobiTec » Wed Sep 15, 2004 10:18 pm

Nice mod...

May come in usefull... :) thanks
************Click Banner For Mobile Offer!!!***********
Image

User avatar
mad-manne
Registered User
Posts: 776
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 6:59 pm
Location: Marl, Germany

Post by mad-manne » Wed Sep 15, 2004 10:27 pm

MobiTec wrote: Nice mod...

May come in usefull... :) thanks
Glad to hear there's someone who's interested 8)
mad-manne wrote: I would think of 2 possible solutions:
  • Replace the tags with the same value as for the titlebar of the browser-window.
  • Create another additional Sitename-value for this IMG-tag
[/size]
Do you have any opinion about the solution of the "bug" I reported in my second post?

Thanks for the feedback,
Manfred.
Try not. Do or do not. There is no try. (YODA)

User avatar
mad-manne
Registered User
Posts: 776
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 6:59 pm
Location: Marl, Germany

Post by mad-manne » Fri Sep 17, 2004 7:21 pm

<irony>
I must admit, that I am overwhelmed about the attention this topic gets :P
</irony>

O.K. To be honest, I didn't expect this one to be a big show-stopper 8)
... just wanted to say that this little thingie works fine in my board, but I wouldn't want to bother the MOD-validation team with this, if really *noone* is interested in it.

So I hope it'll be O.K. to bump this once in a while to see if it get's attention within the next couple of weeks ... if it doesn't I would just abandon it.

Cheers,
Manfred.
Try not. Do or do not. There is no try. (YODA)

seteo-bloke
I've Been Banned!
Posts: 281
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 1:41 pm

Post by seteo-bloke » Fri Sep 17, 2004 9:32 pm

Good idea. I'm going to install it shortly.

Also, remember not everyone posts when they use a mod so it's more than likely to be more popular than you realise. ;)

User avatar
mad-manne
Registered User
Posts: 776
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 6:59 pm
Location: Marl, Germany

Post by mad-manne » Fri Sep 17, 2004 10:46 pm

seteo-bloke wrote: Good idea. I'm going to install it shortly.
Maybe you should wait a while ...
:arrow: I am just about to setup my new DEMO-board and during some tests I found out that this was kind of a quick shot! There are some issues I need to handle, because the standard sitename-variable is used in some other context like E-Mail notifications and PM-notification popup. So if you use HTML in that, it'll look quite garbled :?

I will fix that soon.

The other thing comes in, when talking of the ALT-tags in the board-logo. As described further up this topic, this also will not parse HTML, and so I am now deciding to make that an extra field too. In addition I will also add the TITLE-tag to the board-image, because this is not there with some graphics but is there with others in a vanilla phpBB 8O
So this bug actually only affects IE(but there are some people around using it :oops: )
Also, remember not everyone posts when they use a mod so it's more than likely to be more popular than you realise. ;)
That's O.K. for me ... just wanted to make sure that there's at least some people who use this before thinking about finishing this one and submitting it to be validated!

Thanks for your feedback,
Manfred.
Try not. Do or do not. There is no try. (YODA)

fumbalah
Registered User
Posts: 2000
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2004 3:02 pm
Location: Lexington, Kentucky
Contact:

Post by fumbalah » Sat Sep 18, 2004 3:02 am

This sounds like an interesting mod, i might have to give this a try

User avatar
mad-manne
Registered User
Posts: 776
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 6:59 pm
Location: Marl, Germany

Post by mad-manne » Sat Sep 18, 2004 1:02 pm

fumbalah wrote: This sounds like an interesting mod, i might have to give this a try
I'll be releasing the next version this evening ... should be sometime around 22:00 CET!

:idea: stay tuned,
Manfred.
Try not. Do or do not. There is no try. (YODA)

User avatar
mad-manne
Registered User
Posts: 776
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 6:59 pm
Location: Marl, Germany

Post by mad-manne » Sat Sep 18, 2004 10:43 pm

mad-manne wrote: I'll be releasing the next version this evening ... should be sometime around 22:00 CET!

O.K. here I am back with the latest version ... please refer to the initial post and get the latest code!

I vamped this MOD up a bit, so now you even have some more AdvancedSitename options 8)

:arrow: next thing to do:
I' ll be writing a db_update-script that inserts all the new config-variables and sets them to the standard-sitename! If you run this prior to installation, your board will look exactly the same after applying the MOD.
Then you would go into ACP \ General Admin \ Configuration and make your changes ...

Cheers,
Manfred.
Try not. Do or do not. There is no try. (YODA)

User avatar
mad-manne
Registered User
Posts: 776
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 6:59 pm
Location: Marl, Germany

Post by mad-manne » Tue Sep 28, 2004 4:54 pm

Hi there,
finally I relaunched my DEMO-board, so you can see a live-demo over there!

I would appreciate to know, whether anyone is actually using this ...
if YES, please give me feedback especially error-reports, which I would like to get before making this a ReleaseCandidate ...

Cheers,
Manfred.
Try not. Do or do not. There is no try. (YODA)

User avatar
SunZeroX
Registered User
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 7:40 pm
Contact:

Post by SunZeroX » Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:14 pm

this is VERY usefull to me

User avatar
mad-manne
Registered User
Posts: 776
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 6:59 pm
Location: Marl, Germany

Post by mad-manne » Thu Sep 30, 2004 12:19 pm

SunZeroX wrote: this is VERY usefull to me
Good to hear ...
could you PM me a link to your board(don't post it into this thread, because it might not conform with the board's rules), so that I can have a look :roll:

Cheers,
Manfred.

[EDIT] I could have just used the www-link from your profile ... but that seems to be dead :-([/EDIT]
Try not. Do or do not. There is no try. (YODA)

User avatar
SunZeroX
Registered User
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 7:40 pm
Contact:

Post by SunZeroX » Sat Oct 02, 2004 1:21 pm

yeah, my host has problems with their ISP

someone tried to get credit card numbers trough the ISP service :lol:

User avatar
mad-manne
Registered User
Posts: 776
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 6:59 pm
Location: Marl, Germany

Post by mad-manne » Sat Oct 02, 2004 1:32 pm

SunZeroX wrote: yeah, my host has problems with their ISP
And that's where I could look at my MOD in action??
So I'll have to be patient :-)

If you run into any probs with the MOD ... let me know in this topic!

:arrow: To the rest of the phpBB-cruisers ... anyone who uses this, please let me know of bugs, whatever.

Cheers,
Manfred
Try not. Do or do not. There is no try. (YODA)

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”