[BETA] NutPort beta1 released!!!!

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
Dreamgamer
Registered User
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2003 8:34 am
Location: USA.
Contact:

Post by Dreamgamer »

uhh he's linked to it about 100 times even once on this page :P
phpBB forum hosting 100MB space 5GB Transfer $3.99/month http://www.host-serv.com/forumhost.shtml
User avatar
Daz
Registered User
Posts: 5236
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2001 2:39 pm
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Post by Daz »

Hi,
Dalgar wrote: Just out of curiousity, is forumimages.com running a new version of nutport??

Godai wrote: They use Smartors ezPortal v2.1.8


Both wrong - a default install of phpBB with some template changes.
Please and Thank You works wonders...
I reserve the right to post illogical (and totally wrong) replies.
...It's the subtle perfection in attention to detail that makes your work rock the way it does - cdkrg
Think simple - it's not necessarily what you draw that matters, it's what you perceive - Daz

Note: ForumImages<dot>com is no longer anything to do with me.
User avatar
Dalgar
Registered User
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon May 27, 2002 2:09 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Post by Dalgar »

ah, forgot about this mod :)

any updates nuttzy?
The Early Bird May Get The Worm But The Second Mouse Gets The Cheese.
TheThing
Registered User
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2003 4:07 pm

Post by TheThing »

The left to right mod is down!!!!
Jocka
Registered User
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 3:58 am

Post by Jocka »

is it possible that you could make it where no posts show? Like, I could click on a forum like "Announcements" and put "limit size' as 0 and then no posts show? That would help alot so I can put general information on some pages without posts showing up outta nowhere
User avatar
Old Blue
Registered User
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 3:57 am
Location: Hall of Justice

Post by Old Blue »

Quick question what if I wanted to make two categories not show up in the new posts box that are seperated by a public viewable forum.

For example sake the forum catergories would be 2 and 4 that would be private.

Thanks!!
Maybe I can please somebody with this little piece of code:

It keeps your not-public part of the forum out of sight in the last topics on the portal-page

[edit]
open portal.php
[/edit]

Code: Select all

 

******FIND****** 

$sql = "SELECT t.*, u.username, u.user_id, p.* 
      FROM " . TOPICS_TABLE . " t, " . USERS_TABLE . " u, " . POSTS_TABLE . " p 
      WHERE p.post_id = t.topic_last_post_id 
         AND u.user_id = p.poster_id 
      ORDER BY t.topic_last_post_id DESC 
      LIMIT 0, 5" ; 

******AND REPLACE WITH****** 

$sql = "SELECT t.*, u.username, u.user_id, p.*,f.* 
      FROM " . TOPICS_TABLE . " t," . FORUMS_TABLE . " f, " . USERS_TABLE . " u, " . POSTS_TABLE . " p 
   WHERE t.forum_id = f.forum_id 
                 AND f.cat_id >1 
                 AND p.post_id = t.topic_last_post_id 
                 AND u.user_id = p.poster_id 
                 ORDER BY t.topic_last_post_id DESC 
       LIMIT 0, 5" ; 

************ 



For AND f.cat_id >1 you just fill in the number of your not-public forum cat. If your section category to hide is p.e. 2 then the code has to be.. ...id <> x where x represents your cat number..
jk1
Registered User
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2002 10:55 pm
Location: USA

changing poll style on nutport

Post by jk1 »

Alright, I have a question that maybe lots of people would find the answer useful.

I have nutport working great on a 2.0.4 board with no other mods.

I want to change how the poll looks *for just the nutport portal pages*.

I know I can edit viewtopic_poll_ballot and result, but that changes my forum poll display. I want to leave that unchanged.

I guess what I really want to do is have Nutport's portal.php use different TPL files for formatting the poll on the portal pages, say nutport_poll_disp.tpl and nutport_poll_result.tpl.

I can create those tpl files easily, but I don't know how to alter the PHP to get nutport to use the alternate tpl files for the poll display. I have zero PHP knowledge, unfortunately.

Any ideas?
jk1
Registered User
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2002 10:55 pm
Location: USA

Thanks be to luck...

Post by jk1 »

Just by messing around I found out the answer to my own question. Answering here for the benefit of other php n00bs such as myself.

Step 1. Go to each of your templates directories and copy viewtopic_poll_ballot.tpl and viewtopic_poll_result.tpl.

Step 2. Rename the copies as nutport_poll_ballot.tpl and nutport_poll_result.tpl.

(You should now have the following files in each template dir:

nutport_poll_result.tpl
nutport_poll_ballot.tpl
viewtopic_poll_ballot.tpl
viewtopic_poll_result.tpl
)

Then open portal.php

Code: Select all

FIND....
$template->set_filenames(array("pollbox" => "viewtopic_poll_result.tpl")
REPLACE....
$template->set_filenames(array("pollbox" => "nutport_poll_result.tpl")
FIND....
$template->set_filenames(array("pollbox" => "viewtopic_poll_ballot.tpl")
REPLACE....
$template->set_filenames(array("pollbox" => "nutport_poll_ballot.tpl")
Then you can edit nutport_poll_ballot.tpl and nutport_poll_result.tpl without changing your forum poll display.

(The only reason I did this was because the poll display looks too scrunched up on the portal display page.)
User avatar
Old Blue
Registered User
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 3:57 am
Location: Hall of Justice

Post by Old Blue »

Anyone have thoughts on how to incorporate what I posted above?

Thanks!
]Kaoru[
Registered User
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2003 1:43 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Aww...

Post by ]Kaoru[ »

Sad to see NutPort discontinued... aww well... I used to be big fan of nutz site :) go there everyday... then got nack for php and wanted his portal... spent 2 days working it out and go stuck on phpMyAdmin part... so now I took another shot and got it up in 5 min (w/o phpMyAdmin upload time). So cool on my site... If you ever read this Nutz... Thanks!
The number plate on the Corgi model Aston Martin DB5 (with Oddjob figure) is wrong! Yet the box shows the correct number plate!
- Bond Head Quarters, Random Quote.
User avatar
Old Blue
Registered User
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2002 3:57 am
Location: Hall of Justice

Post by Old Blue »

Has anyone done the upgrade to Nut Portal w/ 2.0.5? Does it work?
jk1
Registered User
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2002 10:55 pm
Location: USA

Post by jk1 »

Running Nutport on 2.0.5 with no problems.

Just make sure you reapply the Nutport mod to the new files in 2.0.5.
Nitron V
Registered User
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:07 pm

Post by Nitron V »

can anyone help me?
I don't know how to do the phpmy admin thing.
i did it and it said this table doesn't exist.
also i don't know how to use that www.blizzhackers.com/phpBB/NutPort/NutPort.sql
thing, how do you run it ?
Thanks.
Shirtless Frog
Registered User
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 3:04 am
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Contact:

Post by Shirtless Frog »

Couldn't obtain navigation information

DEBUG MODE

SQL Error : 1146 Table 'rubino44_xmb1.PORTAL_TABLE' doesn't exist

SELECT n.* FROM PORTAL_TABLE n ORDER BY n.portal_order ASC

Line : 196
File : /usr/home/rubino44/public_html/forums/portal.php

How can I fix this error?

phpBB 2.04 I am on btw.
Talanithus_UOLS
Registered User
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 3:20 am
Contact:

Question... is it possible to have multple NutPortals?

Post by Talanithus_UOLS »

I run a meta-community, and I would like to enable my users to run multiple nutportals for guild websites on our main server. Is this possible? Basically, it would need:

Specialized access for particular groups to be able to access the control panel for ONLY their nutportal. So usergroup TBC can access the ACP control panel for nutportal for TBC only.

Multiple Nutportals running on the same server. So there would be, for example, a Nutportal for UOLS, TBC, HOM, LLOS, LLS, etc. All of them would be stored locally on the same server, but would use different templates/layouts to effect different communities in one larger community.

Possible? I know I can do this by installing another content manager, but I would prefer to keep our entire site based on the phpbb database. Many thanks for your time!
Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”