[BETA] MOD Logbook

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
moepstar
Registered User
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 5:51 pm

Post by moepstar »

Hi Merlin,

i just wanted to leave a quick feedback on your mod and really have to say you did a great job with it :D

However, the only problem (besides that mysql free() error i already commented out) i get is when i click on the "ip" link from the user whose action got logged..

The link goes to http://myforumurl/forum/modcp.php?mode= ... 23.ip.here

which in turn results in a page with the message
Information

The forum you selected does not exist.


As this is a almost vanilla 2.0.19 im not too sure why this error is generated... the person that action got logged was me, the first sites admin...

there are 3 admins including me and no mods, if that matters.....

its not like im going to need that function (it displays the ip anyway in the link) but i just wanted to let you know and maybe fix it ;)

regards & keep up the good work
Merlin Sythove
Registered User
Posts: 2339
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 7:42 am

Post by Merlin Sythove »

Yep, I've extended the modcp page to allow searching for an ip address and listing all users who have posted from that address. This is also for the profile /registration IP which I record. However, this really is far too much of an extension to this mod, so I suggest the following:

in logbook_body.tpl, change this

Code: Select all

<td class="{record_row.ROW_CLASS}" align="center"><span class="name" style="white-space:nowrap;"><a href="{record_row.U_VIEW_IP}" title="{record_row.USER_IP}">{L_VIEW_IP}</a></span></td>
to

Code: Select all

<td class="{record_row.ROW_CLASS}" align="center"><span class="name" style="white-space:nowrap;">{record_row.USER_IP}</span></td>
so the IP is shown and you can copy it and do whatever you like with it.

OR, if you want to click something, DO NOT DO THE ABOVE, but instead change this in logbook.php:

Code: Select all

'U_VIEW_IP' => append_sid("modcp.$phpEx?mode=ip&" . POST_USERS_URL . "=".$rowset[$i]['user_id']."&ip=" . $user_ip),
to

Code: Select all

//'U_VIEW_IP' => append_sid("modcp.$phpEx?mode=ip&" . POST_USERS_URL . "=".$rowset[$i]['user_id']."&ip=" . $user_ip),
'U_VIEW_IP'  => 'http://network-tools.com/default.asp?prog=express&Netnic=whois.arin.net&host=' . $user_ip, 
DennyCrane
Registered User
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 3:47 am

Post by DennyCrane »

is there a way to get this mod to work along with the posticons mod? i dont care if it logs posticon changes or not, but im not sure how to make them coexist..


in posting.php:
#
#-----[ FIND ]-------------------------------------------------
#

$select_sql = (!$submit) ? ', t.topic_title, p.enable_bbcode, p.enable_html, p.enable_smilies, p.enable_sig, p.post_username, pt.post_subject, pt.post_text, pt.bbcode_uid, u.username, u.user_id, u.user_sig, u.user_sig_bbcode_uid' : '';
$from_sql = ( !$submit ) ? ", " . POSTS_TEXT_TABLE . " pt, " . USERS_TABLE . " u" : '';
$where_sql = ( !$submit ) ? "AND pt.post_id = p.post_id AND u.user_id = p.poster_id" : '';

$sql = "SELECT f.*, t.topic_id, t.topic_status, t.topic_type, t.topic_first_post_id, t.topic_last_post_id, t.topic_vote, p.post_id, p.poster_id" . $select_sql . "
FROM " . POSTS_TABLE . " p, " . TOPICS_TABLE . " t, " . FORUMS_TABLE . " f" . $from_sql . "
WHERE p.post_id = $post_id
AND t.topic_id = p.topic_id
AND f.forum_id = p.forum_id


#
#-----[ REPLACE WITH ]-------------------------------------------------
#

//START MOD Logbook
//$select_sql = (!$submit) ? ', t.topic_title, p.enable_bbcode, p.enable_html, p.enable_smilies, p.enable_sig, p.post_username, pt.post_subject, pt.post_text, pt.bbcode_uid, u.username, u.user_id, u.user_sig, u.user_sig_bbcode_uid' : '';
//$from_sql = ( !$submit ) ? ", " . POSTS_TEXT_TABLE . " pt, " . USERS_TABLE . " u" : '';
//$where_sql = ( !$submit ) ? "AND pt.post_id = p.post_id AND u.user_id = p.poster_id" : '';
//
//$sql = "SELECT f.*, t.topic_id, t.topic_status, t.topic_type, t.topic_first_post_id, t.topic_last_post_id, t.topic_vote, p.post_id, p.poster_id" . $select_sql . "
// FROM " . POSTS_TABLE . " p, " . TOPICS_TABLE . " t, " . FORUMS_TABLE . " f" . $from_sql . "
// WHERE p.post_id = $post_id
// AND t.topic_id = p.topic_id
// AND f.forum_id = p.forum_id
// $where_sql";


if ($submit)
{
$sql = "SELECT f.*, t.topic_id, t.topic_status, t.topic_type, t.topic_title, t.topic_icon, t.topic_first_post_id,
t.topic_last_post_id, t.topic_vote, p.post_id, p.post_time, p.poster_id,
pt.post_subject, p.post_icon, pt.post_text, pt.bbcode_uid
FROM " . POSTS_TABLE . " p, " . TOPICS_TABLE . " t, " . FORUMS_TABLE . " f , " . POSTS_TEXT_TABLE . " pt
WHERE p.post_id = $post_id
AND t.topic_id = p.topic_id
AND f.forum_id = p.forum_id
AND pt.post_id = p.post_id ";
}
else
{
$sql = "SELECT f.*, t.topic_id, t.topic_status, t.topic_type, t.topic_first_post_id, t.topic_last_post_id,
t.topic_vote, t.topic_title, t.topic_icon, p.post_id, p.post_time, p.poster_id , p.enable_bbcode,
p.enable_html, p.enable_smilies, p.enable_sig, p.post_username, pt.post_subject, p.post_icon, pt.post_text,
pt.bbcode_uid, u.username, u.user_id, u.user_sig
FROM " . POSTS_TABLE . " p, " . TOPICS_TABLE . " t, " . FORUMS_TABLE . " f, " . POSTS_TEXT_TABLE . " pt, " . USERS_TABLE . " u
WHERE p.post_id = $post_id
AND t.topic_id = p.topic_id
AND f.forum_id = p.forum_id
AND pt.post_id = p.post_id AND u.user_id = p.poster_id";
}


but with posticons, the first line in the FIND is:
$select_sql = (!$submit) ? ', t.topic_title, t.topic_icon, p.enable_bbcode, p.enable_html, p.enable_smilies, p.enable_sig, p.post_username, pt.post_subject, p.post_icon, pt.post_text, pt.bbcode_uid, u.username, u.user_id, u.user_sig, u.user_sig_bbcode_uid' : '';


obviously commenting that out is probably not going to be good for the posticons mod; i tried putting the "missing peices" into the logbook code, but that didn't quite work out.
Merlin Sythove
Registered User
Posts: 2339
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 7:42 am

Post by Merlin Sythove »

Just stick the two bold variables in BOTH SQL statements and you should be fine.
DennyCrane
Registered User
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 3:47 am

Post by DennyCrane »

well i dont know if this has anything to do with trying that or not, but it gives me a ton of warnings-
10 Warning(s) reported by the SQL Parser
Non-portable syntax option(s) "TYPE=MyISAM", ignored, statement: 1, table: "phpbb_logbook"
Inconsistent display width specified "MEDIUMINT(10)" in column "log_id", statement: 1, table: "phpbb_logbook"
Identifier "action" is a reserved keyword (reference: SQL 99), statement: 1, table: "phpbb_logbook"
Identifier "time" is a reserved keyword (reference: SQL 99), statement: 1, table: "phpbb_logbook"
Inconsistent display width specified "MEDIUMINT(9)" in column "old_forum_id", statement: 1, table: "phpbb_logbook"
Inconsistent display width specified "MEDIUMINT(9)" in column "old_topic_id", statement: 1, table: "phpbb_logbook"
Inconsistent display width specified "MEDIUMINT(9)" in column "old_post_id", statement: 1, table: "phpbb_logbook"
Inconsistent display width specified "MEDIUMINT(9)" in column "new_forum_id", statement: 1, table: "phpbb_logbook"
Inconsistent display width specified "MEDIUMINT(9)" in column "new_topic_id", statement: 1, table: "phpbb_logbook"
Inconsistent display width specified "MEDIUMINT(9)" in column "new_post_id", statement: 1, table: "phpbb_logbook"


easymod still gives the option to continue, but im skeered :oops:
Cyn4uk
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 4:40 pm
Location: Russia, Khabarovsk
Contact:

Post by Cyn4uk »

cool mod! respect!
windstarfire
Registered User
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 9:00 am

Post by windstarfire »

hey i have Simply Merge Threads, and according to your instructions if i was using a merge mod i had to edit some more lines, though mine didnt have the ones you requested, so i don't know where to edit...

simply merge is at herehttp://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.ph ... mply+merge

well yeah, ive installed it and it works fine

if you need a temporary admin acc or ftp access please pm me...
i also had the mysql4.php error on line 318 but i fixed it by adding // on all of the $db->sql_freeresult($result); things so its all good, though im still lost about the merge thingy..

please help

thanx in advance


btw, when i click the ip thingy under username it says

Code: Select all

The forum you selected does not exist.
im list about that as well

so the merge things and the ip click error thingy

its a awesome mod! i didnt even install the action log one xD
disto
Registered User
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 7:40 am

Post by disto »

Hello !

This mod is really nice, however I got a problem with post edit... when someone try to edit a post, some wierd caracters appears near bbcode tags.
For example :
[quote:66c0fbfee5][b:66c0fbfee5]test[/b:66c0fbfee5][/quote:66c0fbfee5]

[color=red:66c0fbfee5]test ![/color:66c0fbfee5]


When the user confirm post edit, these caracters remains, and the tags are ineffective.

Can someone solve this problem ?

(sorry for my terrible english, i'm french and my board is french too)
ckwalsh
Former Team Member
Posts: 1837
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 1:50 am
Location: Seattle, USA
Name: Cullen Walsh
Contact:

Post by ckwalsh »

Hey, I haven't looked at the code for this yet, but from reading the features it looks pretty cool :D

I was just wondering though. How easy would it be to add my own logging event? My web site is integrated with PHPbb, and am wanting to be able to log some actions on the rest of the site.
Where to post what | Forum Rules | The Dos and Don'ts of General Discussion
In Seattle and want to meet, chat, or have a coffee? Drop me a PM.
FallFromGrace
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 4:42 pm

Post by FallFromGrace »

I've been watching this mod for quite some time, and I'm curious as to when it will become a release candidate?

I'd like to implement this in my forum, but my co-admin and I prefer released mods as neither of us is proficient in code.

thanks.
jmdziba
Registered User
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 4:28 pm

Log Posts

Post by jmdziba »

Is this mod able to keep a record of posts made by moderators. I have a team of moderators whom I intend to eventually compensate on a performance based scale. I would like to have a mod that keeps track of how many, and which posts were made in a given time period. This will save me the time of having to go an pull up each moderator's profile, and count the number of posts made in some time frame.
http://www.hivaidszimbabwe.com/page3.html
Greeger
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2005 4:56 am

Post by Greeger »

There were a couple things I noticed while installing the mod. I thought I would share them.

Code: Select all

#
#-----[ OPEN ]-------------------------------------------------
#
includes/page_header.php

#
#-----[ FIND ]-------------------------------------------------
#
'U_PROFILE' => append_sid($phpbb_root_path . 'profile.'.$phpEx.'?mode=editprofile'),
There is no 'U_PROFILE' => append_sid($phpbb_root_path . 'profile.'.$phpEx.'?mode=editprofile'),

There is a 'U_PROFILE' => append_sid('profile.'.$phpEx.'?mode=editprofile'), which is where I put the code and i haven't noticed any problems.

So the code should be

Code: Select all

# 
#-----[ OPEN ]------------------------------------------------- 
# 
includes/page_header.php 

# 
#-----[ FIND ]------------------------------------------------- 
# 
	'U_PROFILE' => append_sid('profile.'.$phpEx.'?mode=editprofile'),

Next the delete button in the logbook page wasn't working for me. I found the problem looked like code may have been changed in the page header but not in the template. To fix this I looked in logbook.php and found:

Code: Select all

	//ADMIN: Can do the delete button etc. Done in page_header.php
And then I uncommented the lines below it.

This didn't work for me so I changed the code to the following, Unfortunately this only displays the delete button for the admin with user id 2.

Code: Select all

	//ADMIN: Can do the delete button etc. Done in page_header.php
	if ($userdata['user_id'] == 2)
	{
	  $template->assign_block_vars('switch_is_admin', array());
	}
you might be able to replace

Code: Select all

$userdata['user_id'] == 2
with

Code: Select all

($board_config['log_allow_all'] && $userdata['user_view_log']) || $userdata['user_id'] == 2
To Merlin Sythove, Thanks for making this mod. It makes me feel a whole lot better about giving my users the ability to edit their posts because I can easily find out if they are abusing the power. I hope you do take the time to package this for the moddb.

I do have a question though. In the logbook table I see records for when I have unstickied a post or for when I enabled bbcode on a post but even though they have been logged they don't show up on the logbook.php screen. Is this behavior something you wanted, because it certainly seems wasteful to log it but not have a way to display it.

Thanks again.
RedTrinity
Registered User
Posts: 1327
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 3:32 am

Post by RedTrinity »

Hello all,

Just a small hiccup or two regarding the "Logbook" modification I just installed manually. It appears to be working fine, except for a couple of small problems...

Firstly, this line is printed across the top of the forum when I use a particular template (not SubSilver thankfully):
th { color: #FCB317; font-size: 11px; font-weight : bold; background-color: #006699; height: 25px; background-image: url(templates/subSilver/images/cellpic3.gif); }



Secondly, I only have these links in the menu up the top of the forum:

Logbook, FAQ, Search, Memberlist, Usergroups, Log out.


What happened to private messages and profile?? :?

Could I please have some direction as to how to fix these problems. It would be much appreciated.

Cheers,

Nikki.
Greeger
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2005 4:56 am

Post by Greeger »

Make sure that style stuff is inside the <style> tags at the top of the tpl file.

As for the other part. Make sure the <!-- BEGIN switch_view_log --> and the <!-- END switch_view_log --> are on their own lines in the file.

If that doesn't work post the contents of the file so I can see it.
RedTrinity
Registered User
Posts: 1327
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 3:32 am

Post by RedTrinity »

Thank you for your suggestions, your help worked for the issue with the Begin/End tags worked!

Still having a few probs though, one biggy I didnt mention before as I didnt realise it was there is this one when you attempt to moderate a forum...

This is coming up above the forum:
Warning: main(./includes/functions_log.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/theparen/public_html/forum/modcp.php on line 39

Warning: main(./includes/functions_log.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/theparen/public_html/forum/modcp.php on line 39

Warning: main(): Failed opening './includes/functions_log.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/theparen/public_html/forum/modcp.php on line 39

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/theparen/public_html/forum/modcp.php:39) in /home/theparen/public_html/forum/includes/page_header.php on line 515

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/theparen/public_html/forum/modcp.php:39) in /home/theparen/public_html/forum/includes/page_header.php on line 517

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/theparen/public_html/forum/modcp.php:39) in /home/theparen/public_html/forum/includes/page_header.php on line 518


I'd consider just restalling it over again however its going to be a messy job so if it can be fixed in any other way I would appreciate it.

The styles thing didnt work unfortunetly... though I think its probably due to maybe the mod not being compatible with the template I am trying to install it with (Acid) as the line I am supposed to locate in the instructions in overall_header.tpl is nowhere to be found.

Sorry if this is all confusing, I'm still only learning how to do all of this myself! Have successfully installed a few mods manually sofar but still have hiccups every now and then, this being the biggest one sofar.

Cheers,

Nikki.
Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”