[RC4] GYM Sitemaps & RSS (aka mx Google Sitemaps)

A place for MOD Authors to post and receive feedback on MODs still in development. No MODs within this forum should be used within a live environment! No new topics are allowed in this forum.
Forum rules
READ: phpBB.com Board-Wide Rules and Regulations

IMPORTANT: MOD Development Forum rules

On February 1, 2009 this forum will be set to read only as part of retiring of phpBB2.
Post Reply
Blue Ninja
Registered User
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 4:58 am
Contact:

Post by Blue Ninja »

rockboyteek wrote: ????


He means, change it to this:
<tr align="left"><td><a href="http://www.etcworld.co.uk/etcforum/index.php" target="_blank" class="mainlevel">ETC Forum</a></td></tr>


By specifying "index.php" in the URL, rather than just "/etcforum", the search engines will know exactly what page to go to, without having to request just the folder, then get redirected to the actual page, which is an extra step. For example:

Bot requests "http://www.etcworld.co.uk/etcforum"
Server says "Redirect to http://www.etcworld.co.uk/etcforum/index.php"
Bot requests "http://www.etcworld.co.uk/etcforum/index.php"

That's an extra step, whereas if you list the full url in the link, the bot gets it right the first time...

rockboyteek
Registered User
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 2:50 pm
Contact:

Post by rockboyteek »

where should i change that... in signature?
http://www.adminfuel.com/ - Forum for Forum Administrators

Blue Ninja
Registered User
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 4:58 am
Contact:

Post by Blue Ninja »

rockboyteek wrote: where should i change that... in signature?


Noooooooo - he's talking about on your website! When you go to http://www.etcworld.co.uk/world, there's a link on the left that says "ETC Forum". If you hover your mouse over the link, it says http://www.etcworld.co.uk/etcforum in the status bar of your browser. His suggestion was that you edit the html page to correct the link. That file is probably /worlds/index.php or /worlds/index.html or something like that.

rockboyteek
Registered User
Posts: 591
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2005 2:50 pm
Contact:

Post by rockboyteek »

oooooo ok i get it.. and will do it...
http://www.adminfuel.com/ - Forum for Forum Administrators

dcz
Registered User
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:37 am
Contact:

Post by dcz »

Blue Ninja wrote:
rockboyteek wrote:where should i change that... in signature?


Noooooooo - he's talking about on your website! When you go to http://www.etcworld.co.uk/world, there's a link on the left that says "ETC Forum". If you hover your mouse over the link, it says http://www.etcworld.co.uk/etcforum in the status bar of your browser. His suggestion was that you edit the html page to correct the link. That file is probably /worlds/index.php or /worlds/index.html or something like that.


Thx, you have made it :)

And it's also a duplicate entry for your forum index ;)

Bots really "think" "forum" is not "forum/index.php" and also "think" one is a copy of the other.

++

phpBB SEO || phpBB3 SEO Premod || SEO phpBB3
GYM Sitemaps & RSS for phpBB3: GYM Sitemaps & RSS

abidjantalkcom
Registered User
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun May 22, 2005 2:02 am

Post by abidjantalkcom »

I tried many of the Google MODs. none of them works for me. I recently added SID removal for guests. I tested at http://www.submitexpress.com/analyzer/ and yes, there was no SIDs in the list of URLs.

I have been trying all this for over a year. Google and MSN come run around the site but never pick up anything.

I have a google sitemap.php, created by using a MOD by NeoThermic.
Still only my forums are indexed, not the topics. I have tried it all.
I just ran a test at http://www.submitexpress.com/linkpop/
Surprise, my count for google was 0. (yes a big fat zero). don't get it.

Will this MOD finally do it? It's very confusing to me when you talk about mod-rewrite and stuff. Do I have to implement other MODs for this one to work correctly.

dcz
Registered User
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:37 am
Contact:

Post by dcz »

abidjantalkcom wrote: I tried many of the Google MODs. none of them works for me. I recently added SID removal for guests. I tested at http://www.submitexpress.com/analyzer/ and yes, there was no SIDs in the list of URLs.

I have been trying all this for over a year. Google and MSN come run around the site but never pick up anything.

I have a google sitemap.php, created by using a MOD by NeoThermic.
Still only my forums are indexed, not the topics. I have tried it all.
I just ran a test at http://www.submitexpress.com/linkpop/
Surprise, my count for google was 0. (yes a big fat zero). don't get it.

Will this MOD finally do it? It's very confusing to me when you talk about mod-rewrite and stuff. Do I have to implement other MODs for this one to work correctly.



Well, those two links you posted are just suppose to tell you how many pages are indexed, but personally, I prefer the direct use of google commands :

site:http://www.example.com/ to list all indexed pages
link:http://www.example.com/ to know how many BL google take into consideration
allinurl:www.example.com/ tell yo how many page contains www.example.com in theire code (and url)

The two first are workind on major search engines too.

Then, to answer you, yes this mod will help the indexing of your site, but you need to remove SID and to have links to your site on other websties too.

++

phpBB SEO || phpBB3 SEO Premod || SEO phpBB3
GYM Sitemaps & RSS for phpBB3: GYM Sitemaps & RSS

dcz
Registered User
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:37 am
Contact:

Post by dcz »

So, anyone thinking about some features to add ?

Any postgresql & oracle guru to validate the switches ?

++

phpBB SEO || phpBB3 SEO Premod || SEO phpBB3
GYM Sitemaps & RSS for phpBB3: GYM Sitemaps & RSS

mdvaldosta
Registered User
Posts: 353
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 12:26 am
Contact:

Post by mdvaldosta »

The only thing I could suggest is clearer instructions.

dcz
Registered User
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:37 am
Contact:

Post by dcz »

mdvaldosta wrote: The only thing I could suggest is clearer instructions.


Will do ;)

phpBB SEO || phpBB3 SEO Premod || SEO phpBB3
GYM Sitemaps & RSS for phpBB3: GYM Sitemaps & RSS

khisanthax
Registered User
Posts: 443
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 1:49 am

Post by khisanthax »

I keep on getting "no sitemaps" when I ask any of the files. I uploaded all the files in mx_ggsitemaps to the root where my forum is located. I'm using able2know rewrite with the contrib file you included and I still don't get anything. Is there something else I'm supposed to do?

Edit:

Nevermind, I didn't realize I had to upload the whole mx_ggsitemaps dir, sorry!

dcz
Registered User
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:37 am
Contact:

Post by dcz »

khisanthax wrote: I keep on getting "no sitemaps" when I ask any of the files. I uploaded all the files in mx_ggsitemaps to the root where my forum is located. I'm using able2know rewrite with the contrib file you included and I still don't get anything. Is there something else I'm supposed to do?


Nothing actually.

There are two reason why it could do what you describe.

First one would be you did not uploaded all files correctly (I now the install is quite odd to some, I'll work on that soon) You need to create the following folder structure where phpbb stand :
mx_ggsitemaps/includes/ and put the package's index_forum.php files in is as well as the able to know contrib sitemap_forum.php.

Then, once this is done and once you have correctly installed the db part, just upload the sitemap.php file in the phpbb folder.

The second reson could just be all your forum being empty.

Or are your runnig oracle or postgre ?

++


[EDIT] All right, did not even let me the time to help out here :)

phpBB SEO || phpBB3 SEO Premod || SEO phpBB3
GYM Sitemaps & RSS for phpBB3: GYM Sitemaps & RSS

khisanthax
Registered User
Posts: 443
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2003 1:49 am

Post by khisanthax »

lol, no worries I'll let yo make it up by answering the next question *grin*

Does this mod follow the forum permission rules for view and read?

I'm still having problems using the mod rewrite for the urls inside the sitemap, even though all other urls work, but I'll just assume it's my fault for now.

dcz
Registered User
Posts: 787
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:37 am
Contact:

Post by dcz »

khisanthax wrote: lol, no worries I'll let yo make it up by answering the next question *grin*

Does this mod follow the forum permission rules for view and read?

I'm still having problems using the mod rewrite for the urls inside the sitemap, even though all other urls work, but I'll just assume it's my fault for now.


The mod only show url of public content (eg auth view and read).

For the mod rewrite part, two things.

There is a mod rewrite add on for the sitemaps themselves, kind of a cosmetic feature to output sitemap url with the .xml, but it does not change the way google will use the sitemaps. You need to properly add the rewriterules provided for those url to work.

Then, to ouput rewrited url for the links themselves, you just need to overwrite the forum_sitemap.php file located in mx_ggsitemaps/includes/ in your ftp with the good one from the contrib folder (for your case it should be the ablde2know one) and you'll be set. Nothing more to do, the sitemap system will output rewrited url following the able2know standard.

++

phpBB SEO || phpBB3 SEO Premod || SEO phpBB3
GYM Sitemaps & RSS for phpBB3: GYM Sitemaps & RSS

reggien
Registered User
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 5:59 am

Post by reggien »

Please forgive me if this sounds stupid, but have I got my sitemap set up correctly:

http://www.talkingfooty.com/forums/sitemap.php

I found the install instructions difficult to follow. Does what I have in place look correct?

Post Reply

Return to “[2.0.x] MODs in Development”