[DEV] PhpbbMyChat (phpMyChat Integration) V0.1.4

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
Locked
Nathan_Anderson
Registered User
Posts: 755
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 5:04 pm
Contact:

[DEV] PhpbbMyChat (phpMyChat Integration) V0.1.4

Post by Nathan_Anderson » Sun Aug 25, 2002 7:04 pm

I had developed this for my board several months ago; and was pm'd recently about releasing it.

It does work fine on my board. :)

I think I got all the instructions to get it integrated properly.

---
The only differences between .1 and .2 is to replace the chatlink.php file. Everything else is the same.
---
See below for the differences between .2 & .3. (You will have to make two minor changes if you installed .1 or .2)
---
The difference between .3 and .4 is a replacement chatlink.php file.
---
The difference between .4 & .5 is a replacement for smiles.lib.php3
---
The difference between .5 to .9 is a replacement chatlink.php file.
---
The difference between .9 to .1.0 is as new "swearing.lib.php3" file
and a additional define added to the config.lib.php3 file
---
The difference between .1.0 to .1.1 is two modifications to lib/index.lib.php3
---
The difference between .1.1 to .1.2 is a replacement smilies.lib.php3 & a replacement chatlink.php file
---
The difference between .1.2 to .1.3 is a small phpbb 2.0.4 fix. See message http://www.phpbb.com/phpBB/viewtopic.ph ... 934#422934 if you are upgrading from v2.0x to 2.04 to see the small change.
---
The difference between .1.3 to .1.4 is I added the missing line to add

Code: Select all

define("C_BADWORDS_TABLE", 'words');
to the config file. I made reference to in in the notes; but I forgot to put it into the actual instructions steps.
---
Here is the link to the latest beta of my mod
http://www.master-technology.com/phpbb/
---
Here is the link to the PhpMyChat software:
http://www.phpheaven.net/projects/phpmy ... ique4.html

Nathan.
Image
Last edited by Nathan_Anderson on Tue Jun 24, 2003 1:02 am, edited 19 times in total.

daniel
Registered User
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2001 4:44 pm
Contact:

Post by daniel » Wed Aug 28, 2002 9:44 am

hello there,
Can you show us a demo ?
TIA

Nathan_Anderson
Registered User
Posts: 755
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 5:04 pm
Contact:

Post by Nathan_Anderson » Wed Aug 28, 2002 4:11 pm

I will try and make a demo board with it on it soon and I will post the url back here.

Nathan.

Smartor
Registered User
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu May 23, 2002 6:32 am
Contact:

Post by Smartor » Thu Aug 29, 2002 3:50 am

Hi, do you want to take a look at my phpBB Chat System at my site. It's created by me, not phpMyChat.

pollix
Registered User
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 6:29 pm
Location: Ridgecrest, CA
Contact:

Post by pollix » Thu Aug 29, 2002 5:29 am

Smartor wrote: Hi, do you want to take a look at my phpBB Chat System at my site. It's created by me, not phpMyChat.


No offense but I didn't like your chat. It doesn't intergrate like I want it too. I'm sure he wouldn't be interested in yours since he already has one he's creating.

I'm going to try this one. I hope I'm not sounding to mean. :(

Nathan_Anderson
Registered User
Posts: 755
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 5:04 pm
Contact:

Post by Nathan_Anderson » Thu Aug 29, 2002 7:44 am

I didn't create the chat. :) I just created a interface & code so that you can use phpmychat with phpbb easily. Basically what I did handles the login stuff and uses the phpbb smilies (plus a couple other small things).

Nathan.

pollix
Registered User
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 6:29 pm
Location: Ridgecrest, CA
Contact:

Post by pollix » Thu Aug 29, 2002 7:52 am

OK quick question. I know I copied and pasted everything correctly and I have this problem.

When I click on the link in the forum to go to the chat room, a new page loads and I get this:


General Error

Could not obtain user/online information

I had the admin set to my username/password that I use for my site.

Any ideas?

Nathan_Anderson
Registered User
Posts: 755
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 5:04 pm
Contact:

Post by Nathan_Anderson » Thu Aug 29, 2002 3:41 pm

Could be table names. Are your tables prefixed with anything (i.e. "phpbb_")? if so is the phpmychat tables also prefixed with "phpbb_" also? If not, you will have problems.

Nathan.

pollix
Registered User
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 6:29 pm
Location: Ridgecrest, CA
Contact:

Post by pollix » Thu Aug 29, 2002 10:33 pm

Yes when I did the install using the setup.php, I made sure that my tables had the prefix of 'phpbb_'. Also, in the config.lib.php3, I made sure that my prefix of 'phpbb_' was included as well. Did I miss anything? Like I said before, when I installed the myphpchat I made sure that my admin account was exactly the same as my phpbb account. :?

Nathan_Anderson
Registered User
Posts: 755
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 5:04 pm
Contact:

Post by Nathan_Anderson » Fri Aug 30, 2002 2:45 am

What page is the error occuring on? Is it occuring in the Chatlink.php or the /chat/index.php

Nathan.
P.S. I'm going to update the chatlink.php to have some SQL error detecting in it. So shortly I will update the zip file.

The code has been updated: See top message.

totoelectro
Registered User
Posts: 358
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2001 8:47 am
Location: Nimes (South of France)
Contact:

Post by totoelectro » Fri Aug 30, 2002 4:37 am

Warning: Access denied for user: 'totoelectro@localhost' (Using password: YES) in /home/http_root/softheo/phpBB2/chat/lib/database/mysql.lib.php3 on line 26

Warning: MySQL Connection Failed: Access denied for user: 'totoelectro@localhost' (Using password: YES) in /home/http_root/softheo/phpBB2/chat/lib/database/mysql.lib.php3 on line 26
Database error: Link_ID == false, connect failed
MySQL error: 0 ()
Session halted

Nathan_Anderson
Registered User
Posts: 755
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 5:04 pm
Contact:

Post by Nathan_Anderson » Fri Aug 30, 2002 4:57 am

totoelectro,

Is this v0.0.1 or v.0.0.2 that did this? Are your tables prefixed? When you installed did you set the config.lib.php to have the proper prefix?

Nathan.
P.S. Make sure you have the same password in the chat's config.lib.php file as you have in the forum's config.php file.

pollix
Registered User
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2002 6:29 pm
Location: Ridgecrest, CA
Contact:

Post by pollix » Fri Aug 30, 2002 6:51 am

Nathan_Anderson wrote: What page is the error occuring on? Is it occuring in the Chatlink.php or the /chat/index.php


It is the chatlink.php. I click on the link that is hacked into the overall_header.tpl (which is the link to chatlink.php) and it opens up into the window which gives me my error.

Nathan_Anderson
Registered User
Posts: 755
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 5:04 pm
Contact:

Post by Nathan_Anderson » Fri Aug 30, 2002 3:23 pm

Pollix,

Is the chatlink.php file in your main phpbb directory?

Nathan.
P.S. Also try replacing the 0.0.1 chatlink.php file with the new version in v0.0.2

surtin3xposed
Registered User
Posts: 154
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2002 10:40 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Post by surtin3xposed » Fri Aug 30, 2002 9:24 pm

well the chat itself worked before trying this mod, but now i get this error

Code: Select all

Database error: Invalid SQL: update phpbb_c_reg_users set password='*', email='*', showemail='1' where username='nitrus';
MySQL error: ()
Session halted.
and i made sure the tables and all were prefixed by phpbb_

Locked

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”