Page 1 of 8

[DEV] Atlas Mod

Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:09 pm
by jonemo
I know that there have been a few people trying mashups with Google Maps and phpbb. Here's another try: I've been working on that for quite a while now and an earlier version of Atlas Mod was one of the winners of the phpbb.de Mod Contest this summer. I particularly tried to make it easy to install and idiot proof and hope you enjoy playing around with it and maybe using it for your forum.

Latest news on Atlas Mod should always be avaliable on http://jonemo.de/atlasmod/ (some pages there do look a bit messed up because i am currently redoing that part of my page)


MOD Title: Atlas Mod
MOD Description:
Atlas MOD extends phpBB to allow users to set his/her geocoordinates. All user coordinates are, together with several extra information, presented in a map. To achieve this the API of maps.google.com is used. Contrary to similar solutions Atlas MOD needs less server resources and does not require the user to know his/her geocoordinates nor a georeferencing database.
MOD Version: 0.2.0

MOD Download: http://jonemo.de/atlasmod/v020/AtlasModv0.2.0.zip
Last Stable version: -

Demo Board: http://jonemo.de/atlasmod/demo/
Demo Username: phpbbcom
Demo Password: phpbbcom

Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:16 pm
by DeViAnThans3
hey, this looks pretty good :D
i don't get the sense of it yet, but whatever, really a great job!!
congratz :)

Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:17 pm
by DeViAnThans3
hey, this looks pretty good :D
i don't get the sense of it yet, but whatever, really a great job!!
congratz :)

Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 10:55 pm
by starwarz2
Couldnt log in there...just saw the map...

Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 11:49 pm
by End of a Shadow
Pretty cool, reminds me of the old phpBB Staff Map, didn't look like the one up now but yours looks similar to the old one. Not to metion Frapper. Pretty nifty and I've known alot of people asking for this exact mod you have.

Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2006 11:49 pm
by tahoebuff
I've been interested in finding something like this. I'm looking forward to seeing how it progresses...

Tahoebuff :)

Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2006 3:28 am
by tahoebuff
I'm assuming there are some changes that need to be made to the database to accept the API's, among other things. The SQL queries are not included in the .zip file. 8O

Tahoebuff

Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2006 8:35 am
by Peter77sx
:arrow:

Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2006 10:03 am
by jonemo
starwarz2 wrote: Couldnt log in there...just saw the map...


That's because someone stupid "hacked" the board by punching in the given login and changing all the passwords. I'll have to set up a cronjob or so to reset the database now and then and make the thing secure against destructive people like that.

However, at the moment it should be up and running again.

To see Atlas Mod in action you should try the following places:
- register for an account (you can set your coordinates)
- change your profile (same)
- click map (if you're logged in you should see some bubbles that you can click)
- go to admin panel (given that the great hacker hasn't been there again) and see the Atlas Mod section
- go to a user's profile and see the distance link (only if he/she has set a position)
I'm assuming there are some changes that need to be made to the database to accept the API's, among other things. The SQL queries are not included in the .zip file.


The Mod will carry out the database setup for "itself" after you first visited the Atlas Mod section in the Admin Panel. That is because this way it is possible to set up the Google API keys in a user friendly manner before activating the map.

Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2006 10:35 am
by ZaraX
I like this!
What about adding cities and rivers and things like that? And the user only need to insert the city name and theyr ballon is on the map?
Then you can let users search for cities and stuff

Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2006 10:46 am
by jonemo
ZaraX wrote: I like this!
What about adding cities and rivers and things like that? And the user only need to insert the city name and theyr ballon is on the map?
Then you can let users search for cities and stuff


no. users go to whereever they want to set their ballon and there they click. No need for huge databases with cities and zip code (they are never ever complete anyway). Furthermore you can set your position more accurately than just city level. you can set in which house you live if you want.

Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2006 11:29 am
by DeViAnThans3
maybe allow the user to enter city /country information bellow the coördinates in his/her profile, and make that shown on the map? :)
maybe you also can add something (a map or just the coordinates) to the viewprofile page? :)
however, just tested it out bit more, and works pretty good :!:

Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2006 12:20 pm
by danb00
well this is good....
looks like some 13 year old noob who has nothing else to do took advantage of the account

Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2006 12:28 pm
by jonemo
boah, can't be bothered to reset the database again. i'll write a script for doing that, maybe tomorrow. my respect to the person who invests time to change all the config parameters just to deface a forum that has less visitors than the south pole.

Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2006 1:35 pm
by ktbabe
Just added it to my board. very cool! thanks :)