[ABD] Google sitemap mod

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
Locked
dcz
Registered User
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:37 am
Contact:

thanks

Post by dcz »

jhaskins wrote: Try replacing

Code: Select all

'TOPIC_URL' => $server_url."viewtopic.$phpEx?t=" . $topic['topic_id'],
with

Code: Select all

'TOPIC_URL' => $server_url."ftopic" . $topic['topic_id'] . ".php",



I'll try this asap thanks.

++

dcz

phpBB SEO || phpBB3 SEO Premod || SEO phpBB3
GYM Sitemaps & RSS for phpBB3: GYM Sitemaps & RSS
jhaskins
Registered User
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2002 10:20 pm
Contact:

Post by jhaskins »

smithy_dll wrote: It gives you an approximate line. The missing # can confuse some parsers. ;)


Ok, I'll make sure that get's fixed with the next release.
dcz
Registered User
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:37 am
Contact:

before testing

Post by dcz »

Hello,
thanks again for your help jhaskins, but before testing what you proposed me, I'd like to know if the code you gave me will take care of posts located on, let's say the third page of the topic, like this one http://forums.streetrod3.com/viewtopic. ... &start=135 wich would correspond to this type (this site uses exactly the same url-rewritting mod as I do besides mine does not put the .html, I don't have enough post right know to show you this on my young forum) http://www.cafe-eveil.org/forum/ftopic47-30.html .
I would prefer not to have someting like ftopic47-&start=135.php

Besides that I think your mod should work fine with me.

Thanks a lot ;)


dcz

phpBB SEO || phpBB3 SEO Premod || SEO phpBB3
GYM Sitemaps & RSS for phpBB3: GYM Sitemaps & RSS
jhaskins
Registered User
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2002 10:20 pm
Contact:

Post by jhaskins »

Right now, the mod only generates entries for the first page of a topic. In the future, I might look into how difficult it would be to add addictional pages.
dcz
Registered User
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:37 am
Contact:

oki

Post by dcz »

Perfect then, thancks a lot.

That's true anyway that it's a good start to do a site map with only the first page of the topics.
And I am not sure it would change that much to add all pages of all topics as google is still supossed to follow site links too isn't it?

thx thx thx ;)

dcs

phpBB SEO || phpBB3 SEO Premod || SEO phpBB3
GYM Sitemaps & RSS for phpBB3: GYM Sitemaps & RSS
dcz
Registered User
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:37 am
Contact:

so

Post by dcz »

So I just try to install your mod and I get that :

Code: Select all

Parse error: parse error, unexpected '[', expecting ')' in /home/marsatak/www/marsforum/sitemap.php on line 111
wich is the line where I made the change you told me to try.
Besides, all is fine in admin panel and etc.

Maybe it's a simple thing, I have no clue.

thx

dcs

phpBB SEO || phpBB3 SEO Premod || SEO phpBB3
GYM Sitemaps & RSS for phpBB3: GYM Sitemaps & RSS
jhaskins
Registered User
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2002 10:20 pm
Contact:

Post by jhaskins »

It sounds like yosomething actually got messed up before that line somewhere. Copy the code from http://forums.streetrod3.com/sitemap3.phps into a .php file & upload it. That's a copy of sitemap.php with the changes that has been tested & works.
dcz
Registered User
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:37 am
Contact:

thanks!

Post by dcz »

Thnaks a lot, it works perfectly fine now!! ;)

I am just wondering a last thing.
My forum is part of a site that will contain html pages (homepage, some presentations, and vidéos) and I would like to know if there is a way (manually off course, I am not asking for a new mod) to had theire urls in the output sitmap file, followwing the same way thay are presented in it.
I imagine there is a place to paste the hard code somewhere in the sitemap.php in order to have this part always displayed on the top of the output file (or maybe within a separate tpl file containning the hard part of the site map to be included at the top of the output file).

And again my problem is that I have now clue about how to do this. I understand it's not really what's your mod uposed to do, but this could usefull to all site like mine.


Thanks a lot for your great job ;)

++

dcz

phpBB SEO || phpBB3 SEO Premod || SEO phpBB3
GYM Sitemaps & RSS for phpBB3: GYM Sitemaps & RSS
dcz
Registered User
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:37 am
Contact:

and

Post by dcz »

Just to tell,

Dou you know about the mod topic anywhere?

Because your mod is pretty close to do the same thing even in a simpler way.

If it would be possible to select, lets say, to only output the links to the post of a specific forum, and only the last two or three one, this mod would allow to create dynamic hard links to the last posts sortable by forums using an appropriate include to create the actual links.

And this is another major plus for indexing to show clean hard links to the last post for a while on the homepage of the web site.

+++

dcz

phpBB SEO || phpBB3 SEO Premod || SEO phpBB3
GYM Sitemaps & RSS for phpBB3: GYM Sitemaps & RSS
jhaskins
Registered User
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2002 10:20 pm
Contact:

Post by jhaskins »

If you want to manually add urls to your sitemap, hardcode them into "templates/subSilver/sitemap_body.tpl".

Regarding your other post: I'm planning on adding a way to limit the # of topics & it shouldn't be too hard to override the automatic forum selection. Outputting only the links would technically be outside the planned scope of this mod, but it shouldn't be too hard so I'll do it anyways when I get some time :).
dcz
Registered User
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:37 am
Contact:

Thanks

Post by dcz »

Thanks again,
I could Have find it my own :oops: , there is already a tpl!!!

And seriously, If you feel like moding your mod in order to make it create news type hard links, it's fantastic! :D

++

dcz

phpBB SEO || phpBB3 SEO Premod || SEO phpBB3
GYM Sitemaps & RSS for phpBB3: GYM Sitemaps & RSS
dcz
Registered User
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:37 am
Contact:

HELLO

Post by dcz »

[EDIT] I just missunderstood before posting sry !

dcz

phpBB SEO || phpBB3 SEO Premod || SEO phpBB3
GYM Sitemaps & RSS for phpBB3: GYM Sitemaps & RSS
mizt
Registered User
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2005 7:17 pm

Post by mizt »

Any help with my mod rewrite? TIA
User avatar
webmedic
Registered User
Posts: 323
Joined: Tue May 28, 2002 2:37 am
Contact:

Post by webmedic »

I have quite a few other seo tools on my site that help google to get around. So far they work very well and I get spidered regularly and rank pretty good on google with my content. I see this as a good addition.

Would you mind if I offer this mod on my site for download with my other tools?

Also on a side note I do have some ideas for the script if you are interested.
ebouchez
Registered User
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2004 10:56 am

Post by ebouchez »

What am I supposed to get for my url:
http://www.magicmum.com/sitemap.php

because I only get this with firefox:

<html>
<body/>
</html>

everything is empty.

Thanks for your help

PS: my phpbb uses url-rewritting
Locked

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”